• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP power lah! US want to invite Singapore for G-20 meeting!! SDP dun be sad

RonRon

Sep 14, 2009

TOKYO - THE United States is considering inviting Singapore and Thailand to a Group of 20 summit in Pittsburgh this month to reflect broader views from developing countries, Japan's Nikkei business daily reported without citing sources.

With participation of the two Asian nations, Washington is also hoping to balance the growing influence of European countries in talks on issues such as financial regulation and global warming, the Nikkei said.

On pay and bonuses in the financial sector, France and Germany have pushed hard for limits, while Britain, the United States and Canada have opposed caps.

Washington is considering having Singapore represent the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) forum and Thailand as a representative of the Southeast Asian grouping Asean, the Nikkei said.

Their participation is expected to enable the G20 to hold substantive talks on issues including support for developing countries in cuts on CO2 emissions, and strengthening their voice at the International Monetary Fund, it said. -- REUTERS

saratogas

Does this piece of News got to do with the invitation?

Singapore raises IMF contribution fourfold

(AFP) Singapore has agreed to increase fourfold its contribution to an International Monetary Fund credit line aimed at combating financial crises, the fund said Tuesday.

The island republic would increase its current contribution to the fund's New Arrangements to Borrow (NAB) of 500 million dollars, by 1.5 billion dollars to 2.0 billion dollars.

The NAB is a set of credit arrangements between the IMF and a group of members and institutions to provide supplementary resources to the Washington-based fund to help cope with financial crises.

"I welcome the commitment by Singapore to support the lending capacity of the IMF through an increased contribution to the New Arrangements to Borrow," said IMF managing director Dominique Strauss-Kahn.

"Singapore's contribution will strengthen the global financial system by increasing confidence that the IMF's resources will be sufficient to meet the financing needs of its member countries," he said.

The leaders of the Group of 20 emerging and developed nations agreed at a summit in April in London to hike the IMF's NAB facility by up to 500 billion dollars.

The European Union announced last week it would raise the bloc's contribution to 125 billion euros (178 billion dollars).

$$$

dun go, they want to take away your aircon and plasma screen.

you have to cut your emissions, sinkies.

PAP will be force to increase levy.

annexa

Sep 14, 2009

TOKYO - THE United States is considering inviting Singapore and Thailand to a Group of 20 summit in Pittsburgh this month to reflect broader views from developing countries, Japan's Nikkei business daily reported without citing sources.

With participation of the two Asian nations, Washington is also hoping to balance the growing influence of European countries in talks on issues such as financial regulation and global warming, the Nikkei said.

On pay and bonuses in the financial sector, France and Germany have pushed hard for limits, while Britain, the United States and Canada have opposed caps.

Washington is considering having Singapore represent the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) forum and Thailand as a representative of the Southeast Asian grouping Asean, the Nikkei said.

Their participation is expected to enable the G20 to hold substantive talks on issues including support for developing countries in cuts on CO2 emissions, and strengthening their voice at the International Monetary Fund, it said. -- REUTERS

CCB INSULT US! We are DEVELOPED! FIRST WORLD! That is why our ministar get paid millions! SWISS STANDARD OF LIVING! I can feel it in my bones.

TV2009080919120900-1.jpg

Fcukin proud to be ATM of the East man! Ahh....

CCB INSULT US! We are DEVELOPED! FIRST WORLD! That is why our ministar get paid millions! SWISS STANDARD OF LIVING! I can feel it in my bones.

Maybe in Switzerland they're striving and craving for Singapore standard of ministerial pay.