• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Thailand just needs 5-6 years to dig the Thai Canal

very unlikely as the thai military would never physically sever a cuntry in 2 and create an artificial border in the form of a canal for southern rebels of the islamic persuasion to flourish.

新加坡内阁总李

with the combination of:

1. military coupe regime of Thai BGs
2. PRC communist strength
3. power of deep Ren Min Bi currency pocket
4. PAP suckers helping USA to strategic choke Straits of Melacca inducing urgency for Kra Project

I say 2 years also can do it.
PRC Red Army Combat Engineers n Pioneers blasting explosives to cut soil

bro, ur info is accurate....feasibility studies completed few years back, work has started oredi
not sure which is the foreign partner

Dun talk cock and spread rumours that work started.
Feasibility studies done once everytime some party wants to wayang for political mileage....nothing new.
For list of reasons already stated by many here before...this project is likely a non starter....
That said....I hope to see this a reality in my lifetime....
When this happens pappies are fucked...but they won't be around by then.

This project is not economically viable as it will only save a ship abt 5 to 7 days travelling time unlike the suez n Panama canels where the savings is in months.

3_M

This project is not economically viable as it will only save a ship abt 5 to 7 days travelling time unlike the suez n Panama canels where the savings is in months.

It might not be economic viable but it strategically viable for China who is interested to bypass it choking point on Straits of Malacca. To the Thai, it like obtaining a sponsorship to develop their economically backward Southern region.

Win-win for both China and Thai.

rotiprata

Dun talk cock and spread rumours that work started.
When this happens pappies are fucked...but they won't be around by then.

talk cock..:confused:...only sinkies like u are so dumb..:biggrin:

btw, what makes you think that sinkieland will be fucked once the canal is operational...?

congo9

It might not be economic viable but it strategically viable for China who is interested to bypass it choking point on Straits of Malacca. To the Thai, it like obtaining a sponsorship to develop their economically backward Southern region.

I think if The Thais are not careful, it will split the country into many pieces.

That's just fear mongering. The Panama Canal did not split up Panama. The Suez Canal did not split up Egypt.

Personally, I want to see the Kra Canal completed within my lifetime. It will be fun to see Singapore's petrochemical industry get fucked up. :wink:

They can turn Jurong Island into another casino resort. More income opportunities for the cronies e.g. George Quek, the new pawnshops. :biggrin:

Poomer

Well, they can always coincide the official opening of the Kra Canal with LHL's 2030 masterplan of moving all shipping infrastructure to Tuas/Jurong.

Then we can see how LHL gets royally fucked by the powerful shipping and petrochemical industry.

3_M

Well, they can always coincide the official opening of the Kra Canal with LHL's 2030 masterplan of moving all shipping infrastructure to Tuas/Jurong.

Then we can see how LHL gets royally fucked by the powerful shipping and petrochemical industry.

people who insist Kra Canal is another project that never materialized will be in for a rude shock.

Already Chinese company is going to construct the Nicaragua canal. Kra Canal is just a matter of time.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-latin-america-28206683

HTOLAS

The Panama Canal may not have split Panama but Panama was actually split from Colombia, so that the US could build the canal.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Panama

As for the Suez Canal, though it might not have split Egypt, it became the focus of much conflict and was closed for a number of years.

Finally, given the terrain of the isthmus of Kra, the proposed canal would operate more like the Panama than the Suez. In other words, ships would have to be raised and lowered through a series of locks before coming out the other side. This would mean queues of ships at either end waiting to be brought through and would probably take as much time as traveling round the Malay Peninsula.

That's just fear mongering. The Panama Canal did not split up Panama. The Suez Canal did not split up Egypt.

Personally, I want to see the Kra Canal completed within my lifetime. It will be fun to see Singapore's petrochemical industry get fucked up. :wink:

They can turn Jurong Island into another casino resort. More income opportunities for the cronies e.g. George Quek, the new pawnshops. :biggrin:

talk cock..:confused:...only sinkies like u are so dumb..:biggrin:

btw, what makes you think that sinkieland will be fucked once the canal is operational...?

Kindly show proof that work already start secretly on the canal as claimed by you.
The jury is out there on whether sinkieland will be fucked once the canal becomes reality.....but confirm it will be a hige impact....I dun think I need to show you the arguments towards such an outcome.

garlic

I believe the Canal project is being met with alot of resistance, hence they start the highspeed railway first instead. On one hand, it will show Thailand the Chinese resolve of getting things done and on the other show other countries the benefits if they jump on the bandwagon. 7 years to reach thailand, wonder how long more it will take to reach SG, if it ever does.

Its too dangerous for the thais to agree as it will split the country in 2. With a restive south its a bad idea. China can do it for national pride but it will also make a tempting target for the yanks. ..

From another perspective. If the canel is built properly etc and its not on the interlocking method. These will be enough businesses to go around. Singkieland will not loose out.

But ah tiongs like to cut corners and what about the environmental degredation etc? Ah tiong land not big on pollution control hor...

Also for the suez and Panama canals. Boats wait days or to traverse the canal. If this kra canel have to wait days..than might as well go around the straits of malacca...

One thing ah tiong land might do is built an oil terminal and build rail roads and oil pipeline to the other side. Ships off load at one end and load at the other end...but the time savings still not there..but at least there is an alternate route for ah tiong land to get its oil. Or ah tiong can just buy all they want from russia...

vamjok

those say petroleum industry will be fuck, pls la...

if you are the CEO of shell, you want to shift your refinery to the thai side just to save a few days of shipping? common sense hello....