• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dual citizenship now ok for Singapore PR converting to Citizenship!

tonychacha

Dear all,

I am flabbergasted when one of my India Indian colleague told me that now Singapore government is closing one eye on dual citizenship for Singapore PR converting to citizenship.

My Indian colleague told me happily that he is going to get Singapore citizenship; enjoy the benefits of Singaporean and at the same time, enjoy his Indian citizenship when he retired.

Knnbccb.

This is the way PAP says thanks to me for risking my life during my NS day

卖国贼! Traitor!

http://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=132&secid=130

Renouncing of foreign citizenship is optional now! Not mandatory!

Please tell your friends that PAP values foreigner more than true blue Singaporean.

Beshitted

Besotted will be happy. He always wanted a PRC citizzenship without giving up his original Sinkie paul lampard one.

:oIo::oIo:

Dear all,

I am flabbergasted when one of my India Indian colleague told me that now Singapore government is closing one eye on dual citizenship for Singapore PR converting to citizenship.

My Indian colleague told me happily that he is going to get Singapore citizenship; enjoy the benefits of Singaporean and at the same time, enjoy his Indian citizenship when he retired.

Knnbccb.

卖国贼! Traitor!

Please tell your friends that PAP values foreigner more than true blue Singaporean.

so does i mean that i can have another passport and still keep the singapore one?

Dear all,

Knnbccb.

卖国贼! Traitor!

Imperialarse

Dear all,

Knnbccb.

卖国贼! Traitor!

You are incorrect. The ICA is fully aware of your Indian friend's foreign citizenship and will demand a certified true copy from local Singapore Indian Embassy of renounciation of Indian Citizenship before they will grant Singapore citizenship to him.

Sorry but its not true. He wont be able to have both Indian and Singapore.

Only a Singaporean who ventures overseas and obtains a foreign citizenship can be "illegal dual national" not the other way around.

Tell your colleague the bad news.

It sure looks like the Old Fart is doing all he can to dilute Sporns' votes before the next GE!

exSINgaporean

You are incorrect. The ICA is fully aware of your Indian friend's foreign citizenship and will demand a certified true copy from local Singapore Indian Embassy of renounciation of Indian Citizenship before they will grant Singapore citizenship to him.

Sorry but its not true. He wont be able to have both Indian and Singapore.

Only a Singaporean who ventures overseas and obtains a foreign citizenship can be "illegal dual national" not the other way around.

Tell your colleague the bad news.

There is nothing "bad news" about denoucing a citizenship of a cheap 3rd world country citizenship because they can always re-apply and obtain it back within a day.

I know of a new immigrant from Singapore. His wife worked as an eye specialist in the Singapore General Hospital and in the years accumulated about $150,000 of CPF. She was a Singapore citizen after he denounced her Phillipine passport. When she immigrated to Canada, she went back to Manila and within a day she got back her Philipino passport! Then she denounced her Singapore passort by showing the Singapore Immigration that she has another foreign citizenship and later she withdrew all her CPF.

You see what a sucker Singaporeans are. You guys are not street smart in the international scene; that's why TemaSIC and GIC keep on losing money whenever they invest outside Singapore.

Highfalutin

You see what a sucker Singaporeans are. You guys are not street smart in the international scene; that's why TemaSIC and GIC keep on losing money whenever they invest outside Singapore.

Not all of us are ignorant. Among the many enlightened, most had been suckered into silence!

Imperialarse

There is nothing "bad news" about denoucing a citizenship of a cheap 3rd world country citizenship because they can always re-apply and obtain it back within a day.

I know of a new immigrant from Singapore. His wife worked as an eye specialist in the Singapore General Hospital and in the years accumulated about $150,000 of CPF. She was a Singapore citizen after he denounced her Phillipine passport. When she immigrated to Canada, she went back to Manila and within a day she got back her Philipino passport! Then she denounced her Singapore passort by showing the Singapore Immigration that she has another foreign citizenship and later she withdrew all her CPF.

Citizenship is granted by birth, by blood, or by naturalization. In the case of the Indian Citizen wishing to have both its not possible since both India and Singapore DO NOT recognize dual nationality (for those over the age of 21)

In the case of the Filipino, Its entirely possible this is the scenario as both Canada and the Phillipines allow dual nationality.

I dont think ill of anyone just objecting to false information thats laughable thats all. The thread starter is not very credible.

the dream of these new citizen are to nap another citizenship like USA, Australia, EU, NZ, Canada etc and dump the sinkies one. of course compare to these, ours seem like toilet paper.

Char_Azn

Dear all,

Knnbccb.

I think your Indian Colleague is BSing you. I have a friend(Burmese) and a colleague(Indian) who just converted to Citizen. Both have to revoke the citizenship in their previous country BEFORE they were sworn in. They needed to show ICA the letter from their country stating they have revoked their citizenship before the entire application is official

tonychacha

Citizenship is granted by birth, by blood, or by naturalization. In the case of the Indian Citizen wishing to have both its not possible since both India and Singapore DO NOT recognize dual nationality (for those over the age of 21)

In the case of the Filipino, Its entirely possible this is the scenario as both Canada and the Phillipines allow dual nationality.

I dont think ill of anyone just objecting to false information thats laughable thats all. The thread starter is not very credible.

Not really. My sources came from a MNC investment bank.

Not one Indian provide the info but a LOT of them say the same.

blindswordsman

Your post is good. It teaches the Govt how stupid and inefficient they are. How FT makes a mockery of their policies to train and nurture FT. Bite the hand that feeds you. ICA, MOM, wake up now !!!

blindswordsman

Did they provide fake letters from their countries on revocation of birth citizenship while holding onto Spore citizenship?

FT are very good with documentary magic shows. Our ICA and MOM are amateurs in this game.

tate

Dear all,

You did make some people who wanted dual citizenship happy. But your post is false and misleading.

The link you posted is Singapore Citizenship application. That is different from Citizenship Approval.

Here is the link for Singapore Citizenship Approval:
http://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=133

Once approval for Singapore Citizenship is given, the applicant must renounce his/her foreign citizenship and register for Singapore Citizenship before officially becoming a Singapore Citizen. The applicant may also apply for an Identity Card and Passport at this time.

Hopefully ICA don't panic and start sending correction letters here.

numero uno

alot of people including those in garmen are raelly stupid. They do not read the newspapers. In Phillipines, Malaysia, India and even China they can get back their ctizenship literally in 1 day. Just pay and you get a real passport. nobody there does real checks. Even in Malaysia they granted hundred of thousands of NRICs tto filipino shit heads in the 1990s up to now to dilute the local kadazans and many have dual Filipino and Malaysian citizenships. Its all in the papers and every body know about it on the ground but was blown up this year due to the failed Sabah incursion by the sulu gunmen. they created a real mess in Sabah last 20 years and later became so brave that alot of them collabrated with the sulu people/gunmen to try to invade Sabah. That's "gratitude" from these ungrateful b@stard Filipino shit heads. only those stupid people in ICA thinks sinkie citizenship is so exclusive. real stupid. you see when the econmy is down alot of people are going to cash out their CPF, sell their HDB and ran back to Indian and Philllipines. these FT trash are like that.

Dear all,

Knnbccb.

卖国贼! Traitor!

since when PAP are so pro india? they think they suck their cock, they will benefit from india become another superpower. well pap can wait long long.

Dear all,

Knnbccb.

卖国贼! Traitor!

this is what happen when sinkies wait for 2016...useless and ball-less.

kingrant

Think about a bloke like Yacob. His wife is American, so he can easily migrate to US and get his US pp in due course. Meanwhile, his wife can also get a pink IC if she wants to.

All's well that ends well - all in the family will have dual citizenship.