• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

AirAsia & AirAsiaX Jointly Beat SIA To Win CAPA Airline Of The Year For 2009

SNAblog

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v5/newsbusiness.php?id=450672

AirAsia And AirAsia X Jointly Win CAPA's Airline Of The Year

tony_fernandes.jpg

BEIJING, Oct 28 (Bernama)-- Exeptional achievement, brilliant innovations and constant positive growth despite the global economic crisis has won the AirAsia group double Ace.

AirAsia and AirAsiaX jointly won the prestigious Centre for Asia Pacific Aviation (CAPA) Airline of the Year Award for 2009 here Wednesday night.

The awards were presented at the CAPA Aviation Awards for Excellence presentation ceremony here, while its Group CEO, Datuk Seri Tony Fernandes was also conferred the CAPA Legend Award (Aviation Hall of Fame) for 2009.

The CAPA Awards Ceremony was held as part of this year's sixth annual Asia Aviation Outlook summit here.

The two-day event showcased airline and airport CEOs from around the Asia Pacific and Middle East regions.

"It is a big hounour, we are very proud indeed, we beat Singapore Airline, China Airline, Cathay Pacific...it shows that Malaysia can be the best," said Tony Fernandes when asked to comment on the company's achievement.

==============================

For local news from non-local mainstream media, visit http://singaporenewsalternative.blogspot.com

SNAblog

http://www.adoimagazine.com/newhome...content&view=article&id=5065&catid=1&Itemid=5

AirAsia and AirAsia X Jointly Win CAPA Airline of the Year Award and Tony Fernandes Conferred CAPA Legend Award!

AirAsia and AirAsia X are leading the way in developing short-haul to long-haul connectivity in ways which promise to revolutionize the international marketplace – Peter Harbison.

Exceptional achievement, brilliant innovations, and constant positive growth – these exceptional qualities made AirAsia and AirAsia X joint winners of the prestigious Centre for Asia Pacific Aviation (CAPA) Airline of the Year Award for 2009 this year at the CAPA Aviation Awards for Excellence presentation ceremony, held at the Great Wall Sheraton in Beijing, China. AirAsia’s Group CEO, Dato’ Sri Tony Fernandes was also conferred the CAPA Legend Award (Aviation Hall of Fame) for 2009 for shaping the way the aviation industry has evolved.

The Awards Ceremony was held as part of this year’s sixth annual Asia Aviation Outlook summit, showcasing airline and airport CEOs from around the Asia Pacific and Middle East regions.

AirAsia Group CEO Tony Fernandes said, “This is a dual celebration for the airline. We are greatly honoured to be bestowed the most prestigious award of the evening. I am also honoured to be part of the Aviation Hall of Fame which honours me a lifetime of strategic leadership, innovation and influence in the aviation industry. Undoubtedly, our ceaseless dedication in providing premium services with low fares, incessant innovations and most significantly, the unbeatable synergy of our short-haul and long-haul networks has greatly contributed to this success.”

“From 2 planes to 80 and from 200,000 to over 75 million passengers in just a short 7 years marks unprecedented growth by any airline globally, let alone a low fare airline like AirAsia. We are deeply flattered to accept this award and this shall further bolster our pledge – to provide superior services coupled with our low fares plus diverse service options to our guests. This is our promise,” he concluded.

The CAPA Airline of the Year 2009 award is deemed the uppermost level of recognition given to airlines for excellent achievements in the aviation industry and outstanding strategic contribution over the course of the past year. AirAsia had successfully proven to be the leader in the development of the airline industry with its constant innovations and rapid expansion of its operations across the region and internationally, regularly setting new standards of excellence for others to follow.

The CAPA Legend Award 2009 (Aviation Hall of Fame) recognizes outstanding individual figures for being a revolutionary force in the aviation industry. Dato’ Sri Tony Fernandes, Group CEO of AirAsia was recognized for his influential actions for directly shaping the way the aviation industry has evolved. He is recognized for his drive, creativity, enthusiasm of driving liberalization across the region, opening new markets for AirAsia by bringing air travel to millions of new travelers and high growth levels to countless tourism destinations in a remarkably short time. The Group CEO’s venture into low cost long haul services with AirAsia X may further cause revolution in the way network air services are delivered. Dato’ Sri Tony Fernandes joins the prestigious Centre's Hall of Fame, joining Dato’ Seri Bashir Ahmad (Managing Director of Malaysia Airports Holdings Berhad), Ray Webster (founding CEO of EasyJet), Dr Cheong Choong Kong (former Chief Executive Officer of Singapore Airlines) and Maurice Flanagan (founding Vice Chairman, Emirates Airline) who were previous winners of this award.

AirAsia X CEO Azran Osman-Rani was equally elated by the win. He said, “It was just in 2008 that AirAsia X won the CAPA New Airline of the Year award. Being acknowledged as the CAPA Airline of the Year for 2009 within just a year of our previous win is indeed a great honour. This recognition will greatly boost our fortitude to offer greater quality services to all our guests and inspire us to further expand our network globally. Look out for our groundbreaking lie-flat bed seats next year! Thank you CAPA for their utmost recognition once again."

AirAsia has previously won several awards from CAPA – AirAsia was a joint winner of the Airline of the Year award in 2003, won the Asia Pacific Low Cost Airline of the Year 2004, followed by the Asia Pacific Aviation Executive of the Year 2005 which was awarded to Tony Fernandes, Group CEO and Founder of AirAsia.

In 2007, the airline again scored the prestigious Airline of the Year award and in 2008, AirAsia X was conferred the New Airline of the Year Award.

Peter Harbison, Executive Chairman of the Centre for Asia Pacific Aviation (CAPA) said, “AirAsia has had another superlative year amid some of the toughest conditions to hit the airline industry on record. An innovator in revenue generation, with a strongly developing network and consistent focus on maintaining its world leading low cost base, AirAsia was the outstanding performer in 2009. AirAsia and AirAsia X are leading the way in developing short-haul to long-haul connectivity in ways which promise to revolutionize the international marketplace”.

"CAPA is doubly pleased that the CAPA Legend Award for 2009 was honoured to the airline’s Group Chief Executive Officer, Tony Fernandes. This award honours strategic leadership, vision, innovation and influence in the aviation industry. Tony Fernandes is the youngest inductee into the Hall of Fame, but his impact on Asia Pacific aviation has been profound. Pioneering the cross-border joint venture model in Asia to open up new opportunities beyond its Malaysian base in Thailand and Indonesia, as well as low-cost long-haul services to link the region globally, the AirAsia Group is on track to handle 24 million passengers in 2009 – some 30% more than in 2008, despite the global economic slowdown. But AirAsia’s impact is much more than its generation of strong traffic growth. The airline is catalysing positive change in the way governments, suppliers and its rivals are thinking and acting. We are delighted to recognise Tony Fernandes’ leadership role in driving our industry forward”, he concluded.

==============================

For local news from non-local mainstream media, visit http://singaporenewsalternative.blogspot.com

I've flown with AirAsia before and frankly it was very good. Throughout the flight, it felt like a full service airline. The only time I'd feel it's a budget arline was when I had to pay extra for meal on board. Nothing more than standard fast food sandwich stuff, though palatable enough to fill the tummy at reasonable price.

I've also flown with Tiger before. Like old Hokkien saying, f*ck a tiger, one-off. Pay me also I don't want to go back onboard a Tiger flight even again.

oli9

If AirAsia can beat SIA for this award, then i shudder to think how far low in the ladder our dear Tiger is.
SPH JOURNALISTS kindly wake up from your slumber & go interview Mr Tony Davis & ask for his take on Tiger's current service.
We already know Tiger has purchase blah blah blah X number of planes but who gives a shit. What we & I want to know is who & what causes so much cockups? Flight delays, leaving stranded passengers in a lurch(both in Hobart & padang), non existence hotline & refund policy etc this list can go on for miles. TIGERAIRWAYS what the HELL happened? You guys are giving Spore a really BAD NAME. They deserve it!!!! Dont ever put a FT DIPLOMA holder to do a local job.

If AirAsia can beat SIA for this award, then i shudder to think how far low in the ladder our dear Tiger is. ...
wat rubbish is capa airline of ze yr awards! ...

it muz b sum chipskate awards dat no 1 bothers! ...

any rankings dat place sia or any other sg airlines nt in lumpar 1 is "quite absurd n divorced fr reality" ... (wif ref fr below, hor!) ...

sg is world crass, world bestest, world lumpar 1! ...

20091027.130824_freedomofpress.jpg

... LAW Minister K. Shanmugam yesterday said rankings that place Singapore lowly on press freedom "struck him as quite absurd and divorced from reality". ...

"It is a big hounour, we are very proud indeed, we beat Singapore Airline, China Airline, Cathay Pacific...it shows that Malaysia can be the best," said Tony Fernandes
alamak! ...

ah tony ...

u oso want 2 tok world crass, world bestest, world lumpar 1, ah? ...

Hmmm... I've not taken airasia before. ANyone here has experience?

Airasia is a good airlines I take it on flights to BKK. Sometimes you MAY face some delays 20 minutes to 2 hours but they are getting better.

SIA standards have been falling for years & continues to do so. SIA might have started with good people but todays its like any GLC and GLCs have a lousy track record when it comes to customer service.

You'll still find SIA apologists defending SIA but lets face it not everyone flies business. If you are paying your own fare & flying economy there are many cheaper & better airlines out there. :rolleyes: