• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dual Citizenship / NS Obligations / HDB Flats and Migration

“I am a Canadian,
a free Canadian,
free to speak without fear,
free to worship in my own way,
free to stand for what I think right,
free to oppose what I believe wrong,
or free to choose those
who shall govern my country.
This heritage of freedom
I pledge to uphold
for myself and all mankind.”

— John Diefenbaker
13th Prime Minister of Canada
June 21, 1957 – April 22, 1963

Oh by the way, Diefenbaker was a progressive conservative, which no longer exists today according to living-in-Singapore winnipegjets. So maybe those words from Diefenbaker cuts no ice with winnipegjets. It is winnipegjets' way or the highway. To me that's very "Singaporean mindset". But what would I know? I'm just an Albertan.

Don't be an idiot ...read the newspaper, not just the right-wing kind. Winnipegjets' way or the highway? I am not that intolerant like you. I am always game for an exchange of ideas.
Here's your problem ...instead of embracing Canada, you cling on provincialism.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Don't worry, bad times will hit Alberta. You have tarsands which will pollute your land and inflict its people with inexplicable cancer. The greedy Albertans who think that they are superior to other Canadians and see Eastern Canada as their enemy will get their payback. Looks like you have succumbed to that line of thought. And I thought you were smart.

Yes, laugh at me, by all means. I don't expect less from a right-winger.

Actually I was just thinking geez this winnipegjets really hates Alberta and Albertans. I wonder where he got it from. Oh well. Fact is I am in Alberta and you are in Singapore. You should be thankful cos you make it sound like Singapore is better than Alberta. At least you're not going to get cancer like me.

Cheer up!

nayr69sg

Staff member
Don't be an idiot ...read the newspaper, not just the right-wing kind. Winnipegjets' way or the highway? I am not that intolerant like you. I am always game for an exchange of ideas.

Yes I am an absolute idiot. I am intolerant. I don't exchange ideas whatsoever.

Sorry to be such an idiot. You should stop reading my posts since I am such an idiot. Why respond to an idiot like me?

Fact is I am in Alberta and happy and healthy. And you are in Singapore pissed and angry.

I believe that according to winnipegjets it would be the left wing mindset that is Canadian. Isn't that right winnipegjets?
Generosity, openness, embracing diversity, supporting the less fortunate and less endowed - those are Canadian values. And they are values of most progressives (aka left-wingers). How many right-wingers have those values?
I'm beginning to understand your mindset better winnipegjets.
You sure don't show it. Instead you condescend on others who just can't make it like you. Hey, you made it but that doesn't make you better than any of us still in sinkapore.

I did not migrate to Canada. I migrated to Alberta (and Alberta is not part of Canada mindset wise and socio-philosophical-political wise, according to winnipegjets). I'm not really a Canadian citizen. I'm an Albertan. I think when you make that distinction it will make you less bitter that I am here in Alberta and you are stuck in Singapore.
You don't speak of Canada ...you brag about Alberta all the time. You exhibited the Albertan arrogance. If you walk and talk like an Albertan, we know where you loyalty lies.

Yes I am an absolute idiot. I am intolerant. I don't exchange ideas whatsoever.

Sorry to be such an idiot. You should stop reading my posts since I am such an idiot. Why respond to an idiot like me?
It gives me great pleasure to debunk you.

Fact is I am in Alberta and happy and healthy. And you are in Singapore pissed and angry.
I am more pissed with people who ran from sinkapore and then treat people who stay on with contempt. Why can't people who remain criticise their government?

nayr69sg

Staff member
winnipegjets I am really sorry that you hate me so much for being a right winger. I had said that there are socially progressives and fiscally conservatives but you say there is no such thing.

Sorry to make you so angry. Take a deep breath. Breathe slowly. Look on the bright side.

Fact is I am in stinky crappy cancer causing Alberta and you are in safe environmentally friendly best health care system in the world Singapore. Be happy!

Actually I was just thinking geez this winnipegjets really hates Alberta and Albertans. I wonder where he got it from.
I lived in Alberta before, so I understand that mindset. Albertans are always whining about how the federal government doesn't treat them fairly. They think of their province first and damn the country. When Eastern Canada was suffering under the high dollar caused by the unmanaged tarsands development, Albertans couldn't give a damn.
Hopefully, Notley can make you guys a bit more realistic and be team players, instead of mavericks.

Oh well. Fact is I am in Alberta and you are in Singapore. You should be thankful cos you make it sound like Singapore is better than Alberta. At least you're not going to get cancer like me.

Cheer up!

Alberta and sinkapore are sama sama in mindset. That's why you fit in so well there.

nayr69sg

Staff member
It gives me great pleasure to debunk you.

I am more pissed with people who ran from sinkapore and then treat people who stay on with contempt. Why can't people who remain criticise their government?

Of course you can criticize. You have every right to. I thought this was just dialogue. You have your views and I shared mine.

I have shared many times that life is too short to be angry with what you have and complaining does nothing really. So I have suggested that people take action and do something to really change. Eg migrate.

