• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

AWARE Sex Guide Suspended

ScarFace

ScarFace

Just days before that, it was none other than our very own Senior Minister of State for Education Mr S.Iswaran who so self righteously absolved his ministry of any wrong doing or blame.

Look who's talking now!! Look who's not getting their facts right before shooting off their motor mouth! :mad:

Get facts right on sex education: Iswaran

20090501.014732_front-ataware29.jpg

By Amelia Tan

GET your facts right on what is happening in Singapore schools when it comes to sex education, and do not base comments on 'innuendo or information received on the fly'.

This advice, for those who have criticised the sexuality programme run by the Association of Women for Action and Research (Aware) in some schools, was given by Senior Minister of State for Education S. Iswaran yesterday.

Speaking after an event celebrating Yishun Town Secondary School's new autonomous status yesterday, he urged the parties in the Aware dispute to engage in 'responsible commentary' on the subject of sexuality education, as this is an important part of the school programme.

The Ministry of Education (MOE) takes a deliberate and cautious approach in sex education, he said, and its guiding principle is that the family is the basic building block of society.

Its guidelines, he said, were drawn up to help students make 'values-based decisions on this whole issue of sexuality and in a manner which is sensitive to our multiracial, multi-religious environment, because clearly, there are different perspectives in our society'.

Mr Iswaran explained that while teachers deliver the core curriculum for sexuality education, schools have the flexibility to engage external agencies - including Aware - to run additional programmes for their students.

But these extra programmes must abide by MOE guidelines.

The Aware sexuality programme for schools has emerged as one of the core points of contention between the organisation's new and old guard.

Last week, in giving her take on why some members of the group decided to mount a leadership takeover, senior lawyer Thio Su Mien - who described herself as the 'feminist mentor' of the new guard - said the Aware programme encouraged lesbianism and homosexuality.

She said the programme taught young girls from the ages of 12 to 18 that it is okay to experiment with each other. She talked to some parents about this, and they were flabbergasted, she added.

This had galvanised the members of the new guard into action, she said.

Yesterday, however, Mr Iswaran countered this view. He said the ministry had not received any complaints about the programme, and has had no reason to intervene thus far.

The MOE reiterated this in a letter to The Straits Times yesterday.

It said parents and students in schools that ran Aware's programme had not given any negative feedback on it.

Neither had it received a complaint from Dr Thio, it added.

Last year, the ministry said, 11 secondary schools engaged Aware to run the three-hour workshop, which covered topics such as sexually transmitted infections and the consequences of pre-marital activity.

The number of students who took part from each school ranged from 20 to 100.

Aware also conducted 45-minute school assembly talks which discussed issues such as body image, self-esteem, eating disorders, teenage pregnancies, sexual harassment and the role of women in today's context.

In the letter, MOE said the schools 'found that the content and messages of the sessions conducted were appropriate for their students and adhered to guidelines to respect the values of different religious groups'.

It also reminded parents that they can choose to keep their children out of such programmes.

In his comments, Mr Iswaran added: 'MOE takes an objective approach, and that is what we want to preserve in our schools as it is of value to our students.

'But having said that, clearly if there are instances when parents have some unhappiness, they should raise this to MOE and MOE will be happy to investigate.'

SneeringTree

I am still waiting for Thio Su Mien to substantiate her claim that the Aware sex ed programme encourages girls to have lesbain sex with other girls.

Thio and gang accused the sex education prgramme of promoting homosexuality. Did MOE agree with that assessment?

ScarFace

MOE suspends Aware's programme for schools

20090506.174529_aware.jpg

The Ministry of Education (MOE) has suspended the Association of Women for Action and Research's (AWARE) sexuality programme after a thorough investigation.

In a press statement released this afternoon, the ministry said that the "Comprehensive Sexuality Education: Basic Instructor Guide" had been pulled off because it did not conform to MOE's guidelines in some aspects.

In particular, "some suggested responses in the instructor guide are explicit and inappropriate and convey messages which could promote homosexuality or suggest approval of pre-marital sex".

However, it also pointed out that there were positive aspects in the guide, like accurate information on sexually-transmitted diseases and HIV and the role-playing practice for students to say 'no' to sex.

Giving a reason for its decision, MOE said that the Singapore education system did not promote alternative lifestyles to students.

It said: "MOE's framework for sexuality education reflects the mainstream views and values of Singapore society, where the social norm consists of the married heterosexual family unit."

