• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tougher rules for new hotels with hourly rates

metalslug

http://www.relax.com.sg/relax/news/254138/tougher_rules_for_new_hotels.html

By Kor Kian Beng , The Straits Times | Fri, Sep 18 2009
Rules tightened for these places which are often seen as hotbeds of prostitution.

tougher_rules_for_new_hotels-topImage.jpg

THE Government will come down hard on new hotels that rent rooms by the hour, as it tightens the rules for these places which are often seen as hotbeds of prostitution.

Newcomers applying for an operating licence have to justify why they are offering such rates. In addition, they have to install closed-circuit television systems, and hire guards to preserve the safety of their guests and look out for possible illegal activities.

Hoteliers with an eye on offering such rooms in residential areas will face an even harder time.

They are required 'to engage the community and respond to concerns of residents', said Mr S. Iswaran, Senior Minister of State for Trade and Industry, without elaborating.

He announced the new measures in Parliament yesterday.

When contacted, the Singapore Tourism Board's director of resource development, Ms Rebecca Lim, said the new rules take effect immediately but apply only to new hotels.

Existing hotels that rent rooms by the hour are exempted from these stricter measures when they renew their licences, which must be done every year.

The latest changes follow initial deterrent steps taken by the Hotels Licensing Board (HLB).

In January, it banned all hotels in Joo Chiat from offering hourly rates, in a bid to stop vice activities in the area well-known for its rich Peranakan heritage.

Residents there, as well as those in Duxton Road in Tanjong Pagar, have been complaining long and loud that such hotels often encouraged vice activities.

Their cause had been championed in Parliament by Mr Christopher de Souza (Holland-Bukit Timah GRC), who had continually urged the authorities to rein in prostitution to within the boundaries of the red-light areas in Geylang.

In yesterday's sitting, he wanted to know if there were plans to issue these hotels with special licences. He also asked for the number of hourly-rate hotels beyond Geylang and measures, if any, to curb them from mushrooming outside Geylang, especially in residential areas.

Hotels that rent rooms by the hour or for part of a day are also known as transit hotels, and they can be in business districts, at or near airports.

Mr Iswaran estimates that almost half of the 250 hotels here are transit hotels and they are not given a special licence.

The reason: Singapore adopts a pro-enterprise approach that gives hotels 'the flexibility to set their operating model, including their room pricing', he said.

It is a model adopted in major cities, such as Hong Kong, London and New York, he added.

Hence, the HLB does not track the number of transit hotels.

But he assured the House that the Board works closely with enforcement agencies to monitor the activities of hotels here.

He warned that hotels that are guilty of illegal activities can lose their licence.

Mr de Souza, when contacted, said he welcomed the stricter rules, which showed the Government was aware of the concerns that such hotels could lead to vice and other social problems.

'The new measures are a step in the right direction because now the authorities can vet the kind of activities that might occur at these places.'

He also urged residents to do their part: 'Now is the time for residents to be vigilant and voice their concerns.'

This is an absolute wayang show. Why you think hourly rates exist. The new conditions only serve to entrenched owners of Hotel 81 and Fortune Group. If Singapore is serious, there will be no hourly rate and there won't be foreigner hookers everywhere you look.

liketogossip

If Singapore is serious, there will be no hourly rate and there won't be foreigner hookers everywhere you look.

Even with these measures, think the business of these so called "TALENT" would not be hindered. they can still operate on other alternatives.

There will never be zero cases - thats absurd but you won't have it to the scale that it is seen now.

Even with these measures, think the business of these so called "TALENT" would not be hindered. they can still operate on other alternatives.

hairylee

This is an absolute wayang show. Why you think hourly rates exist. The new conditions only serve to entrenched owners of Hotel 81 and Fortune Group. If Singapore is serious, there will be no hourly rate and there won't be foreigner hookers everywhere you look.

Should check who is sitting on the board of directors. I know Wee Kim Wee's son used to sit on the board of another group, also a "hourly" hotel group, but a smaller one.

SotongMee

Root of the problem is rampant uncontrolled prostitution which the SPF vice squad cannot handle.

Now with budget airlines, cost of bringing in the flesh trade to Sinkie island is no longer a barrier.

However, it is good cash for budget hotel business to rent full day

When the IR opens it would be mayhem on Sinkie land, it will be
Macau and Hong Kong combined.

it is not solving the root of the problem. those "TALENT" would still be roaming around.

These things happen because they are allowed to happen. For years, Ministry of Home Affairs had a Duty Anti Vice Officer on duty at the airport. Furthermore they used to raid quite often. This is certainly a policy decision.

Thats why I find it hilarious why they bother with hotel operators.

Root of the problem is rampant uncontrolled prostitution which the SPF vice squad cannot handle.

Now with budget airlines, cost of bringing in the flesh trade to Sinkie island is no longer a barrier.

SotongMee

"If the expensive new five star IR Hotels got no business, then I worry."
-Woody

These things happen because they are allowed to happen. For years, Ministry of Home Affairs had a Duty Anti Vice Officer on duty at the airport. Furthermore they used to raid quite often. This is certainly a policy decision.

Thats why I find it hilarious why they bother with hotel operators.

Jabba

the idea is to scale down...if they seriously sweep the entire geylang...where can the prc workers go to release? those residents that complaint too much may indirectly cause harm to the female members of their household...

You just watch - they will allow the setting up of high class call girl outfits appropriately named as Escort Agencies the IR. They will not advertise, purely on referral service. The Casinos have been in this game long enough to know what to do.

"If the expensive new five star IR Hotels got no business, then I worry."
-Woody

Thats probably the policy but we have them at avoid decks and nighbourhood coffeeshops.

the idea is to scale down...if they seriously sweep the entire geylang...where can the prc workers go to release? those residents that complaint too much may indirectly cause harm to the female members of their household...

They want HORNY foreign talents go oggling the women of SINgapore at HDB estates???

Anyway...they can get 1 person to rent the room for 1 day, and the rest can use the room per hour...

They might as well, check the status of the person's checking in?

Counter " You, chicken ah?"
and why do you need the room, why for 1 day only, why so late at night, why at 2am why...your mother is not with you...are you a V..??

ha ha ha ha:biggrin:

nickers9

1-3.jpg

Good! It's all coming into my plans.

I made tougher rules for hotels with hourly rates so that my PRC pussies talents will not anyhow roamed around Singapore.

After that I will opened up Istana and asked my prataman to be the King of Pimp. And all my PRC pussies talents will go there and stayed there.

So no more going to Geylang as I dont want my Singapore dollars flowing out from Singapore. Now with Istana as the main brothel in Singapore, all the Singapore and foreign money will only flow into Singapore.

My prataman will be busy taxing my PRC pussies talents and once in a while I will go there and have some fun too. Dont worry, my old maid is at home resting and she is not able to catch me red handed this time as she is too weak to go out.

At last my real dreams for Singapore have come true. I have made Singapore a place for makan, a place for drinking, a place for gambling and finally a place for prostitution. Now my kingdom is really a paradise now.

Hahahahaha!

Maverick01

my qns is then locals that wan go with gf...mistress...scandals...HOW????????????

http://www.relax.com.sg/relax/news/254138/tougher_rules_for_new_hotels.html

By Kor Kian Beng , The Straits Times | Fri, Sep 18 2009
Rules tightened for these places which are often seen as hotbeds of prostitution.

tougher_rules_for_new_hotels-topImage.jpg

THE Government will come down hard on new hotels that rent rooms by the hour, as it tightens the rules for these places which are often seen as hotbeds of prostitution.

Newcomers applying for an operating licence have to justify why they are offering such rates. In addition, they have to install closed-circuit television systems, and hire guards to preserve the safety of their guests and look out for possible illegal activities.

Hoteliers with an eye on offering such rooms in residential areas will face an even harder time.

They are required 'to engage the community and respond to concerns of residents', said Mr S. Iswaran, Senior Minister of State for Trade and Industry, without elaborating.

He announced the new measures in Parliament yesterday.

When contacted, the Singapore Tourism Board's director of resource development, Ms Rebecca Lim, said the new rules take effect immediately but apply only to new hotels.

Existing hotels that rent rooms by the hour are exempted from these stricter measures when they renew their licences, which must be done every year.

The latest changes follow initial deterrent steps taken by the Hotels Licensing Board (HLB).

In January, it banned all hotels in Joo Chiat from offering hourly rates, in a bid to stop vice activities in the area well-known for its rich Peranakan heritage.

Residents there, as well as those in Duxton Road in Tanjong Pagar, have been complaining long and loud that such hotels often encouraged vice activities.

Their cause had been championed in Parliament by Mr Christopher de Souza (Holland-Bukit Timah GRC), who had continually urged the authorities to rein in prostitution to within the boundaries of the red-light areas in Geylang.

In yesterday's sitting, he wanted to know if there were plans to issue these hotels with special licences. He also asked for the number of hourly-rate hotels beyond Geylang and measures, if any, to curb them from mushrooming outside Geylang, especially in residential areas.

Hotels that rent rooms by the hour or for part of a day are also known as transit hotels, and they can be in business districts, at or near airports.

Mr Iswaran estimates that almost half of the 250 hotels here are transit hotels and they are not given a special licence.

The reason: Singapore adopts a pro-enterprise approach that gives hotels 'the flexibility to set their operating model, including their room pricing', he said.

It is a model adopted in major cities, such as Hong Kong, London and New York, he added.

Hence, the HLB does not track the number of transit hotels.

But he assured the House that the Board works closely with enforcement agencies to monitor the activities of hotels here.

He warned that hotels that are guilty of illegal activities can lose their licence.

Mr de Souza, when contacted, said he welcomed the stricter rules, which showed the Government was aware of the concerns that such hotels could lead to vice and other social problems.

'The new measures are a step in the right direction because now the authorities can vet the kind of activities that might occur at these places.'

He also urged residents to do their part: 'Now is the time for residents to be vigilant and voice their concerns.'