Of course not everyone agrees. Some want to stay on and fight by posting anti PAP stuff here. Who can stop them. No one.

But seriously I think doing that will change nothing. It hasn't over the past 15 years and it won't in the future.

Now that is my view. Just sharing what I think. You are welcome to disagree. I am just sorry that by doing that it makes you think I am an idiot some redneck gun slinging Indian scalping right winger who doesn't give a damn about anyone.

Sorry. Fact is I am happy and healthy in Alberta and you continue to fight the good fight in Singapore.

As the Koreans say "fighting!" :smile:

nayr69sg

Staff member
I lived in Alberta before, so I understand that mindset. Albertans are always whining about how the federal government doesn't treat them fairly. They think of their province first and damn the country. When Eastern Canada was suffering under the high dollar caused by the unmanaged tarsands development, Albertans couldn't give a damn.
Hopefully, Notley can make you guys a bit more realistic and be team players, instead of mavericks.

Alberta and sinkapore are sama sama in mindset. That's why you fit in so well there.

You are correct! I looked at Alberta politics and saw so many similarities between the PC and PAP!

To be honest I voted NDP in the last provIncial election despite not ever meeting my MLA. I voted for change and for Notley. The PCs were too arrogant and corrupt. The late Prentice was a failure.

Anyway I have also often said that Singapore problem isn't so much the govt but the small land size of the city state.

Anyway sorry for being an Alberta. Something must have happened to you while you were in Alberta. What were you doing here in Alberta anyway? What made your life in Alberta so miserable?

Alberta and Singapore. Which place is worse for you?

winnipegjets I am really sorry that you hate me so much for being a right winger. I had said that there are socially progressives and fiscally conservatives but you say there is no such thing.
I don't hate you ...just your attitude.
I have no problem with progressive right-wingers but there is no national party of progressive right-wingers. I believe, on a personal level, that we should manage our finances carefully and avoid debt. But right-wingers think that the country should be run like a household. That's pure bs.
What do you know about fiscal conservatism? To me it is bs. A country doesn't need to have balanced budget because it needs to always be investing. When tax freeze happens, something has to give. And what is given up is the burden passed on to the next generation. If you don't invest in the infrastructure now, the next generation will have to pay for the fix. Is that responsible?
And there is this blind support for business. Oil companies make billions in profits while the provinces collect pittance in royalty. And province support the oil industry getting billions in tax breaks from federal government. If Alberta had managed its oil wealth well, Albertans would have been millionaires by now. Look at Norway as example.
I don't believe in trickle-down economics and the past two decades have shown that trickle-down economics is screwing the working class to enrich the upper class.
Sorry to make you so angry. Take a deep breath. Breathe slowly. Look on the bright side.
I am very positive ...you come sinkapore, I bring you out makan. Samy's curry, okay?

Fact is I am in stinky crappy cancer causing Alberta and you are in safe environmentally friendly best health care system in the world Singapore. Be happy!
Do a good deed ...go up north and help those people affected by the tarsands.
http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news...ons-diets-according-to-study/article19484551/

nayr69sg

Staff member

I don't hate you ...just your attitude.
I have no problem with progressive right-wingers but there is no national party of progressive right-wingers. I believe, on a personal level, that we should manage our finances carefully and avoid debt. But right-wingers think that the country should be run like a household. That's pure bs.
What do you know about fiscal conservatism? To me it is bs. A country doesn't need to have balanced budget because it needs to always be investing. When tax freeze happens, something has to give. And what is given up is the burden passed on to the next generation. If you don't invest in the infrastructure now, the next generation will have to pay for the fix. Is that responsible?
And there is this blind support for business. Oil companies make billions in profits while the provinces collect pittance in royalty. And province support the oil industry getting billions in tax breaks from federal government. If Alberta had managed its oil wealth well, Albertans would have been millionaires by now. Look at Norway as example.
I don't believe in trickle-down economics and the past two decades have shown that trickle-down economics is screwing the working class to enrich the upper class.

I am very positive ...you come sinkapore, I bring you out makan. Samy's curry, okay?

Do a good deed ...go up north and help those people affected by the tarsands.
http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news...ons-diets-according-to-study/article19484551/

The only way to help is to shut down the oil sands. Notley is trying.

Glad you are happy in Singapore and very positive. That's the spirit. Be happy and healthy ok? That is what is important.

I hope that our exchange has made you realize how lucky you are not to be where I am. Count yourself lucky!

You are correct! I looked at Alberta politics and saw so many similarities between the PC and PAP!
Honestly or sarcastically?
To be honest I voted NDP in the last provIncial election despite not ever meeting my MLA. I voted for change and for Notley. The PCs were too arrogant and corrupt. The late Prentice was a failure.
If I were a Canadian, I would vote NDP but even the NDP has moved more towards the centre and the Liberals moved left.
Anyway I have also often said that Singapore problem isn't so much the govt but the small land size of the city state.
So, you would have been happy to remain in sinkapore if the country was bigger in land size, say like size of Johor?