Apart from looking at AWARE's sexuality programme, the ministry also investigated the course materials used during General Paper (GP) lessons in junior colleges. The material had allegedly carried information on alternative lifestyles.

However it found that there was no AWARE influence present in these lessons: Teachers had used such materials to promote discussion on family structures and to promote critical thinking on contemporary issues.

MOE also urged parents to play a bigger part in sex education.

"Parents are ultimately responsible for inculcating values to their children. MOE's sexuality education programme aims to complement parents' role in helping students make informed... decisions regarding sexuality," it said.

MOE's decision to investigate AWARE's sexuality programme was a swift turn from its earlier stance late last month.

In a letter to the Straits Times forum, the ministry had said that it saw no reason because it had not received any complaints from parents about the programme.

However, two days after the letter was published, MOE said it decided to proceed with investigations as parents had started to express concern over AWARE's sexuality programme. In the meantime, an online petition - that collected about 1,300 signatures - had been circulating, calling for schools to "exercise greater care in bringing in sexuality programmes in future".

commoner

another EGM to kick out the new Exco?

nice show,,,, worth every cents for the $40 membership at Suntec

SneeringTree

Experimenting lesbian sex with other girls? Other accusations Thio spilled was that the sex ed showed a lesbian movie to school girls. Substantiation?

zeroo

This just prove that the initial motivation to overthrow the old guard of AWARE because they are promoting homosexuality is true and not groundless. However, somehow people manage to divert the attention to religious issues. And now we are seeing the consequences. Many charities and private hospitals and clinics are run by religious group. Do we have any problem with those? I don't think so. We don't see them preaching their religions through those platform. However, here we have AWARE preaching to schools their homosexual 'religion' .

VIBGYOR

how to support ur gay cause?

bring out the SECULAR card...

all dumb fools will fall into it..

So what have the BEST PAID education ministers - both past and present - been doing? Why does it take a big blow up like this to dig out the obvious? Fcuking jiat liao bees!

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>May 6, 2009
</TR><!-- headline one : start --><TR>Aware sex guide suspended <!--10 min-->
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Diana Othman
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
spore-AWARE-ST.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

The Ministry of Education (MOE) has suspended the sexuality education programme run by the Association of Women for Action and Research (Aware) in some schools. --PHOTO: ST
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"-->THE Ministry of Education (MOE) has suspended the sexuality education programme run by the Association of Women for Action and Research (Aware) in some schools, saying it does not conform to the MOE's guidelines.
In particular, MOE found some suggested responses in the guide 'too explicit and inappropriate, and convey messages which could promote homosexuality or suggest approval of pre-marital sex'.
<TABLE width=200 align=left valign="top"><TBODY><TR><TD class=padr8><!-- Vodcast --><!-- Background Story -->RELATED LINKS
<!-- Audio --><!-- Video --><!-- PDF -->
ico_pdf.gif
Press Statement on MOE sexuality education programme.
<!-- Photo Gallery -->
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>'In view of the contents of the manual, Aware's programmes will be suspended in schools and subject to the new vetting processes,' said the ministry in a letter to The Straits Times Forum section on Wednesday.
The MOE's decision came barely a week after it said it was investigating the Aware programme, following complaints from parents. But two days before that, the ministry had said it saw no reason to intervene because there were no complaints.
In the letter to ST Forum, MOE said it has received feedback against the Aware's Sexuality Education programme as well as other materials from elsewhere. It carried out a thorough investigation and also reviewed the internal processes for selecting and monitoring external vendors engaged by schools to supplement the ministry's sex education programme.
It found that the process could be improved and it would be putting in more stringent steps to ensure that training materials and programmes delivered in school are in line with the ministry's framework. 'The ministry is also reviewing ways to provide parents with more information about sexuality education in the specific schools that their children are in,' said MOE.
On Aware's instructor guide for the sex education programme, MOE said it contains some positive aspects like accurate information on sexually transmitted infections and HIV, and the role play practice for students to say no to sex. But in some other aspects, 'the guide does not conform to MOE's guidelines', it said.
MOE also investigated complaints on materials used during General Paper (GP) lessons in junior colleges, which carry information on alternative lifestyles. These were not Aware's materials.
It found that some teachers had used such materials to initiate discussion on family structures, and not to promote alternative lifestyles.
The Ministry said GP lessons are meant to promote critical thinking and discussion on contemporary issues, and urged teachers to exercise greater professional discretion in guiding students when such topics are discussed. 'They should also adhere to social norms and values of our mainstream society,' said MOE. 'MOE and its schools do not promote alternative lifestyles to our students. MOE's framework for sexuality education reflects the mainstream views and values of Singapore society, where the social norm consists of the married heterosexual family unit,' it said.

