• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mediacorpse: Sg Children Can Appreciate Rape Scenes

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>MediaCorp explains rationale behind rape and torture scenes
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I REFER to last Saturday's letter by Ms Jennifer Tay, 'Why is there a spike in rape and torture scenes in local TV drama', and thank her for her feedback.
Channel 8 is one of our mass entertainment television channels, and we are aware of the need to ensure our programmes are suitable for family viewing. While we maintain high programming standards for content scheduled in accessible time slots, there is also a need for the programmes to strike a realistic chord in their story-telling, and be able to engage viewers with relatable content.
Sexual and violent crimes are topics that are reported frequently in the newspapers. However, they are not a key ingredient in our local programme content. In cases where the theme of rape or violence is dealt with, we take extreme care in depicting them to ensure they are presented with minimal exposure, so the audience can understand the story while minimising the impact on the younger audience.
We believe children who are old enough to understand prime-time dramas will be able to appreciate the strong moral fibre of the storylines and plots, and suitably process the negativity and immorality of any vicious crime, including sexual crimes on innocent victims.
Paul Chan
Vice-President
Network Programming and Promotions, Channel 8
MediaCorp TV

denzuko1

"We believe children who are old enough to understand prime-time dramas will be able to appreciate the strong moral fibre of the storylines and plots, and suitably process the negativity and immorality of any vicious crime, including sexual crimes on innocent victims."

Ur....How old should the children be?

annexa

These are the same people who advertise horror movies during prime time on Channel 8 and Channel U and Channel 5.

If the young children can be allowed to be scared by horror movie adverts during prime time, rape scenes are nothing.

Microsoft

makapaaa;261788We believe children who are old enough to understand prime-time dramas will be able to appreciate the strong moral fibre of the storylines and plots said:
Yesterday me n my peng yu did a test. Playback a rape scene to his son then jus for study purpose, we touch his kukucheow... Wat piang!! Rock hard man!! Mr Chan lidat how ar??

And... by the way... if ur family name is chan... neber call urself paul lah...:wink::biggrin::p

Yesterday me n my peng yu did a test. Playback a rape scene to his son then jus for study purpose, we touch his kukucheow... Wat piang!! Rock hard man!! Mr Chan lidat how ar??

And... by the way... if ur family name is chan... neber call urself paul lah...:wink::biggrin::p
how o is his son? ...

either way, iz gay or paedophile ... :eek:

Microsoft

Be Carefull eh, must not do this too many times, or you may become gay!:biggrin:

Dun thnk so... psst... we oso watch until steam staem after the show go geylang kio kway...:biggrin::biggrin:

how o is his son? ...

either way, iz gay or paedophile ... :eek:

9 yrs old... oi got diff meh?? Doesn't matter 9 yrs old or 40 yrs old we all watch until steam steam leh...:biggrin::p

angry_one

Yippee. Can we have porn channels now? Lots of rape scenes, SM scenes, domination scenes, coerced sex scenes. I'm sure all sinkees appreciate the underlying moral lessons behind such films.

1. it is "surprising" that feminist mentor, old thio is "silent" on this.
2. her core values, networking and stuffs should come into play, big time with mediacorpse on moral, family values etc.
3. probably, could join the channel as its leading creative director or what.

fengshuisifu

need to sack the guy....want to justify corrupted show???

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>MediaCorp explains rationale behind rape and torture scenes
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I REFER to last Saturday's letter by Ms Jennifer Tay, 'Why is there a spike in rape and torture scenes in local TV drama', and thank her for her feedback.
Channel 8 is one of our mass entertainment television channels, and we are aware of the need to ensure our programmes are suitable for family viewing. While we maintain high programming standards for content scheduled in accessible time slots, there is also a need for the programmes to strike a realistic chord in their story-telling, and be able to engage viewers with relatable content.
Sexual and violent crimes are topics that are reported frequently in the newspapers. However, they are not a key ingredient in our local programme content. In cases where the theme of rape or violence is dealt with, we take extreme care in depicting them to ensure they are presented with minimal exposure, so the audience can understand the story while minimising the impact on the younger audience.
We believe children who are old enough to understand prime-time dramas will be able to appreciate the strong moral fibre of the storylines and plots, and suitably process the negativity and immorality of any vicious crime, including sexual crimes on innocent victims.
Paul Chan
Vice-President
Network Programming and Promotions, Channel 8
MediaCorp TV

TeeKee

So we pay TV license so that we can frequently see women kena rape infront of us?

Aren't there any others topics to explore?

Jabba

show barney...spongebob...sesame street...teletubby on prime time tv...educational for your kids and entertaining for u...but dun whine when ur kid grows up to be a bend boy...

metalslug

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/_GXB9dbIRFI&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/_GXB9dbIRFI&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

coolguy

frankly speaking, the rape scene is no big woohaa.
It looks so fake and censored.
you are better off watching Japan AV.