Anyway sorry for being an Alberta. Something must have happened to you while you were in Alberta. What were you doing here in Alberta anyway? What made your life in Alberta so miserable?
I lived in Ontario, Manitoba and Alberta. An Albertans were the worst lot. They were not friendly and they were bigots. There were more of them who disliked non-whites than accepted them. I spent so many occasions debating my fellow Albertan classmates that foreign students contributed positively to their economy; they kept insisting that we were taking away spots from the locals.
After two semesters at U. of A, I quit and moved back to friendly Manitoba.

Talk about me being cynical. Albertans were always complaining that the Federal Government was hurting them and to this day, that perception remains. That's why Albertans always cling on to Western alienation.

Alberta and Singapore. Which place is worse for you?
Sinkapore ...at least, I can be comfortable with myself.
I know Alberta has changed with more visible minorities moving there. But the anti-non-white attitude can still be found in rural Alberta. And the West hates East attitude remains and that I think is unfortunate. That is the defining characteristic of the West.

The only way to help is to shut down the oil sands. Notley is trying.

Glad you are happy in Singapore and very positive. That's the spirit. Be happy and healthy ok? That is what is important.

I hope that our exchange has made you realize how lucky you are not to be where I am. Count yourself lucky!

You can always come back ...Pinky will personally embrace you when you do that. You could also become an MP and then move to be minister of health. If Vivian can be minister, you definitely can.

Of course you can criticize. You have every right to. I thought this was just dialogue. You have your views and I shared mine.

Then we are on the same page.

I have shared many times that life is too short to be angry with what you have and complaining does nothing really. So I have suggested that people take action and do something to really change. Eg migrate.
Look, you succeed. But just because you can, it doesn't mean everybody can. Those who can't yet, try to do something, even though it could have little effect, to bring about change in the country. Look, the death of a teenage lead to the Arab Springs. Who knows what could happen in sinkapore if more of the PAP is revealed to sinkees.
Of course not everyone agrees. Some want to stay on and fight by posting anti PAP stuff here. Who can stop them. No one.
Yeah lor. So, don't look down on them.
But seriously I think doing that will change nothing. It hasn't over the past 15 years and it won't in the future.
Yes, you may and am probably right. But if you can't go, that's the only option.
Now that is my view. Just sharing what I think. You are welcome to disagree. I am just sorry that by doing that it makes you think I am an idiot some redneck gun slinging Indian scalping right winger who doesn't give a damn about anyone.
Sorry. Fact is I am happy and healthy in Alberta and you continue to fight the good fight in Singapore.

Actually, you were showing some of the traits of Albertans. That's why I got so uptight. No hard feelings. You come sinkapore, I spend you makan.

chewed

Did ICA 'force' you to renounce your SG citizenship since it's against the law? Cannot renew SG passport is one thing(still can travel in/out SG with foreign passport). But isn't it an offence to hold dual citizenships since it's against the law?

they can't force me to renounce if I don't want to, but they will remind you that it's against the law to hold dual citizenship. So if they decide to make a case out of you, they can prosecute you even if you enter SG using the other passport. Is that risk you want to take?

chewed

When your passport renewal is rejected you are notifed in writing the reasons for it.
This is not about buying a plate of char kway teow from a hawker.

there you go again.

I went to ICA personally to renew my passport over the counter and the senior case officer seated a few desk behind the counters told me ICA will not renew my passport and it is an offense to hold dual citizenship. There is no official letter given to me.

Unless you, Scroobal, possess another country's citizenship & passport and have personally went up to ICA to renew your passport, and on the renewal form declared that you do hold another country's citizenship, and have suucessfully renewed your passport, you have no credibility in this matter whatsoever

there you go again.

I went to ICA personally to renew my passport over the counter and the senior case officer seated a few desk behind the counters told me ICA will not renew my passport and it is an offense to hold dual citizenship. There is no official letter given to me.

Now, they know you have dual citizenship. Will they arrest you? I think they will just pretend that they don't know. They sure don't want to make an example of you to scare of other sinkees holding multiple citizenship.

they can't force me to renounce if I don't want to, but they will remind you that it's against the law to hold dual citizenship. So if they decide to make a case out of you, they can prosecute you even if you enter SG using the other passport. Is that risk you want to take?

If they do that, then they are scaring other sinkees and that will lead to an avalanche of renunciation which is what they wish to avoid. Maybe they will negotiate with you over kopi.

That's conservatism now ...https://www.thestar.com/opinion/edi...es-stop-pandering-to-fear-hatred-hepburn.html

chewed

Now, they know you have dual citizenship. Will they arrest you? I think they will just pretend that they don't know. They sure don't want to make an example of you to scare of other sinkees holding multiple citizenship.

Of course not. They just reminded me that it's against the law, and I have to renounce either one. So i just told them i will give this matter some thought then I left the building.
If I didn't renounce, then next time I enter SG using another country's passport, they may or may not, pull me aside to remind me again.

I think it all depends if you are on their radar or not.