cowbehcowbu

tHE eogm EXPOSED THE TRUE BEHIND THE SCENE OF THE RED TEAM...AS THEY ARE SO MANY LESBIANS.[ BALD HEADED AND CRUE-CUT HAIR WITH MANS SHIRT]..AND GAYS AND GAY-SUPPORTERS...........
For once the MOE woke up [ I believe the whole proceeding were videoed by gabmen].
Also..the MOE should not used any program by groups like AWARE or otherrs...the MOE must must their strictly scruntinised program...this is their duty as MOE

londontrader

"This just prove that the initial motivation to overthrow the old guard of AWARE because they are promoting homosexuality is true and not groundless. "

This just proves that the PAP plays to the masses
Face it, many Singaporeans (PAP voters) are homophobic
MOE's actions are well within my expectations

"However, somehow people manage to divert the attention to religious issues. And now we are seeing the consequences."

Thio Su Mien and gang were the ones who couldn't keep religion out of this. Recruiting members from the same church and getting a pastor to rally support from the pulpit? How stupid could they have been!

The PAP have no problems with a peaceful anti-homo stance (call it Pro-Family). Its the prospect of Christian Militancy that they discourage.

"Many charities and private hospitals and clinics are run by religious group. Do we have any problem with those?"

Problems? Only with the ones that encourage monkey business with donated funds.

"We don't see them preaching their religions through those platform. However, here we have AWARE preaching to schools their homosexual 'religion'"

When did homosexuality become a religion?
In Thio Su Mien land is it?

londontrader

I am still waiting for Thio Su Mien to substantiate her claim that the Aware sex ed programme encourages girls to have lesbain sex with other girls.

Thio and gang accused the sex education prgramme of promoting homosexuality. Did MOE agree with that assessment?

I think you would have read the MOE press release
They have carefully navigated the line between satisfying the largely homophobic masses and not agreeing with Thio Su Mien's ridiculous assertions.

The message for the homosexual lobby is clear : do whatever you want but keep it quiet.

londontrader

Webster's definition of religion

: a cause, principle, or system of beliefs held to with ardor and faith

And militant

1 : engaged in warfare or combat : fighting
2 : aggressively active (as in a cause) : combative <militant conservationists> <a militant attitude>
synonyms see aggressive

Who is more agressive? One who boos and jeers or issue death threats or someone taking over an org?

Hello Closet Gay Boy,

1. Look up "homosexuality" in Websters and tell me where it references "religion"

2. Then google "Christian Militant" and educate your sorry mind

3. Ask yourself who is the aggressor:

a. The one who invades your home through deceitful means

or

b. The one who fights back aggressively to reclaim his home

4. Look up "Closet Gay" for a self portrait

londontrader

"Dun talk cock lah. Why take so much trouble to write some cockamame bullshits about secularism must be protected?"

Little Closet Gay Boy, Why are you always dreaming about COCK?
Very bad for your mental health!
I'll pray for you!

"If you are gay stop pretending to be a catholic!"

poor little closet gay boy
You can't stop dreaming about gay sex!
I'll pray harder for you

"If you keep hiding your preferences for anals, you guys will never get recongitions."

You're still dreaming about anal sex!
I'll pray even harder for you!

"Just say it loud and clear! I love assholes!"

Yes, TeeKee say it out loud
TeeKee loves assholes
TEEKEE LOVES ASSHOLES
be proud of it
It's what Nature intended for you

DrPanacea

This just prove that the initial motivation to overthrow the old guard of AWARE because they are promoting homosexuality is true and not groundless. However, somehow people manage to divert the attention to religious issues. And now we are seeing the consequences. Many charities and private hospitals and clinics are run by religious group. Do we have any problem with those? I don't think so. We don't see them preaching their religions through those platform. However, here we have AWARE preaching to schools their homosexual 'religion' .

Thanks for echoing my stand.
It was the media that played the religious card, trying to hijack the platform of Josie Lau and her team. The old Aware's supporters at the EGM were blinded by the media. They appeared to be a bunch of hecklers, hooligans and gangsters.

But gladly, as it turns out, the old Aware may have won the battle, but they lost the war.

But the saga won't be ending here. Heads in MOE should roll, including that of Snr Minister of State S. Iswaran.
The Minister, nine other than NEH has so far kept a clear distance from the saga. Wonder is he is away attending some fancy French culinary course.