• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dual Citizenship / NS Obligations / HDB Flats and Migration

tate

This means the person needs to carry both passports - Singapore passport to enter/exit Singapore and Australian passport to enter Australia (or show to airline staff).

The caveat to this is if the person is selected for random checks when clearing customs and customs find 2 passports for this person, the cat is out of the bag...

Do they have the right to search you when exiting the country?

More likely when entering Singapore than exiting Singapore. They may call you up for random check even if you go to the green lane.

KGhq7wg.jpg

More likely when entering Singapore than exiting Singapore. They may call you up for random check even if you go to the green lane.

And the checks are just cursory unless they have received a tip of a major smuggling attempt for that day.

tate

If there is a smuggling tip that day, they would check everyone. As for random checking, when they do select me for random checking, they will check everything. Basically, they are looking for:

1) undeclared or under declare cigarettes or tobacco products
2) exceed allowable alcohol limit
3) porn dvds
4) prohibited items such as air guns, swords, etc
5) Goods exceeding the permissible GST tax relief (48 hours or more - S$600, Less than 48 hours - S$150)
(Holders of a work permit, employment pass, student pass, dependent pass NOT eligible for GST relief)

If there is a smuggling tip that day, they would check everyone. As for random checking, when they do select me for random checking, they will check everything. Basically, they are looking for:

3) porn dvds
5) Goods exceeding the permissible GST tax relief (48 hours or more - S$600, Less than 48 hours - S$150)
(Holders of a work permit, employment pass, student pass, dependent pass NOT eligible for GST relief)

Even if they do a thorough check, they won't ask to see your travel wallet which would contain your other passport. Or if you keep your other passport in your pocket, they won't ask you to empty your pocket.

tate

3) porn dvds

Even if they do a thorough check, they won't ask to see your travel wallet which would contain your other passport. Or if you keep your other passport in your pocket, they won't ask you to empty your pocket.

Yeah, for sure. They are not looking a second passport but the 5 items I listed. Sometimes things just happened for people.. especially those that show nervousness.. when they detect that, they will scrutinize that person.. this is when a person will get caught.

kukubird58

Scroobal is both wrong and correct. Wrong because dual citizenship is not allowed in Singapore. Correct because dual citizenship exists for certain scenarios.

A Singaporean cannot apply for citizenship in another country and have dual citizenship. Singapore requires the Singaporean to renounce Singapore citizenship if the person wants to have citizenship of another country.

Dual citizenship for Singaporeans occurs for children of Singaporean citizens born overseas. This child, for example born in USA, has dual citizenship, both USA and Singapore citizenship. The child can keep both citizenship until he/she reaches 21 years old, at this time the child needs to decide if which citizenship he/she wants to have. He/she cannot have both citizenship, must renounce one of the citizenship.
hahaha...thank you for your post and clarifications....
scroobal was lying thru his teeth......the issue was always with those above 21yo...
as usual, his running dogs will come in and add spice and try to propagate untruths and mislead other forummers.

neddy

You will still need to show your foreign passport to the airline, don't you?
If you fly SIA, won't the check-in staff squeal on you?

SIA counter staff will be more relieved if you show that you have valid entry visa. Otherwise, they will be calling the destination country for checks, esp if the PR visa in your SG pp is expired. Outside office hours, Aus side is very slow in responding.Eventually, they will inform SIA that the passenger either need a RRV or that he/she is now a citizen of Aus.

Why do SIA want to play immigration officer and report you. Too free?

Find a FT chick to process your boarding helps

kingrant

The person I heard from was talking about her children who were born in Singapore, migrated to Australia after NS and took up citizenship there, and kept two passports.

A Singaporean cannot apply for citizenship in another country and have dual citizenship. Singapore requires the Singaporean to renounce Singapore citizenship if the person wants to have citizenship of another country.

Ozfamily

Hi Scroobal,
3 year old son- too early to inform CPMB ?
he migrated with family all PRs at 2 years old and will stay on till Oz Citizenship in 3 years time
any harm in informing CMPB early since we are all in OZ now rather than wait till circumstances change later?
Cos one of the parent may go back to Singapore cos of sick parents for some time soon....
So wanted to inform CMPB early ( lest they check and find out that one parent has not "migrated tog" or gone back to SG!)

Ozfamily

Should I renew my Singapore passport just before taking up Oz citizenship,so I have a refreshed 5 years validity?
However, once that SG passport expires, does it mean I can't renew, since I can't make a false declaration on collection?
Thereafter, We are not supposed to enter Singapore using a foreign passport instead of a Singaporean passport right?
Gotta declare if we have used a different passport before.

Ozfamily

Hi Scroobal
I saw two cases ( I think emerald and Stan2012) who followed your rules but whose sons were still liable for NS on application and appeal. Could you comment why those cases fail to get waiver from NS despite meeting the age criteria?
Thanks a lot Sir and wishing you good health !

Scroobal is missing in action or is using another nick. You might have to wait a while before you get an answer to your question.

Ozfamily

Thanks Leong Sam for your post! I practically read every post on this thread over two days!
How do you compare living in NZ compared with Melbourne?
I am frustrated as the SG govt opted out of getting my profession on a fast track recognition in OZ. ( when OZ offered this to SG tog with other first world countries)
Then I found out its easier to break into the profession in Oz as a non-resident than a Permanent resident.
Lots of red tape. But guess I have to persist.

koala88

I am frustrated as the SG govt opted out of getting my profession on a fast track recognition in OZ. ( when OZ offered this to SG tog with other first world countries)

Then I found out its easier to break into the profession in Oz as a non-resident than a Permanent resident.

Bro, what is your profession?

Thought it is easier to get a job here as a PR? Foreigners have more problems getting hired here in Oz as employers would need to apply visa.

koala88

Hi Scroobal
I saw two cases ( I think emerald and Stan2012) who followed your rules but whose sons were still liable for NS on application and appeal. Could you comment why those cases fail to get waiver from NS despite meeting the age criteria?
Thanks a lot Sir and wishing you good health !

Aiyoh, please take a spoonful of salt with what you read here. Don't believe everything mentioned here as gospel truth including this posting of mine.

And please don't argue with Scroobal.

Just remember:

1. Get your son out before the cut off age or whatever applicable age and don't come back until his application to "defer NS until age 21 pending renounciation of SG citizenship" has been successfully been approved. If ever he needs to come back, please get him a foreign passport. Please check it yourself the actual cut off date.

2. NEVER get your son travel on SG passport after that cut off age. As travelling on SG passport is deemed to have enjoyed the benefits of being a SG citizen even though your son may have spent 99% of his time on some foreign land after he left SG.

3. NEVER renew his passport once it expired. Once you renew, it for him it is as good as your son is enjoying the benefits too.

For that few days of travelling on a SG passport (because of my mom's passing), my son has to serve his NS even though he left SG for good when he was in Primary 4. That is how unforgiving SG government is. Just have to be very careful with this procedures. To make things worse, Mindef has never been open and transparent about it.

Write to them and ask Mindef about that "Deferment of NS until age 21 pending renounciation of SG citizenship" procedure and post what they come back with okay?

koala88

Reading this webpage makes my blood boils.

http://www.guidemesingapore.com/relocation/citizenship/renouncing-singapore-citizenship

If the declaration is made by a person subject to the Enlistment Act unless he has:

1.Discharged his liability for full-time service under Section 12 of the Act
2.Rendered at least 3 years of service under Section 13 of the Act in lieu of such full-time service
3.Complied with such conditions as may be determined by the Government

Why SG PRs & SG newly minted shitizen have such special privileges???

Sinkies deserved to be screwed good and proper if the PAP returned to power in 2016.

And please don't argue with Scroobal.

1st, thanks for the contibution. we need more with real experience and true cases to contribute to this folder, rather than it being monopolized and "authorized" by one voice which is based mainly on hearsay, scroobal.

2nd, it is precisely this attitude of "don't argue with scroobal" (because he's the authority and has the final word) that makes so many puke and leave this folder which render this folder a ghost town.

the folder can only thrive if we have healthy, helpful presentation of facts and cases here. there are no clear cut "authoritative" answers (because there are none) and it takes a whole village to provide experience and cases for others to learn from. the sg law and associated rules and regulations are never clear and precise on this subject.

for one to claim that he is the authority, has the final say, and constantly thumbs down others who produce factual evidence and personal experience that contradict what he claims says a lot about the character. he is nothing more than a hypocritical troll pretending to do good by dishing regurgitated, plagiarized advice to novices yet gets defensive when challenged.

the usefulness of this folder is destroyed by a single want-to-take-100%-control ego, but can be redeemed if more folks with experience and cases contribute without fear of retribution by scroobal and his clones.

Thanks Leong Sam for your post! I practically read every post on this thread over two days!
How do you compare living in NZ compared with Melbourne?
Lots of red tape. But guess I have to persist.

Every city and every country has its pros and cons. No place is Utopia where everything is to your liking. :p

Melbourne is a bigger city and there is more choice of food and entertainment. However it suffers from the usual problems of congestion, high parking charges, expensive real estate etc.

Auckland is a backwater compered to Melbourne but I love the weather here because is never too hot or too cold. Lowest day time temperatures are 10 degC and highest about 25degC. Melbourne is scorching hot in summer with 42degC temperatures.

NZ is ultimately my choice at this stage of my life. The low population density is what I like most about it. Lots of open spaces and very little congestion except during peak hours in Auckland. Lots of free parking and great Cafes. However, the government here is even worse than the Singapore government.

koala88

NZ is ultimately my choice at this stage of my life. The low population density is what I like most about it. Lots of open spaces and very little congestion except during peak hours in Auckland. Lots of free parking and great Cafes. However, the government here is even worse than the Singapore government.

Let me guess... you have problem sleeping every night? You need to count sheep? Ha ha..

There is no utopia. At the end of the day, on the overall balance, NZ is the place you choose to stay.

For all the "good" SG government, you choose to avoid it. I see your point.