• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lee Kuan Yew now backtracks and promises to “reduce” intake of foreigners in next 5 y

“We’ve grown in the last five years by just importing labour. Now, the people feel uncomfortable, there are too many foreigners. Trains are overcrowded with foreigners, buses too, property prices have gone up because foreigners with permanent residence are buying into the market. The answer is simple: We check the flow of foreigners, raise your productivity, do the job better, so that instead of two workers, eventually you’ll do it with one worker, like the Japanese do,” he said.

Wasn't this the mantra that he preached in the 1980s? And indeed Sg has the most productive workforce in the world for many years running till he and his wicked CCB PAPee Traitors were consumed with greed and desire to perpetuate their rule. Come on, Sporns! Donch be fooled by him again! This Lau CB is really scared stiff now that Sporns will stage a velvet revolution to throw his gang of TRAITORs out of power! Let's DO IT and create a new path and a future that we and our future generations can really look forward to. Let's make Spore truly our one and only home and not to be forced into extinction by 1 LAN CHEOW FAMILEE!

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Hey, now MM agrees with 3in1 bros.. HAHA</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Jan-27 11:53 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 32) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>27795.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Lee Kuan Yew now backtracks and promises to “reduce” intake of foreigners in next 5 years

January 28, 2010 by admin
Filed under Headlines

Leave a comment
http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/01/28/lee-kuan-yew-now-backtracks-and-promises-to-reduce-intake-of-foreigners-in-next-5-years/

Written by Our Correspondent
Though he claimed that he is “not doing much work except forecasting”, Singapore strongman Lee Kuan Yew showed who is the real boss in Singapore by becoming the”first minister to put a time line on the Government’s pledge since last year to reduce the inflow of foreign workers.”
“The next five years, we have decided we will tier down our need for foreign workers. We will pay for help to educate people, continuing education and training, which means a lot of money, probably co-payment with the employer to send him,” he said at an event to celebrate HDB’s 50th anniversary.
[Straits Times, 28 January 2010]
There was no immediate response from his son, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong.
Stung by rising frustration, anger and resentment on the ground over the relentless influx of foreigners into Singapore, the ruling party is now “tweaking” its immigration policy to make it more “palatable” to Singaporeans.
As late as August last year, the elder Lee was telling Singaporeans to “bear with the tide of immigrations” as foreigners are “essential” for Singaporeans.
He is now singing a different tune altogether:
“We’ve grown in the last five years by just importing labour. Now, the people feel uncomfortable, there are too many foreigners. Trains are overcrowded with foreigners, buses too, property prices have gone up because foreigners with permanent residence are buying into the market. The answer is simple: We check the flow of foreigners, raise your productivity, do the job better, so that instead of two workers, eventually you’ll do it with one worker, like the Japanese do,” he said.
Is this a tacit admission that the ruling party has made a disastrous mistake by allowing too many foreigners into the country over the last few years? If the influx of foreigners is deliberately measured, controlled and calibrated, why then is there a need to “check” the flow now?
Within a short span of time, the demographics of Singapore has been changed beyond recognition: foreigners now make up 36 per cent of Singapore’s population, up from 14 per cent in 1990. Of the remaining 64 per cent who are citizens, a rising proportion are new immigrants born overseas.
In 2008 alone, there are more than 90,000 PRs and 20,000 new citizens. Two out of every three PR applicants are successful, some of whom are cleaners, construction workers, masseurs and prostitutes.
Even if the inflow of foreigners is “checked” as promised by Lee, there is no guarantee that Singaporeans will not be “swarmed” by as there is already a sizable number of them in Singapore.
While Lee was making empty promises to Singapore, the ruling party continues to splurge taxpayers’ monies to “integrate” the newcomers and to recruit them into grassroots organizations to shore up their flagging support base.
Singaporeans must not be deceived by the ruling party anymore. Before the 2006 elections, a “generous” progress package was unveiled by PM Lee putting a couple of hundreds of dollars into the pockets of each citizen. After Singaporeans gave the PAP an “overwhelming” mandate at the polls, one of the first things it did is to raise the salaries of its own ministers by more than 50 per cent followed by hikes in GST, public transport and cost of living.
New immigrants are critical for the continued survival of the PAP without which it will probably lose its traditional two-third majority in Parliament soon with more and more young Singaporeans tilting towards the opposition.
Singaporeans have only one last chance in the next election to assert themselves as the rightful owners of this country after which they may be relegated to being second or even third class citizens ranked after the PAP elites and their new pets.
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Re: Lee Kuan Yew now backtracks and promises to “reduce” intake of foreigners in next

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Jan-27 11:55 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (2 of 32) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>27795.2 in reply to 27795.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>“We’ve grown in the last five years by just importing labour. Now, the people feel uncomfortable, there are too many foreigners. Trains are overcrowded with foreigners, buses too, property prices have gone up because foreigners with permanent residence are buying into the market. The answer is simple: We check the flow of foreigners, raise your productivity, do the job better, so that instead of two workers, eventually you’ll do it with one worker, like the Japanese do,”
Hey, this is what all the alternative sites and forums have been talking and saying for years!!!
PAP must have now realized how bad the ground situation is from their intelligence. Info were there all along but they chose to ignore. Now, election is coming, suddenly panick attack comes, quickly reverse policy…. PAP is really pathetic these days…. HAHAHAH!
</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Re: Lee Kuan Yew now backtracks and promises to “reduce” intake of foreigners in next

<TABLE class=msgtablealt cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>FeiHK <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>12:24 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(4 of 32) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>27795.4 in reply to 27795.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>It's election year. So the old fart must wayang a bit to con and deceive the 66.6%. Once the latter have been conned, it will be back to a square one. Don't we ever learn?</TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"></TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD><TD class=wintiny width="25%" noWrap align=right></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgbfrbot></TD><TD colSpan=3></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>PAPalBull <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>12:50 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(5 of 32) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>27795.5 in reply to 27795.2 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Oh yes, you can smell the fear in the air and for once it's coming from the old fart himself. He has never been the type to back down and retract his words because face is what matters to him. Die, die must be garang. So many Sinkies and our unborn children have paid the price.

Finally the chickens are coming home to roost. You don't get this kind of major admission of an epic fail in govt policy unless the feedback from the grass-looters is REALLY, SERIOUSLY, bad.

But anyone who believes this crocodile's "Sorry lah, we'll change over the next 5 years" deserves to have their head handed to them on a plate the second the votes have been counted and they're safely back in the saddle. Only one question needs to be asked, "On whose watch has Singapore suffered such a disaster financially and demographically?"

Any fool can bump up the GDP numbers by ratcheting up raw inputs like labour - that's Economics 101. Does he really think we're so stupid as to pay 5 times the salary of the US President to be told undergrad crap like this:

“We’ve grown in the last five years by just importing labour. Now, the people feel uncomfortable, there are too many foreigners. Trains are overcrowded with foreigners, buses too, property prices have gone up because foreigners with permanent residence are buying into the market. The answer is simple: We check the flow of foreigners, raise your productivity, do the job better, so that instead of two workers, eventually you’ll do it with one worker, like the Japanese do,”

Vote the fuckers out! If you don't there will be NO change, I guarantee you that.

</TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"></TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD><TD class=wintiny width="25%" noWrap align=right></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgbfrbot></TD><TD colSpan=3></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
<TABLE class=msgtablealt cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>Browser34 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>1:10 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>PAPalBull <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (6 of 32) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>27795.6 in reply to 27795.5 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>But anyone who believes this crocodile's "Sorry lah, we'll change over the next 5 years" deserves to have their head handed to them on a plate the second the votes have been counted and they're safely back in the saddle. Only one question needs to be asked, "On whose watch has Singapore suffered such a disaster financially and demographically?"
This senile old fuck has zero credibility,he still thinks that by him coming to the forefront to alay the concerns of the Sinkees they will believe him.
He know the ground is terribly SOUR from the ISD Dogs,he lacks the CLOUT to change the thinking of many people.
Contest Tanjong Pagar GRC chuck him & the PAPee OUT!!!!

Sinkees Don't FALL into all the "U-Turns & sweeteners" that these SCUMs will come out with. Give them the MANDATE then ALL born here Sinkees will be relegated to be 3rd Class Citizens in their country of BIRTH!

Only recourse - Take BACK the POWER!!!!!!

<HR SIZE=1>Edited 1/28/2010 4:18 am ET by Browser34</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD><TD class=wintiny width="25%" noWrap align=right> </TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgbfrbot> </TD><TD colSpan=3> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>PAP_444 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>1:33 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (7 of 32) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>27795.7 in reply to 27795.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>The next five years, we have decided we will tier down our need for foreign workers. We will pay for help to educate people, continuing education and training, which means a lot of money, probably co-payment with the employer to send him,” he said at an event to celebrate HDB’s 50th anniversary. --
no more money to pay to help educate poeple now, need to wait for 5 more years. money gone liao, lost all alreadi
</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

=> Ask that Lau CB to fcuk spider when he is reserving free scholarships like nobody's biz to FTrash!

312th0o.jpg

wonerman

KNNBCCB, just go to ICA at Kallang and it is FOREVER CROWDED with PRCs and Indians and lately Filipinas are growing by the number too. What the FUCK is going on man???? Fuck the chee bye Ah Gan and Sia Suay and Eh Kia! All got to go. Tai kay huan ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh........... Time for CHANGE!

R

redlightmeansgo

Chow chee by, just a few words and the old man thinks he can turn on his charm again.

Clinging cymbal, all sound and fury to put more dents in the soft heads of the 66% populace so he doesn't lose more votes. This time, he's scared shit alright, and is scrambling to win sympathy votes.

Fuck man, another 66% and we will be fucked for eternity! :oIo:

batman1

General Election is coming very soon .That's why the OLd Fart suddenly got to pacify the sinkees to win their votes .But If u believe what the Old Fart say,then pigs can fly !!!

batman1

KNNBCCB, just go to ICA at Kallang and it is FOREVER CROWDED with PRCs and Indians and lately Filipinas are growing by the number too. What the FUCK is going on man???? Fuck the chee bye Ah Gan and Sia Suay and Eh Kia! All got to go. Tai kay huan ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh........... Time for CHANGE!

Even credit card sales promotion thru the mobiles are by "Foreign Talents" ???Sinkess cannot do the JOB ???Failure of our education system ???
IF THIS TIME SINGAPOREANS DO NOT VOTE OUT THE MIW,THEN THEY DESERVE TO HAVE THEIR HEADS ON THE CHOPPING BOARD !!!

ahleebabasingaporethief

Even credit card sales promotion thru the mobiles are by "Foreign Talents" ???Sinkess cannot do the JOB ???Failure of our education system ???
IF THIS TIME SINGAPOREANS DO NOT VOTE OUT THE MIW,THEN THEY DESERVE TO HAVE THEIR HEADS ON THE CHOPPING BOARD !!!

Agree 1000%

OPPOSITION people, are you listening?

Brightkid

......... The answer is simple: We check the flow of foreigners, raise your productivity, do the job better, so that instead of two workers, eventually you’ll do it with one worker, like the Japanese do,”[/I] he said.

Hey MM, how about walking the talk on your above statement ?

Instead of 3 person (MM, SM, PM. 4 if you include the President who only goes around taking photos) doing a single PM job, it should just be 1 person PM ? Even so, this single PM currently drawing about 4 times the salary, excluding benefits and kinds, of the world's most difficult job as the US president. Yet Singapore is just a fraction (ok, maybe about same as some cities in US) of a state out of 50+ in that country.

Don't tell others what to do when you do not even believe it yourself.

We need a leader leading the way in front, not shouting commands in your armchair doing the direct opposite, as in many SAF generals.

pc2009

You forgot to count the number of ministers in PM's office. :biggrin:

DrPanacea

General Election is coming very soon .That's why the OLd Fart suddenly got to pacify the sinkees to win their votes .But If u believe what the Old Fart say,then pigs can fly !!!

Spot on man.
I hope all voters can see thru his cheap shallow ploy.
We have the right to send these self serving people a strong message by voting out a couple of Ministers.
What I like to see is denying them a 2/3 majority so that our Constitution is not tampered by their whims and fancy.

kingrant

Know why the import of FT trend went up steeply in the last 4 years?

Because that is his son in power, and if he didn't do it then, wait till when? When Old Man dies? Then nobody to protect him?

So his son has to increase the trend sharply while Old Fart is still not nailed into coffin yet!

all the best to you LKY.. wish you have a successful election where the sinkie are programmed to vote for you again..

dun worry, tampinese will still be yours. i understand sinkie too well and so do you.

all the best to you LKY.. wish you have a successful election where the sinkie are programmed to vote for you again..

dun worry, tampinese will still be yours. i understand sinkie too well and so do you.

You may be right :(

I really thought that more opposition would have been voted in by now.
Many Sporeans are playing it safe by voting PAP but they are actually encouraging the PAP to more excesses :rolleyes:

ya, man! ...

erection cumming! ...

can feel it in my bone! ... :eek:

golden

u all kena trick again..since 2007 when the FT is welcome and we see the most of them given PR etc in 08 and 09..the required numbers that they want is more or less achieved. so now dont need so many new PR anymore..

the next 5 yrs is only fine tuning and just to made singaporeans happy that they are stopping the influx... geezee..bluffing school children again..haha:p

People need to calm their ass down here. These FTs cannot vote. Its as simple as that. Only S'pore citizens, i.e holders of pink iC can vote. If you are a PR but not a singapore citizen or u are holder of blue ic, u cannot vote. So, those 20,000 that were made citizens in 2008 can vote, but their 20,000 votes is not like to impact the 100,000s of other votes from native sinkies.