• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Void Deck Wedding Too Noisy for Ang Moh!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>The avoid deck
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Mark Featherstone
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->A term I have added to my vocabulary since arriving in Singapore is 'void deck'.
For you newcomers, this is not what you might think. A void deck is not the level on a ship where you find the toilets. Nor does the term derive from Star Trek: 'What'll it be today, Scotty - the holodeck or the void deck?' Rather, it is the name for that breezy expanse that is the ground floor of many HDB apartment blocks.
I believe the motivation for such open-air spaces is neighbourliness. Years ago, when many Singaporeans made the transition from kampungs to HDB flats, there may have been a concern over decreased interaction among neighbours and a deterioration of social life. The void deck would then compensate by providing a place for locals to hang out, meet and mingle.
Whatever the reason, I know for sure that void decks are regularly called into service for that great rite of passage - The Wedding.
My condo is bounded on three sides by HDB flats, and a morning walk will sometimes take me past a void deck bustling with much unloading, cooking and arranging in preparation for a wedding reception or some other celebration. I've noticed that the sound system is set up and tested early, reflecting the importance of music for the festivities.
That's because, as I've learnt the hard way, Singaporeans love to sing. Which is great in itself. Most people in the West don't sing enough. Singing per se is not my problem. My problem is volume. Loudness. Decibels. The unremitting pounding on my eardrums unleashed by singer after singer from the reverberating void deck, now transformed into The Boom Box from Hell; The Concrete Concusser; The Impossible to Avoid Deck.
So far as I can tell, the music at a Singaporean wedding is considered a flop unless it can be heard in Johor Baru.
The nice thing about Singaporean weddings is that they're a time for the tone-deaf members of the family to feel accepted. So for the next four or five or 10 hours, no one between Johor and Bintan can escape the off-key warblings of every musically challenged relative, right down to 14th cousins.
This may be useful in helping nearby ships to navigate through fog, but because my apartment is a lot closer, I feel like I'm at the wedding myself. More accurately, I feel like I'm inside a loudspeaker at the wedding. Since this makes me a de facto participant, I think I have the right to head over and say, 'Gosh, all this singing's given me an appetite. Any leftovers? Can I kiss the bride? Strangle the karaoke guy?'
But I don't. I'm not confident I could be heard. Instead, I take it for a while, then barricade myself in the living room, shove towels under the door, plug my ears, and sing anything I can remember. Probably Silent Night.
Something similar happens at West Mall when the floor of the cavernous central core is turned over to a stage from which one man - a lone, sadistic singer - attempts to render hundreds of shoppers permanently deaf. I'm never sure what the occasion is, though I suspect there is at least one national 'Make the Customer Suffer Day'.
Being inside the shopping mall makes it more difficult for the sound to reach Johor. That little problem is easily overcome by turning up the volume even louder than at a wedding. As a result, the singer's voice now batters the glass-fronted shops on every level with an atomising barrage that makes you long for the peace and quiet of a jack-hammer at a rock concert.
At first glance, you think some shoppers are enjoying it, because people on all four floors are leaning over the railings and looking down towards the stage. But I think they're desperately warning the guy that if he doesn't stop, they'll jump.
I pity the store clerks who are bound to stay at their posts while their eardrums turn to tofu. I wonder how they restrain themselves from lynching the malicious crooner. Maybe they console themselves with the thought that it's only a matter of time till they exact their revenge. At the next wedding, they are the ones who will be holding the microphone. Mark Featherstone is a Canadian and a professor at the School of Biological Sciences at Nanyang Technological University. He will come to your wedding if you let him sing.

Mark Featherstone is a Canadian and a professor at the School of Biological Sciences at Nanyang Technological University. He will come to your wedding if you let him sing.

back in the 60s and 70s, a lot of weddings were held at the void decks... :biggrin:

what about seventh month ?..can angmo tahan the haze in singapore that most singaporean are "burning papers" during that time ? :biggrin:

talking about the haze, we should really just burn credit cards these days...

dysentry

This farang is too condescending; I learnt nice Malay songs from my neighbours like Sejati and Semalam Yang Hangat...

BlueCat

have to be more tolerance.
when we have those 7th month celebration or funeral,they also accept it.
so we must also accept their wedding's music and drum.

talking about the haze, we should really just burn credit cards these days...

i will not be surprise if they do burn credit cards ..anyway they already burn "houses " , "cars " , "maid " , "DVD player " ....ect :rolleyes: . the time will come :p

This farang is too condescending; I learnt nice Malay songs from my neighbours like Sejati and Semalam Yang Hangat...

try putting yourself in those angmo shoes . if you were to live overseas , be prepare to experience some culture shocks :biggrin:

So this foreign talent was very displeased with Singaporean. Will our PM LHL pass policies to shut us up for the sake of FT?

dysentry

try putting yourself in those angmo shoes . if you were to live overseas , be prepare to experience some culture shocks :biggrin:

These ang mohs come from more individualistic cultures, where the rights of the individual are respected. But this doesn't work in Asia, where we still think in communal mindsets.

Kenshinng

hmm and this sentence makes it sound as there are a lot of weddings going on when it is actually more on weekends.

"My condo is bounded on three sides by HDB flats, and a morning walk will sometimes take me past a void deck bustling with much unloading, cooking and arranging in preparation for a wedding reception or some other celebration. I've noticed that the sound system is set up and tested early, reflecting the importance of music for the festivities."

So this foreign talent was very displeased with Singaporean. Will our PM LHL pass policies to shut us up for the sake of FT?

If Sporns doo lan FTrash, the Papayas would arrest Sporns under the "Racial Harmony Act". And when the ang mohs show their displeasure, they can be given all the space in 154th to air their compraints. Still wanna serve NS? Still dun wanna revolt against the traitors?

These ang mohs come from more individualistic cultures, where the rights of the individual are respected. But this doesn't work in Asia, where we still think in communal mindsets.

And when the Familee is bent on overcrowding this little piece of nose shit with FTrash?

Ang Mo getting hardship allowance for working in Spore lah. If not enough he can ask his boss for a raise.

He is also getting a free immersion in asian culture :biggrin:

NobleEagle

Ang Mo getting hardship allowance for working in Spore lah. If not enough he can ask his boss for a raise.

He is also getting a free immersion in asian culture :biggrin:

aiya he dun like anytime can go to pub/disco/geylang why the hell we even bother discussing abt them in the first place?

if i go thailand during songkran, i dun like being wet can ask the govt stop tis festival meh?