• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NSP's Secretary General Goh Meng Seng said it intends to contest the General Election

zujjkiol

NSP says it intends to contest election on housing issues
By Teo Xuanwei, TODAY | Posted: 31 January 2010 2331 hrs

SINGAPORE: The National Solidarity Party (NSP) has said it wants to engage in a debate on housing issues with National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan.

NSP's Secretary General Goh Meng Seng said it intends to contest the General Election in Tampines over Mr Mah's policy decisions and not over personalities.

The 39-year-old businessman said: "As Mr Mah pointed out correctly, it's not about Mr Mah or about me, but his HDB policy, which will affect this, the next and future generations."

The five-member Group Representation Constituency (GRC) of Tampines, which is helmed by Mr Mah, is a potential battleground that several opposition parties are eyeing in the next General Election.

Besides NSP, there are indications that the Workers' Party (WP), Singapore Democratic Party and Reform Party may weigh in as well.

Asked to rate NSP's chances at the elections - it has been unsuccessful in four previous attempts - Mr Goh said matter-of-factly: "It's up to us to convince constituents that Mr Mah's decisions are not good.

"If we fail to do that, we deserve to lose. Nobody owes us anything."

The WP's organising secretary Yaw Shin Leong said no decision has been made as yet whether it will contest Tampines GRC.

- TODAY/ir

normalsingaporean

Re: NSP's Secretary General Goh Meng Seng said it intends to contest the General Elec

Mr Goh,

That was a wonderful comment. Short, sweet and precise. No chance for the MSM to do anything to distort the message.

SINGAPORE: The National Solidarity Party (NSP) has said it wants to engage in a debate on housing issues with National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan.

NSP's Secretary General Goh Meng Seng said it intends to contest the General Election in Tampines over Mr Mah's policy decisions and not over personalities.

The 39-year-old businessman said: "As Mr Mah pointed out correctly, it's not about Mr Mah or about me, but his HDB policy, which will affect this, the next and future generations."

The five-member Group Representation Constituency (GRC) of Tampines, which is helmed by Mr Mah, is a potential battleground that several opposition parties are eyeing in the next General Election.

Besides NSP, there are indications that the Workers' Party (WP), Singapore Democratic Party and Reform Party may weigh in as well.

Asked to rate NSP's chances at the elections - it has been unsuccessful in four previous attempts - Mr Goh said matter-of-factly: "It's up to us to convince constituents that Mr Mah's decisions are not good.

The WP's organising secretary Yaw Shin Leong said no decision has been made as yet whether it will contest Tampines GRC.

- TODAY/ir

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Re: NSP's Secretary General Goh Meng Seng said it intends to contest the General Elec

A full report from Todayonline:

SINGAPORE - A day after National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan responded to one of the opposition's election strategies - and that is to target him on housing policy issues - the National Solidarity Party has clarified that the fight was over his policy decisions, and not over personalities.

"As Mr Mah pointed out correctly, it's not about Mr Mah or about me, but his HDB policy, which will affect this generation, the next generation and future generations," NSP's newly-elected secretary-general Goh Meng Seng told MediaCorp yesterday.

"It's not because I dislike him. I have nothing against him."

The 39-year-old businessman also said Mr Mah should justify his comments on Saturday that HDB's policies are for the "good of the people".

"As MM Lee said, Mr Mah should fight his own battle. He's a seasoned politician who has fought many electoral battles, and I have high respect for him." he said.

He was referring to Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew's comments at a housing conference last week, where he said if Mr Mah was unable to defend his housing policy, "he deserves to lose" at the next General Election.

Mr Goh agreed, and said, "Voters have to make an informed choice, so politicians have to defend their policies, especially if they're unpopular. Let people judge for themselves, simple as that.

"If he wants to have a debate, I can do it anytime. It's up to him."

The five-member group representation constituency of Tampines, which is helmed by Mr Mah, is a potential battleground that several opposition parties are eyeing in the next election. Besides the NSP, there are indications that the Workers' Party (WP), the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) and the Reform Party (RP) may weigh in as well.

The RP said "it is not interested in Tampines at the moment," while SDP could not be reached for comment.

elephanto

Good, GMS. Reading the TODAY report, you have arrived - saying all the right POLITICALLY CORRECT mantra (like it's not about mr mah or me, nobody owes us anything ....)

Good luck with working OT now you are Sec-Gen :cool:

Agree, solid comment. Can't get any better than that. Looks like the opposition is maturing.
Mr Goh,

That was a wonderful comment. Short, sweet and precise. No chance for the MSM to do anything to distort the message.

- TODAY/ir

the most contentious issue facing sinkies today in their frustration with their gov is the sudden and explosive adoption of liberal immgration policies (a.k.a. ft issue) after decades of conservative controls. the housing issue is nothing but an irritant offshoot of that main stem and remains a sideline distraction. if the oppo wishes to take on the pap headon, the focal contention should be on unchecked immigration that threatens the fabric and security of a nation. why open the floodgates to low lives from the 2nd, 3rd & 4th worlds and jeopardize decades of nation building, productivity gains, value improvement, discipline, low crime, sense of identity, and some national pride? right now, every visitor who transits thru' sg simply looks down on sg as another 3rd world whoring hole, full of whoring 3rd world shitheads.

Congrats Bro and a great start. You have come a long way in a short space of time.

ps. I can see old man yelling at his secretary for your personal file. Get ready to explain to voters why you failed your spelling in primary 2.

elephanto

... then they will raid your home & shop for pirated software & copyright infringement since you are supposed to be in IT business ....

dey wil check 4 porn oso, man! ...

Lee Hsien Tau

SINGAPORE - A day after National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan responded to one of the opposition's election strategies - and that is to target him on housing policy issues - the National Solidarity Party has clarified that the fight was over his policy decisions, and not over personalities.

"As Mr Mah pointed out correctly, it's not about Mr Mah or about me, but his HDB policy, which will affect this generation, the next generation and future generations," NSP's newly-elected secretary-general Goh Meng Seng told MediaCorp yesterday.

"It's not because I dislike him. I have nothing against him."

The 39-year-old businessman also said Mr Mah should justify his comments on Saturday that HDB's policies are for the "good of the people".

"As MM Lee said, Mr Mah should fight his own battle. He's a seasoned politician who has fought many electoral battles, and I have high respect for him." he said.

He was referring to Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew's comments at a housing conference last week, where he said if Mr Mah was unable to defend his housing policy, "he deserves to lose" at the next General Election.

Mr Goh agreed, and said, "Voters have to make an informed choice, so politicians have to defend their policies, especially if they're unpopular. Let people judge for themselves, simple as that.

"If he wants to have a debate, I can do it anytime. It's up to him."

The five-member group representation constituency of Tampines, which is helmed by Mr Mah, is a potential battleground that several opposition parties are eyeing in the next election. Besides the NSP, there are indications that the Workers' Party (WP), the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) and the Reform Party (RP) may weigh in as well.

The RP said "it is not interested in Tampines at the moment," while SDP could not be reached for comment.

So Mr Goh MS,
Will you be making an apology for calling the blog poster of

http://chiam-see-tong.blogspot.com

a madmansg?

It's not because he dislikes you. He has nothing against you otherwise.

But your indiscreet observation not backed up by facts does not go down well with him. In fact it is the only thing that rankles.....

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]

Congrats Bro and a great start. You have come a long way in a short space of time.

ps. I can see old man yelling at his secretary for your personal file. Get ready to explain to voters why you failed your spelling in primary 2.

Haha, thanks Scroobal.

I am putting up a firm but respectful rebut. I even say MM Lee is a man of his words and I guess he will honor his words let Mah Bow Tan to defend himself without any other help from other ministers, be it MM himself, PM, SM or otherwise. Only then, we will have a fair contest.

Goh Meng Seng

elephanto

I used to support NSP's Christopher Neo at his rallies against Boon Lay PAP Goh Chee Wee. I thought Neo quite presentable.

Kenn Sun & that Nanyang Grad Tan Chee Kien were NSP's 1st generation leaders.

I seem to read somewhere in MSM then that PAP not worried about NSP becos they know how to 'squeeze' them - Tan Chee Kien's Ng Ai Poultry business is an important supplier to Singapore Food Industries supplying SAF cookhouses.

Since then, Steve Chia gained prominence for NSP as NCMP.... Then the announcement that NSP is leaving SDA.

I am not familiar with this Seb Teo new President. Now with GMS as Sec-Gen, a new chapter for NSP opens.

People like Steve Chia & Christopher Neo still around ?

fivestars

People like Steve Chia & Christopher Neo still around ?

Yes still in NSP CEC

Nantah Long Lives

popdod

Strong quick rebuttal!
i like!

icon14.gif
icon14.gif

Old man will most likely draw a blank in his search. Goh Meng Seng, PSLE distinction and went SAP school (meaning higher level bilingualism than even non-SAP elite schools), O and A Levels distinction and went NUS, graduated with honours. Served NS BMT with distinction and posted to OCS, subsequently promoted to captain. Contested his first election in 2006 and scored 43% against a PAP team led by no less than the reputably brilliant scholar and brigadier-general George Yeo. Joined NSP and within 3 years, promoted to secretary-general.

Mah Bow Tan, scored a lot of A1s in his O and A Levels but can't speak or write Chinese in any meaningful sense of literacy. Contested under PAP banner with LKY backing and still could lose to Chiam See Tong with a lot of C6s. Went away to Tampines to hide behind a GRC team while purporting to be so-called team leader. Spend most of his time figuring and conjuring ways of raising revenues for government from people.

Exactly. Great analysis, succinct and powerful.

Old man will most likely draw a blank in his search. Goh Meng Seng, PSLE distinction and went SAP school (meaning higher level bilingualism than even non-SAP elite schools), O and A Levels distinction and went NUS, graduated with honours. Served NS BMT with distinction and posted to OCS, subsequently promoted to captain. Contested his first election in 2006 and scored 43% against a PAP team led by no less than the reputably brilliant scholar and brigadier-general George Yeo. Joined NSP and within 3 years, promoted to secretary-general.

Mah Bow Tan, scored a lot of A1s in his O and A Levels but can't speak or write Chinese in any meaningful sense of literacy. Contested under PAP banner with LKY backing and still could lose to Chiam See Tong with a lot of C6s. Went away to Tampines to hide behind a GRC team while purporting to be so-called team leader. Spend most of his time figuring and conjuring ways of raising revenues for government from people.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]

So Mr Goh MS,
Will you be making an apology for calling the blog poster of

http://chiam-see-tong.blogspot.com

a madmansg?

It's not because he dislikes you. He has nothing against you otherwise.

But your indiscreet observation not backed up by facts does not go down well with him. In fact it is the only thing that rankles.....

Dear Lee Hsien Tau,

If it is really a mistaken identity, I sincerely apologize to you.

Goh Meng Seng

Highfalutin

Mr Goh

I bet you Yaw Shin Leong will die die convince Low Thia Kiang to sent a team to contest Tampines GRC to give the constituents a "choice".:wink:

After a thorough assessment lasting 3 months, Yaw has come to conclusion that PAP is indeed the party for him. This time around he will not be selfish and will advise all Singaporeans besides his mother to vote for PAP.

Do give him time as he currently putting all the good points of PAP candidates to explain his reason as he did for the previous elections where he highlighted the good qualities of PAP's Dr Teo Ho Ping.

Mr Goh

I bet you Yaw Shin Leong will die die convince Low Thia Kiang to sent a team to contest Tampines GRC to give the constituents a "choice".:wink: