• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Gilbert says life in China is shiok, in Singapore so stressful

besotted

Home > ST Forum > Online Story

Help Singaporeans stay home by helping the over-40s

I REFER to last Saturday's report, 'Migrating Singaporeans'.

I live in Sydney and feel that Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong's speech needed a response from those who live abroad.

Living and working abroad for two years now, let me say it is very different from working at home.

I worked in China from 2007 to 2008 and found the experience liberating. Although the work must be done, it is not the same as in Singapore where it is often stressful and taxing. Abroad, there is still life after work.

The same cannot be said for home. Many labour long hours at work and suffer the consequences of not spending enough time with their loved ones. Also, lax labour laws that favour employers do not give workers enough say about their job scope.

It is no secret that the lifestyle one leads at home is not very balanced and, after a while, one begins to look for a better place to spend one's life. Many people I know left Singapore in search of greener pastures, both in terms of a more balanced lifestyle and better career opportunities.

It is also well known that Singapore employers are biased against older workers, preferring them to be below 40 years old. The influx of foreign workers competing for employment has also given Singaporeans an added incentive to search for work abroad. The job market in the past few years has become an employer's market, pushing many more Singaporeans to look at alternatives.

I was unemployed for close to 18 months during the Sars period and I began to look earnestly for an alternative place to live and work - one that does not discriminate against age.

I realise that life will be very difficult for someone who is over 40 and unskilled. My family took the plunge last year when we were offered a four-year work visa in Australia and we have never looked back. Many at home envy our so-called second chance at a life - abroad.

Although I appreciate SM Goh's intention to try to help Singaporeans settle in their own country after graduation, I am afraid his efforts will be in vain unless employment opportunities improve, especially for those over 40. We also need to work less and play more.

Gilbert Goh

angie II

2vnjvc6.jpg

Where is the flag of China & Sinkiepoor???

A communist state like China & Singapore.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Communist_state

In political science, a Communist state is a state with a form of government characterized by single-party rule of a Communist party and a professed allegiance to a communist ideology as the guiding principle of the state. Communist states may have several legal political parties, but the Communist party is usually granted a special or dominant role in government, often by statute or under the constitution. Consequently, the institutions of the state and of the Communist party become intimately entwined, such as in the development of parallel institutions.
While almost all claim lineage to Marxist thought, there are many varieties of Communist states, with indigenous adaptions. For Marxist-Leninists, the state and the Communist Party claim to act in accordance with the wishes of the industrial working class; for Maoists, the state and party claim to act in accordance to the peasantry. Under Deng Xiaoping, the People's Republic of China proclaimed a policy of "socialism with Chinese characteristics." In most Communist states, governments assert that they represent the democratic dictatorship of the proletariat.
Most Communist states adopted planned economies. However, there are exceptions: The Soviet Union during the 1920s and Yugoslavia after World War II allowed limited markets and a degree of worker self-management, while China and Vietnam have introduced far-reaching market reforms since the 1980s.

Beshitted, stop s88king your masters cocks. :eek:

cass888

Stop labelling people who don't share your point of view. He's probably an employer himself or a manger who, like many of us, are so pissed with the world-owes-us-a-living attitude of people like you and is grateful (in fact he is CLAMOURING for more) for the foreigners who are much more hungry than people like you.

Beshitted, stop s88king your masters cocks. :eek:.

angie II

My mother chao chee bye, i should have STFU & retire peacefully since i have collected my pension from my masters
, all thanks to balls-less sinkies.
:p

xp0brt.jpg

Go ahead cass888, click on the button at the top right corner, thats where the fun begins! :rolleyes: :biggrin:

angie II

My mother CCB, since cyberspace is anonymity for the one behind the comp., w/o proof i should not have concluded that angie II is not self employed & are like most the rest here who KPKB, but then again like all PAPee IB doggies i have a job to do here. :p

.............. :eek:

mercbenz

I agree that there is no life after work in SG, it is incredibly boring, the co-workers are incredibly boring.

After work, I would normally ask guys girls to go out, and most say "Nah, go home and rest". Then call up old friends, and they say "Nah, tired after working the whole day". It is one island filled with lethargic workers!

Life was not like that when back in HK/Taipei, life after work was GREAT! Whether eating out or KTV fun, the people there (Singaporean included), have much more energy and capacity for fun.

Char_Azn

U earn SG salary and live in China, U can quite literally live like a King, that probably helps to relieve a lot of stress. But seriously, the working environment isnt that different from SG.

mercbenz

True, working life in a china office can be every bit as hectic and stressful, but people there have the energy to have some fun after work.

It is no secret that the lifestyle one leads at home is not very balanced and, after a while, one begins to look for a better place to spend one's life. Many people I know left Singapore in search of greener pastures, both in terms of a more balanced lifestyle and better career opportunities.

You are damn right, however those losers cannot just face and swallow the truth.

The same cannot be said for home. Many labour long hours at work and suffer the consequences of not spending enough time with their loved ones. Also, lax labour laws that favour employers do not give workers enough say about their job scope.

When you have a sinkie coward to make a law, the law is naturally a coward. it fits the logic.

Char_Azn

True, working life in a china office can be every bit as hectic and stressful, but people there have the energy to have some fun after work.

Yeap, it sometime depends on the individual mindset and also their upbringing. Take Japan for example, the vast majority of my Japanese colleagues are always still around in office even when I have to do OT. And we're an hour ahead of them. Even the American boss sent there is pressured to work late because everyone else is working late.

Not to mention many of them have to travel at least an hour or 2 via public transport to/from work. Yet everyday after work they still have the energy to go out or accompany foreign colleagues like myself for dinner or leisure. As far as I know, they probably have the most stressful work environment on the face of the earth yet they continue to work hard and play hard

edzhang9

hI Gibert Goh

It is interesting reading your posting. I am now in the similiar position as you were 4 years ago. Have been seeking employment in SIngapore for the past 3 years but in vain . I was a General Manager with MNC for the past 30 years opt for early retirement when the department closed due Asian Financial crisis.
Could you help me to seek employment overseas.

Thanks regards

Asychee

hI Gibert Goh

It is interesting reading your posting. I am now in the similiar position as you were 4 years ago. Have been seeking employment in SIngapore for the past 3 years but in vain . I was a General Manager with MNC for the past 30 years opt for early retirement when the department closed due Asian Financial crisis.
Could you help me to seek employment overseas.

Thanks regards

I started working overseas more than 20 years ago. I have migrated 3 years ago. I would suggest you take stock of your SWOT to find out where your strength is. Be a big fish in a small pond - pm me i run my own recruitment company in Alberta, Canada.

See? those who get out of sinkieland are of Alpha Male stock, Our unsinkified friend here owns a company. What does sinkie owns? OH yes, they own tons of complaints.