• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Canadian PR

Time2Evacuate

I prefer warm, progressive thinking, helpful neighbours. But then I live in Edmonton. What do I know about Canadians right?

But you are certainly very correct about how it depends on the person. As the phrase goes, one man's poison is another man's food.

Exactly, which is what I have been trying to say.

Being realistic and upfront, I don't think one can say that most Singaporeans thinking of migrating can or are willing to put in that much time and effort and shoulder as much toughness as you. That includes myself, I am willing to admit I would not have gone as far as you did to make things work. No shame in admitting this. This is just a fact.

Actually, I would go as far as to say for most people, even those thinking about migrating, it is probably far easier to just stay in Singapore. I know this will bring condemnation from that fellow thinking I am a spy for the status quo, etc. But it is the truth.

So, I guess for the rest of us, my point is that people should know how tough it is going in, so they can prepare, or better yet, consider other alternatives that they are more able to deal with.

indig10

Indig10, don't bother liao lah. You want to live in Brampton meh? I also dowan!

I think Brampton is nice :-)

There's a nice "Cosy Cafe" near the intersection of Queen Street and Main Street. Used to go there for breakfast and the nice old Caucasian lady would serve really greasy peameal bacon, eggs, potatoes and toast. Coffee was wonderful there. Great homely feel and price was reasonable at about CAD4.99 before tax. It depends on where you stay and also how you deal with cultural differences. In my case, smiling first and saying hi or sorry usually brings out the best in the Indian and Pakistani people I encounter there, whether it's in the Second Cup opposite the Rose Theatre, or further away at Bramelea Shopping Mall. Everyone wants to be treated right and well, whether their expression says it or not, so start with myself being positive first.

Time2Evacuate

Hello brother [nayr69sg],

One individual posted the following, amongst his post(s) about you:
"So, for him to be able to pull it off (actually, I think he said he is still in the process of getting fully licensed, even after some years there, so that should tell you something about how hard it is) especially with a family, it really says lots about his determination. My hats off to him man. It is never easy, and for people in his profession, it is even tougher by miles and miles and miles."

If my memory serves me well, you received the documents re: permanent residence for Canada about 4 to 5 years ago, but you and your family have been in Edmonton, Alberta, for about 3 years.
You decided not to practise medicine, and within a very short time of arriving in Edmonton, you worked at a factory, and thereafter, went to work with some land development or land related company.
Recently (or was it last year?), you took the exams re: to be considered for a medical residency position.

With respect, for any individual to allege that after several years, you are still in the process of trying to be fully licensed, is untrue.

If I were you, I would defend vigorously, and rebut that individual.
Otherwise, you may choose to ignore the said allegation.

Hmmm, I seem to recall he said he is not fully licensed yet wah. He said he got residency requirement to fulfill still.

Oh, and I never said after "several years" I said after "some years".

Time2Evacuate

I think Brampton is nice :-)

There's a nice "Cosy Cafe" near the intersection of Queen Street and Main Street. Used to go there for breakfast and the nice old Caucasian lady would serve really greasy peameal bacon, eggs, potatoes and toast. Coffee was wonderful there. Great homely feel and price was reasonable at about CAD4.99 before tax. It depends on where you stay and also how you deal with cultural differences. In my case, smiling first and saying hi or sorry usually brings out the best in the Indian and Pakistani people I encounter there, whether it's in the Second Cup opposite the Rose Theatre, or further away at Bramelea Shopping Mall. Everyone wants to be treated right and well, whether their expression says it or not, so start with myself being positive first.

I don't know what alternative and parallel universe you are on.

If you think Brampton is nice, you should go get your head checked ASAP. No point talking to you man. You are a gone case already.

chupacabra

I think everyone got different views of Canada. But if I was in Finance I would definitely head for the states.

gsh

Good luck to you if you are heading to the States.

You and your kids will be left to pay through tax and inflation on the huge debts of >$16.3 T and off balance sheet liability of >$80 T which will someday has to be reckoned!

Many wealthy are leaving the US for this reason.

Time2Evacuate

Hello brother [nayr69sg],

One individual posted the following, amongst his post(s) about you:
"So, for him to be able to pull it off (actually, I think he said he is still in the process of getting fully licensed, even after some years there, so that should tell you something about how hard it is) especially with a family, it really says lots about his determination. My hats off to him man. It is never easy, and for people in his profession, it is even tougher by miles and miles and miles."

If my memory serves me well, you received the documents re: permanent residence for Canada about 4 to 5 years ago, but you and your family have been in Edmonton, Alberta, for about 3 years.
You decided not to practise medicine, and within a very short time of arriving in Edmonton, you worked at a factory, and thereafter, went to work with some land development or land related company.
Recently (or was it last year?), you took the exams re: to be considered for a medical residency position.

With respect, for any individual to allege that after several years, you are still in the process of trying to be fully licensed, is untrue.

If I were you, I would defend vigorously, and rebut that individual.
Otherwise, you may choose to ignore the said allegation.

Hi Nay69sg,

I hope you can please clarify this.

I don't like how I am now being accused of making untrue allegations about you.

Hope you can clarify this so that, IF what this Charlie69 person said about me is not true, this Charlie69 person can man up and apologize to me and also so that I don't have to call a lawyer to sue this Charlie69 person for defaming me.

With regards to medicine, I got accepted to a position in family medicine residency. That's the toughest step. I still need to complete a final 3 month externship followed by a 2 year residency, and 2 more exams to get full licensure. I have met several other IMG doctors trying as well. It is tough. Many exams, interviews, personal statements to write, reference letters to obtain etc etc.

mayliewwan

Sobeys is more expensive . Try shopping at Superstore /Loblaws which has lower prices. Nayr69sg once berated me for shopping at T&T whereas Chinatown stores offer cheaper prices

Longo's or Sobeys to shop? They charge C$7 for a very small strip of uncooked chicken breast.

QUOTE]

Beaver

Wow, haven't seen such activity on this thread for a while.

Everyone's entitled to their opinions, but may I suggest some civility.

Canada's a great place for some, a lousy place for others. I've seen some Singaporeans come here and try very hard to make it work, but in the end had to leave and go back because things didn't work out. Well, they tried it out for themselves and didn't rely on what others told them or keep having the "what if" thought in their mind.

I will usually see the "honeymoon" period when they first arrive and everything is fresh and "better". Then, the reality of the taxes, lack of jobs, and high cost of living will set in after about a year and things ain't that rosy after all.

I agree with those who say that immigration isn't for everyone. And you'd better be prepared to dig deep and be tenacious if you want to make it work. There are success stories and failures.

At the end of the day, every place has its pros and cons. It's entirely subjective and comparisons have little meaning. Perhaps it's a trait zapped into our Singaporean DNA to always want to compare, be ranked, to not lose out. To each his own.

Nayr69sg, congratulations on getting your residency. I'm planning to visit Calgary and Edmonton this summer to see your beautiful city and province.

mayliewwan

Butchers working at angmohs supermarket need certificate. From NAIT website, avg starting salary for retail meat cutters is $31000. Not sure how much Singapore butchers salary or if they need certificate. let alone those at wet market

Time2Evacuate

Sobeys is more expensive . Try shopping at Superstore /Loblaws which has lower prices. Nayr69sg once berated me for shopping at T&T whereas Chinatown stores offer cheaper prices

Longo's or Sobeys to shop? They charge C$7 for a very small strip of uncooked chicken breast.

QUOTE]

T&T cleaner mah. Chinatown shops don't feel clean.

Anyway, I suppose if one does not buy anything other than food, Canada would be tolerable. Ideal is to be able to go US to shop and bring back items regularly. That is why you see many Americans in border towns complaining about rude Canadian shoppers scrambling and buying up all the milk to bring back to Canada. Prices are that ridiculously high for that to actually happen.

chupacabra

Butcher pay 31k after tax or before tax? In peesai much less la. About 1.8k for experience butcher. No need cert. Serial killers also can be butchers in peesai.

maozedong

Dear Time2Evacuate

I think you are over sensitive with regards to "passive-aggressive" discrimination. I know some true blue Englishmen who visited both USA and Canada and shared the same views as you - they found the Canadians reserved, aloof and even cold. And they found Americans friendly and open. So this "passive-aggressive discrimination" is also experienced by White foreigners. By nature, Canadians are more reserved. Maybe it's got to do with the climate. People in warmer climates tend to be friendlier? In a cold environment, you probably want to save energy by talking less.

Several weeks in the South and Mid West isn't enough to experience the life there. I've had Asian friends working there who told me that the red necks asked them "why are you here" in an unfriendly manner.

Again, I want to say - go to places with large minority population if you don't want discrimination. Same applies to the USA. In some big cities in USA, the Whites are less than 50% - and so it is difficult for them to discriminate.

Also, your tax calculations do not factor in the social benefits. Let me reiterate : in USA, only the very poor with no money in their bank accounts get any benefits. Obamacare is not free healthcare like in Canada. People become bankrupt in the USA because of medical expenses when they do not have health insurance. Health insurance is very very expensive. Basic plan can start at $500 per month. And if you have pre-condition, the insurance company doesn't even want your business. Not very optimistic about Obamacare. Things change very fast in the USA. Who knows, Obamacare may get overturned one day. The average American is a lot less socialistic in his thinking than the Canadian.

I agree that it is probably easier to make a decent living and to make it big in the USA than in Canada. But there is really not much of a safety net in USA.

Hi,

A couple of points:

1. I have been to the US Midwest as well the US South, but only stayed in the South for several weeks (Florida/Miami and Georgia/Atlanta). The US Midwest "passiveness" or "Midwest Nice" is DIFFERENT from the passive aggressiveness in Canada. In the Midwest, people are OPEN and NICE to you, regardless of your race or background. They are super-friendly and will socialize with you and make friends with you. ...

2. Canadian's EFFECTIVE income tax rate is higher than the US if one takes into account the tax brackets. ....

3. True about there being more minorities in Canada and concentrated in few major cities. But I disagree with your point about going to the major cities to avoid discrimination, because it is the opposite of what should be done. The discrimination against non-ang moh immigrants may be more severe in the major cities precisely because there are more minorities there. ....

That is why I always said, try damn bloody hard to go US. Consider Canada only if you run out of options. Maybe Canada is better than AU, but it depends on your personality (ie whether you can deal with active aggressive people better or passive aggressive people better).

Time2Evacuate

Dear Time2Evacuate

I think you are over sensitive with regards to "passive-aggressive" discrimination. I know some true blue Englishmen who visited both USA and Canada and shared the same views as you - they found the Canadians reserved, aloof and even cold. And they found Americans friendly and open. So this "passive-aggressive discrimination" is also experienced by White foreigners. By nature, Canadians are more reserved. Maybe it's got to do with the climate. People in warmer climates tend to be friendlier? In a cold environment, you probably want to save energy by talking less.

Several weeks in the South and Mid West isn't enough to experience the life there. I've had Asian friends working there who told me that the red necks asked them "why are you here" in an unfriendly manner.

Again, I want to say - go to places with large minority population if you don't want discrimination. Same applies to the USA. In some big cities in USA, the Whites are less than 50% - and so it is difficult for them to discriminate.

Also, your tax calculations do not factor in the social benefits. Let me reiterate : in USA, only the very poor with no money in their bank accounts get any benefits. Obamacare is not free healthcare like in Canada. People become bankrupt in the USA because of medical expenses when they do not have health insurance. Health insurance is very very expensive. Basic plan can start at $500 per month. And if you have pre-condition, the insurance company doesn't even want your business. Not very optimistic about Obamacare. Things change very fast in the USA. Who knows, Obamacare may get overturned one day. The average American is a lot less socialistic in his thinking than the Canadian.

I agree that it is probably easier to make a decent living and to make it big in the USA than in Canada. But there is really not much of a safety net in USA.

Don't be so sure.

I actually went to Chicago for school for a couple of years, so I know all about the midwest culture. People there are nice and I enjoyed my time there. There were some backstabbing, yes, but generally, people are open and friendly.

If the Englishmen you talked about actually observed the same passive aggressiveness as I did, then what is there more to say? It is a real problem in the Canadian social scene and also workplace, at least as far as ON/T.O. goes. I would agree with you that it may be a general cultural trait and is not always directed at minorities only. But I would also say with some degree of confidence that it is often more severe when directed at minorities (ie people not of Euro ethnicity), at least based on what I saw.

I guess it depends on which part you are in. I know in the eastern coastal provinces, it is not a problem at all.

You made a very good point about not much social safety net in US. But how is that relevant to the case of Singaporeans trying to migrate out of SG?

Let's face it: most Singaporeans trying to migrate out of SG are likely not the type seeking to use the social safety net anyway. More likely than not, they tend to be educated, relatively young and white-collared and seeking career development. So, I think it is fair to say that for most such people, Canada is not a good place to go, unless they don't mind doing blue-collar jobs.

Again, the other situation where I can see Canada working out to be a good destination is when one sells off property in Singapore at the current high price and then liquidate everything to move to Canada for retirement or semi retirement. You don't need to work, so the limited availability of jobs for immigrants does not impact you, and you get to enjoy the free health care, and also relatively cheap landed property prices. This would be a very good scenario, specially if one move out far far east to the coastal places (PEI, NS etc).

Wow, haven't seen such activity on this thread for a while.

Everyone's entitled to their opinions, but may I suggest some civility.

Canada's a great place for some, a lousy place for others. I've seen some Singaporeans come here and try very hard to make it work, but in the end had to leave and go back because things didn't work out. Well, they tried it out for themselves and didn't rely on what others told them or keep having the "what if" thought in their mind.

I will usually see the "honeymoon" period when they first arrive and everything is fresh and "better". Then, the reality of the taxes, lack of jobs, and high cost of living will set in after about a year and things ain't that rosy after all.

I agree with those who say that immigration isn't for everyone. And you'd better be prepared to dig deep and be tenacious if you want to make it work. There are success stories and failures.

At the end of the day, every place has its pros and cons. It's entirely subjective and comparisons have little meaning. Perhaps it's a trait zapped into our Singaporean DNA to always want to compare, be ranked, to not lose out. To each his own.

Nayr69sg, congratulations on getting your residency. I'm planning to visit Calgary and Edmonton this summer to see your beautiful city and province.

I find it funny that some have claimed that there many unsuccessful Sporeans going back to Spore:smile: I can truthfully say that I have never seen any of my ex-Sporeans friends who have moved to Canada returning to Spore. Had a neighbour who's kids did return. However they came back as Canadians & they were in the tourism line & wanted more work experience.

Just think about it. Those that are here know that it is very difficult to survive in Spore. There is ageism. The cost of living here is high & there is no end to the cheap foreigners coming to Spore. If you are in Canada your children get all sorts of benefits. Even if you are earning minimum wage it's better than what you have in Spore. Don't forget that your families health care will be taken care because poor people don't have to pay premiums. It's FREE.

After 5 years time you can apply for Canadian citizen then you can get their hands on their own CPF. Just imagine what you can do with all that $$$.

Canada is a big place & if anyone really has trouble finding a job they can always move to the other provinces right:confused: As a Canadian you are also allowed to work in the US. So why would anyone want to return to Spore:confused: