I wonder if my teacher have made a mistake
    anyway its been 40 yrs now and I think she must be dead

some one suggest that ameracian pronuce Z as zee
    and british pronouce as zack...

My Reputation Points: 2552 / Power: 11

Talking Re: how to pronouce W ?

Quote Originally Posted by god_zeus View Post
    how to pronouce W ? ...
    got 1 of my teachers last time pronounced it as ... double lahyoo ...

and british pronouce as zack... ...
    my downstairs kopitiam got ah peks pronounced it as ... jet ...

... juz another 3.5224˘ worth ... (gst 7%, inflation 8% (2008) n tariff 21% (2008), 23.32% (2010), 9.8%(2011) incl.) ...
    fr n original, humble 2˘ ... u now got a whopping 3.5224˘ worth fr me! ...
    tis value is fully guaranteed (wun morning say dun guarantee & @ nite say guarantee) ...

sexy way 2 learn mandarin! [nsfw] updated: 09mar

My Reputation Points: 1118 / Power: 7

Default Re: how to pronouce W ?

I mean the ABC....W..x y z?

when I was in primary 1 in 1971
    I was taught to pronouce it as 'dubbed dew'

but now my 3 year old niece pronouce it as 'double you'
    as she learn it from the youtube

I wonder if my teacher have made a mistake
    anyway its been 40 yrs now and I think she must be dead

Your niece (and the YouTube video) is correct, your Primary 1 teacher 40 yrs ago was wrong.

Notice that W (w) looks like UU (uu). Hence the alphabet W is pronounced 'double-U'.

And yes, Americans and British pronouce the alphabet 'Z' differently, but it makes no difference when pronunciating words.

My Reputation Points: 109 / Power: 4

Question Re: how to pronouce W ?

I think "double you" is American? "dubbed you" is British? No?

My Reputation Points: 321 / Power: 4

[QUOTE=UltimaOnline;357323]Your niece (and the YouTube video) is correct, your Primary 1 teacher 40 yrs ago was wrong.

Notice that W (w) looks like UU (uu). Hence the alphabet W is pronounced 'double-U'.

QUOTE]

In that case, it should be pronouced as "double V".... the W (VV)

By the way, the correct one is "Da Pore U"

My Reputation Points: 579 / Power: 6

查案用右脑,不要用左脑!

My Reputation Points: 945 / Power: 7

The British pronounce "Z" as "zed" not "zack".

"Zack" is the Singlish pronunciation.

My Reputation Points: 546 / Power: 6

Quote Originally Posted by Unrepented View Post
    In that case, it should be pronouced as "double V".... the W (VV)

By the way, the correct one is "Da Pore U"
    The French do call their alphabet "W" double V

My Reputation Points: 263 / Power: 5

Quote Originally Posted by UltimaOnline View Post
    Your niece (and the YouTube video) is correct, your Primary 1 teacher 40 yrs ago was wrong.

And yes, Americans and British pronouce the alphabet 'Z' differently, but it makes no difference when pronunciating words.
    Looks more like "double vee" with pointed bottoms. Maybe the original written form has rounded bottoms.

My Reputation Points: 321 / Power: 4

On this note, you are correct. The old fashioned english...

Quote Originally Posted by rodent2005 View Post
    Looks more like "double vee" with pointed bottoms. Maybe the original written form has rounded bottoms.

My Reputation Points: 10 / Power: 0

Quote Originally Posted by Leongsam View Post
    The British pronounce "Z" as "zed" not "zack".

"Zack" is the Singlish pronunciation.
    That isn't the most fundamental error in this thread. Can I yell at the Singlish speakers for a minute?

"A" IS A LETTER

"ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ" IS AN ALPHABET

THERE ARE 26 LETTERS IN THE ALPHABET.

WHEN YOU SAY "ALPHABETS" INSTEAD OF "LETTERS", YOU MAKE ME WANT TO STAB YOU. IN THE EYE. WITH MY ERECT PENIS.

My Reputation Points: 103 / Power: 5

Quote Originally Posted by ps07857 View Post
    I think "double you" is American? "dubbed you" is British? No?
    dun b rediculous. only ill informed sinkies read as 'dubbed you' .

My Reputation Points: 220 / Power: 5

Its Double "U". Personally it looks more like Double "V".

My Reputation Points: 8337 / Power: 22

Quote Originally Posted by denzuko1 View Post
    Its Double "U". Personally it looks more like Double "V".
    Hahaha bro, I was about to post the same thing.
    Should be double v and not double u.
    But I guess you can also write a "w" with 2 us instead of 2 vs.

My Reputation Points: 1199 / Power: 7

My teacher last time say "W" is pronounced as "lub liew"

"DYNASTIC WEALTH, THE ENEMY OF A MERITOCRACY, IS ON THE RISE"

- Warren Buffett, to the US congress. The man gives BILLIONS away to charitable causes. COMPARE this to the "mehLEEtocracy" in PAP's rhetoric of greed.

My Reputation Points: 335 / Power: 5

Quote Originally Posted by Xisiqomelir View Post
    MAKE ME WANT TO STAB YOU. IN THE EYE. WITH MY ERECT PENIS.
    first time I heard that

normally, normal people would choose the mouth