• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MFA warns Sinkies not to go Thailand

huahero

All those thinking of going up north for fun can forget about it!

Singapore’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) says Singaporeans who do not have a pressing need to travel to Bangkok are advised to postpone their travel plans to a later date.

This follows the declaration of a state of emergency in the Thai capital on Tuesday morning.

Singaporeans intending to travel to Thailand should closely monitor news developments there, says the MFA.

Should they decide to travel, they are advised to register with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs at its website at www.mfa.gov.sg.

A ministry’s spokesman says this would enable it and the Embassy in Bangkok to contact Singaporeans and render them the necessary consular assistance in case of emergencies.

When in Bangkok, Singaporeans are advised to avoid areas where there is a risk of disturbance, like the Government House.

They should also take the necessary precautions for their personal safety.

The MFA stresses that during this period of uncertainty, Singaporeans are advised to monitor the local news diligently and be prepared to face inconveniences in their travel. They are advised to buy comprehensive medical and travel insurance.

Should Singaporeans require assistance, they can contact the Singapore Embassy in Bangkok or the MFA Duty Officer.

The telephone number in Bangkok is 001—66—(81) 844—3580, while the Singapore numbers are 6379 8800 or 6379 8855.

The MFA says that as a close friend of Thailand, Singapore has been following the recent political developments there with sadness and concern.

Responding to media queries, an MFA spokesman says Singapore hopes all parties will respect the law and exercise utmost restraint to enable normalcy to be restored as soon as possible. :(

BlueCat

so now,the situation is going to get worse.
the chance of a coup is getting nearer and nearer.

Wobble

just heard...Hat Yai also in trouble with protesters running onto the runway...

guess GL Cat 50 will have more business liao...

Singapore hopes all parties will respect the law and exercise utmost restraint to enable normalcy to be restored as soon as possible.

You mean respect the law blindly?

kuntakinte

Woah.... I din know STPB and MFA are in cahoot !!

So, what will they do next ? Promote The Flyer as the next probable destination for these holiday makers to stay put in Singapore ??

Adidas

Prime Minister Samak Sundaravej imposed a state of emergency in Bangkok on Tuesday morning. It was invoked under the Executive Decree for National Administration under an Emergency Situation. It is to remain in effect until Nov 30.
The order came after serious clashes between protesters of the People’s Alliance for Democracy (PAD) and the United Front for Democracy against Dictatorship of Thailand (UDDT) that left at least one person killed and about 40 injured.

Under the prime minister’s order, Army Chief Gen Anupong Paojinda, in his capacity as deputy director of the Internal Security Operations Command (ISOC), has been appointed chairman of a committee for enforcement of the state of emergency and First Army commander Lt-Gen Prayuth Chan-ocha and Police Chief Gen Patcharawat Wongsuwan his deputies.

The prime minister also issued another order prohibiting assembly of more than five people, publication of news which may cause panic or distort facts affecting law and order, and use of buildings or vehicles as specified by the army chief. People are subject to be moved out of certain areas as ordered by the army chief.

In a related development, army deputy spokesman, said Gen Anupong, chief enforcer of the emergency decree, would hold an urgent meeting of agencies concerned at the Army Headquarters at 10 am.

Those to attend the meeting include Deputy Prime Minister and Interior Minister Kowit Watana, Police Chief Phatcharawat and First Army commander Lt Gen Prayuth.

this is the reason,why MFA advised SGP not to go there.

silverfox@

You mean respect the law blindly?

You are just picking certain phrases and try to voice your displeasure over singapore. Why can't discuss the thread in a non sarcastic manner?
There are tonnes of singapore displeasure threads all around, but sad to say you belong to those category who loves to pick bones from eggs. Even if no bones, you will say its a duck's egg when the egg actually came from a chicken

We don't need such MFA advisory. We can see for ourselves. George Yeo is redundant and should be retrenched. What a silly template statement.

You are just picking certain phrases and try to voice your displeasure over singapore. Why can't discuss the thread in a non sarcastic manner?
There are tonnes of singapore displeasure threads all around, but sad to say you belong to those category who loves to pick bones from eggs. Even if no bones, you will say its a duck's egg when the egg actually came from a chicken

If you are not happy with how i post, then why the hell you wanna read it.

We don't need such MFA advisory. We can see for ourselves. George Yeo is redundant and should be retrenched. What a silly template statement.

Well said, they still have the notion that humans in that 640 sqkm land still need their command and golden decree to get around a thing called life.

hearthard

What is the point of having elections where any government can be blackmailed by a demonstration? What Thailand needs now is an autocratic government, the rule of an iron fist... LKY will vouch to that...

demostration will not happen if the leader is of the finest character: honest, pure serving and love the people. Samuk is sure non of those as well as thaksin.

zack123

demostration will not happen if the leader is of the finest character: honest, pure serving and love the people. Samuk is sure non of those as well as thaksin.

Like that Spore is made up of leaders with finest character since when given the chance to demonstrate, the 1st one to do so is a lame bunch of pple demonstrating against violence to maids? Is that Singapore's most critical issue?

Dunga

Thailand going to impose curfew soon? Military state of emergency? :rolleyes:

Looks like jialat liao. Going to have bloodshed like Tianamen Square in 1989. :eek:

Like that Spore is made up of leaders with finest character since when given the chance to demonstrate, the 1st one to do so is a lame bunch of pple demonstrating against violence to maids? Is that Singapore's most critical issue?

You cannot use Singapore as an example, people who truly demonstrate are of non-sinkie character. Sinkie doesn't even know what to vote, not to talk about demonstration.

can't stand being among sinkies?? give up pink IC lah..:biggrin:

looking forward to the day it happens..:biggrin:

yinyang

Flawed logic, on what drives noise level up north.
Ramseth said:
Isn't this SOP? Hope this didn't sour up your plans over at soi eric/bangla. On the bright side, your bravery maybe rewarded with bargains on local delights?:p:biggrin:

My buddy more interested in Phuket Bangla Soi Crocodile. :wink:

I more interested in Bangkok Sukhumvit Soi Nana. :smile:

Anyway, mai pen rai khrap. Demo or coup, common in Thailand. If there's no demo or coup, then we worry. :biggrin: