• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Political logic

D

DEMONcracy

It seems one of the counter arguments Singapore’s political leaders like to make when responding to criticisms about Singapore is that critics, particularly those hailing from “Western” styled liberal democracies, have no experience at all when it comes to running a government.

So, to the Singapore government, the only way critics are allowed the license to talk is when the critics have had experience with governance. It seems that experience is pretty much a pre-requisite to the government.

That being the case, why are Singaporean ministers being paid millions? In order for our ministers to talk about and formulate policies for majority of Singaporeans, shouldn’t they experience what the average Singaporean experiences in order to make policies that makes everyone better off?

For starters, the ministers should get a massive pay cut to 5% of their current salary. Next, we should house them in 4 or 5 room HDB flats, depending on how big their family is. Next, they should be banned from owning a car so that they can experience being sandwiched in overcrowded trains and buses. Maybe the water and electrical supply to their homes can be cut from time to time too.

Without such drastic measures, our ministers cannot possibly be experienced enough to formulate good policies. We really should give our ministers the best possible experience of being an average Singaporean.

High Command

It seems one of the counter arguments Singapore’s political leaders like to make when responding to criticisms about Singapore is that critics, particularly those hailing from “Western” styled liberal democracies, have no experience at all when it comes to running a government.

How else to silence them? Interestingly enough all political leaders start off with no experience, it is a misleading arguement.

kakowi

To vote for your own salary increase is to have 99% self-interest in the outcome. This is a reasonable opinion.

But if there are disagreements, you can carry it through only if you strongly influence the company.

That is why the charities board wanted a division of voting power to prevent such and similar abuse of charities: namely the CEO cannot be the Finance Committee Chairman.

In the case of the country which is fully dominated (except for 2 opp MPs), the best way would be a national referendum.

A national referendum would have provided full and complete justification for their salary increase.

You must also note that a salary increase runs counter to earlier government policies. Salaries are sticky downwards. It can never go downwards. That is why earlier there were issues of increasing wage costs and the best way to tackle that is a variable wage component. Now with this salary rise for the Ministers, will the variable wage component still exist? I do not know the answer.

There are two reasons listed out as justification: (1) they are worth it (2) it prevents corruption. Both reasons can be debated. But the challenge is to bring in an arbitrator for the debate. One who is actually impartial, seen to be impartial, most importantly believed to be impartial by everyone.

Besides the above, the salary increases carry tremendous implications for the future of singapore. (Again the need for an impartial arbitrator for the debate)

It is surprising that the opp does not discuss on the implications, lay out the issues to the public. Or if they did, no one heard them. (By the way, hunger strikes and outbursts entertain, they do not educate).

In the midst of opposition without quality, the onus goes back to the voters themselves. Don't say that there are no good opposition. Are there good voters?

Good voters are not those who vote for Opp or the Ruling Party.

Good voters are those who vote for Singapore - the Singapore we want for our children and family.

molly

the best way would be a national referendum.

A national referendum would have provided full and complete justification for their salary increase.

Good post. I bet people were too timid then to demand a national referendum. I wonder if PAP will be able to pull this off in these days. CSJ will be after them in his Tak Boleh Tahan campaign.