• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

comfort Merc Taxi employs thai to drive it

golden

Did Comfort flout LTA rules in employing foreigners to drive its fleet of Mercs taxi?

Under LTA rules, http://www.taxi.org.sg/tvl.htm

To be eligible for becoming a fully qualify Taxi Driver, you must:
STEP 1 - Obtain a Taxi Driver Vocational Licence (TDVL) issued by the Land Transport Authority
STEP 2 - Pass your medical examinations
STEP 3 - Upon achieving the above 2 steps then you are eligible to undergo the Taxi Driver
STEP 3 - Vocational Licence Course

Pre-requiste for becoming a Taxi Driver:
- You must be at least 30 years of age.
- Valid class 3/3A driving licence.
- A Singapore Citizen.
- Able to converse and write basic English.
- Have at least 1 year’s driving experience with a clean driving record.

saw two long hair male (hair reaching shoulder) in either late twenties or early thirties looking like either Thai or viet or mynamar wearing Comfort logo shirt (white long sleve) driving Merc taxi..

any one care to comment why this is allow?

golden

u calling yourself asshole?

did i mentioned i was inside their cab?

they stop by a coffeeshop along double yellowline and alighted for a cup of coffee.. ihappen to be in the coffeeshop..

which uncle in singapore drive taxi with hair touching the shoulder and wearing a white long sleeve shirt with the name Comfort sewed on the shirt pocket..

they look like thai to me, tanned, tall and slim..definitly foreigners

comfort had advertised for hired taxi drivers where they are a monthly salary instead of renting it out..

so are they allowed to hire foreigners to drive the taxi? it contradits LTA taxi rules

allanlee

which uncle in singapore drive taxi with hair touching the shoulder and wearing a white long sleeve shirt with the name Comfort sewed on the shirt pocket..

Cannot jump to conclusion from the shirts they wear lah....... did you know that many Comfort hirers after collecting their uniforms will bring them to sell ?

There is a shop in Golden Mile Complex that retails these Comfort shirts cheaply...... at $5 per piece / 3 for $10. :biggrin:

Most probably they are rental limousine chauffeurs....... I have seen a few of them during functions around town.

golden

Cannot jump to conclusion from the shirts they wear lah....... did you know that many Comfort hirers after collecting their uniforms will bring them to sell ?

There is a shop in Golden Mile Complex that retails these Comfort shirts cheaply...... at $5 per piece / 3 for $10. :biggrin:

Most probably they are rental limousine chauffeurs....... I have seen a few of them during functions around town.

its definitely Comfort limousine taxi..the wordings are all there on the taxi..
have taken such taxis before and saw those taxis on the road everyday..so cannot be Car rentals companies.. those distinct Comfort name on the side of the merc taxi..

Did Comfort flout LTA rules in employing foreigners to drive its fleet of Mercs taxi?

Under LTA rules, http://www.taxi.org.sg/tvl.htm

To be eligible for becoming a fully qualify Taxi Driver, you must:
STEP 1 - Obtain a Taxi Driver Vocational Licence (TDVL) issued by the Land Transport Authority
STEP 2 - Pass your medical examinations
STEP 3 - Upon achieving the above 2 steps then you are eligible to undergo the Taxi Driver
STEP 3 - Vocational Licence Course

Pre-requiste for becoming a Taxi Driver:
- You must be at least 30 years of age.
- Valid class 3/3A driving licence.
- A Singapore Citizen.
- Able to converse and write basic English.
- Have at least 1 year’s driving experience with a clean driving record.

saw two long hair male (hair reaching shoulder) in either late twenties or early thirties looking like either Thai or viet or mynamar wearing Comfort logo shirt (white long sleve) driving Merc taxi..

any one care to comment why this is allow?

The problem is that you didn't go up to them and ask them. And now,Come to this forum and investigate? WOW... sinkies are so intelligent.

If you think your sinkie govt flout the law, you come to this forum to get jealous and didn't check out with the LTA on the 2 guys you suspect? Amazing sinkie working style.

xiaohei1881

LTA rules says only Singapore citizens, but did not say local singapore citizens, so now we have FTs who become sinkapore citizens, most notably from China and india, because Lau Lee says the garmen dun anyhow give citizenship to FTs, they screen each FTs clean and proper and only then they qualify. So now you have FTs citizens driving taxis.

tiuroyston46asshole

u calling yourself asshole?

did i mentioned i was inside their cab?

they stop by a coffeeshop along double yellowline and alighted for a cup of coffee.. ihappen to be in the coffeeshop..

they look like thai to me, tanned, tall and slim..definitly foreigners

comfort had advertised for hired taxi drivers where they are a monthly salary instead of renting it out..

so are they allowed to hire foreigners to drive the taxi? it contradits LTA taxi rules

No, calling you asshole is correct....understand !. why Thai with singkie citizen cannot drive har...... bloody asshole, just any how spray without getting fact right. tiulehloumoh lah.....:biggrin:

golden

Asshole,

comfort only allows new taxi drivers to rent those those old Toyoto Crown type.

Mercs are reserved for those more experienced taxi drivers who are with comfort for certain number of years..

go and check with your comfort taxi friends..asshole..

ya,on paper is like that but if got money,do you think they will refuse your higher priced rental for their mercs...

Asshole,

comfort only allows new taxi drivers to rent those those old Toyoto Crown type.

Mercs are reserved for those more experienced taxi drivers who are with comfort for certain number of years..

go and check with your comfort taxi friends..asshole..