• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New NMP wack Young PAP

MarrickG

This new NMP got guts, but I dun think he will be around for long if he continues. Anyway, who cares! Let them fight.

Nominated MP wrong to knock Young PAP
Tue, Jul 21, 2009
The Straits Times

FIRST. I would like to congratulate Mr Calvin Cheng on his recent appointment as a Nominated Member of Parliament (NMP).

I applaud his enthusiasm to assume heavy responsibilities. As his contemporary, and also an entrepreneur and media specialist, I appreciate that he will be my 'voice in Parliament', so to speak.

Understandably, with his recent public comments on the Young People's Action Party (YP), that he 'joined out of curiosity...never attended a single branch activity...and in fact, never even picked up my membership card', Mr Cheng has stirred a flurry of interest. At best, it was a brilliant display of his talent as a media spin doctor; at worst, it shook public confidence in his capacity to take on his new appointment.

Having said that, I wonder if Mr Cheng is aware of the damage he has done, by denting the credibility of YP as a youth-worthy organisation.

As a card-carrying member of YP since 2004 and now a volunteer on the YP exco, I am saddened that my soon-to-be voice in Parliament shows no sensitivity or respect to thousands of us who offer our time, resources and commitment to the party and the good work it does.

Mr Cheng's comments seem to imply that YP is not worthy of him, since he did not even pick up his membership card. More disturbing is the fact that he never gave himself a chance to understand how YP works and what it does.

Without any knowledge or basis, he has discredited YP publicly as something he cannot be bothered with. What other statements will he make in future as he does not seem to do his homework before he speaks. If he had done his homework in this case, he would have understood that YP is a vibrant, activity-driven platform that aggressively engages citizens on the ground.

Mr Cheng is well placed to benefit from the NMP scheme. But whether the business community feels he is worthy to be our trusted voice - that must be earned over time.

He has made his kickoff so much harder for himself. Nevertheless, I have faith that he has learnt exponentially from these recent weeks. I am confident his performance in his new appointment will be no less than stellar.

Elaina Olivia Chong (Ms)
Young PAP Exco Member

annexa

So much "grace". Unable to forgive people saying simple things about THEMSELF and not about YOU. Forgive lah.

Clavin should have used the term "insidiously recruited" by the PAP which is more fashionable. They both derserve each other.

Example of "insidious recruitment" - He was walking innocently to watch a movie, when he was approached by someone in mother theresa disguise, let to an office which had the signboard " You Pray and Pray" and asked to be member of her order. Next thing you know he was was member of YPAP.

Ah Guan

I don't understand how Calvin Cheng can call himself an "entrepreneur"

What's so entrepreneurial or enterprising about being born to a rich family?

Having said that, I wonder if Mr Cheng is aware of the damage he has done, by denting the credibility of YP as a youth-worthy organisation.

As a card-carrying member of YP since 2004 and now a volunteer on the YP exco, I am saddened that my soon-to-be voice in Parliament shows no sensitivity or respect to thousands of us who offer our time, resources and commitment to the party and the good work it does.
u r lousy, den u r lousy ... there's no 2 ways abt it ...

cant accept it wen u r not world crass, world bestest, world lumpar 1, meh? ...

if u spend endless time doing ur work but u r lousy, ur boss wil hv 2 promote u meh? ...

denzuko1

This Elaina simply lacks ego. The NMP simply try to say that he has not participated in any YP activity and this woman put words into his mouth that he humiliated YP? So are they going to sue for damages?

Calvin is giving the impression that signing up for YPAP is like signing up for starhub. Why did he not sign up for WP, SDP etc. Why the YPAP? I think tax payers deserve a better answer than what he has provided.

Elaina on the other hand is clearly a convert - truly believes religiously in the PAP. One day she will wake up and find out reality and that people who run PAP use it as a pool for campaign labour, propaganda vehicle and essentially a captive audience.

This Elaina simply lacks ego. The NMP simply try to say that he has not participated in any YP activity and this woman put words into his mouth that he humiliated YP? So are they going to sue for damages?

Perspective

Calvin is giving the impression that signing up for YPAP is like signing up for starhub. Why did he not sign up for WP, SDP etc. Why the YPAP? I think tax payers deserve a better answer than what he has provided.

Elaina on the other hand is clearly a convert - truly believes religiously in the PAP. One day she will wake up and find out reality and that people who run PAP use it as a pool for campaign labour, propaganda vehicle and essentially a captive audience.

I am less interested as I do not think it is rocket science. The "natural" choice of those who are not strongly for the opposition would be the PAP and YP. You join with no barriers of worrying for anything. The word "opposition" has been tainted with jail terms, fines, bankruptcy, national disapproval etc.

Calvin Cheng's "criticism" wasn't even a criticism. Many had joined organisations in this manner. I once did so for a dog club then realise I couldn't commit. In this case, the YP clearly overreacted. Like you said it was treated like Starhub but how that dents the credibility of YP escapes me. The response dents the YP's credibility more.

It dents the credibility of both. Calvin for giving an answer that treats singaporeans as stupid. A more appropriate answer would be that he did not feel that YPAP was his cup of tea and he could have contributed in other ways.

You must think that signing up YPAP is like a walk in the park -follow friend, not much thinking, free drinks, chat etc.

As for Elaina - her response is no different to a born again christian from a new age church. Will beleive in anything that is told to her.

The response dents the YP's credibility more.

It dents the credibility of both. Calvin for giving an answer that treats singaporeans as stupid. A more appropriate answer would be that he did not feel that YPAP was his cup of tea and he could have contributed in other ways.

You must think that signing up YPAP is like a walk in the park -follow friend, not much thinking, free drinks, chat etc.

As for Elaina - her response is no different to a born again christian from a new age church. Will beleive in anything that is told to her.

I think that telling his feeling as it is may be read as a sign of political weakness or even naivety. However, it's at this stage of life we get to hear the truth, instead of "appropriate" answers. Later, when he starts to learn to give politicially correct and appropriate answers, then he'd better standby backup of more comeback statements when he's accused of "growing horns", "bending in", "blending in", "selling out" etc.

Do agree............

I think that telling his feeling as it is may be read as a sign of political weakness or even naivety. However, it's at this stage of life we get to hear the truth, instead of "appropriate" answers. Later, when he starts to learn to give politicially correct and appropriate answers, then he'd better standby backup of more comeback statements when he's accused of "growing horns", "bending in", "blending in", "selling out" etc.

Perspective

Depends on what is the cup of tea. I don't know the chap but it could be due to organisational culture and people or some PAP-related things he didn't like, or both.

Not surprised for there are some who sign up for parties (even opposition ones) in that manner but staying power is low, as perhaps in the case of this Calvin.

As for Elaina, agree.

wizard

PAP GERs not happy.

Why I attend so many meeting, function, talk so many things THEY on top like to hear but end up still here?

NMP just walk in like that...

Reason : This series of wayang they dun have role... Next one lah.. Director will call them..

Morale : AS long as they fight within themselve I am Ok as I deem NMP is still a PAP inside ..