• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

GAYS IN S'pore: The MAIN Reason Why So Many Since 2003

ahleebabasingaporethief

Ever wondered why there have been an "explosion" in population of gays in S'pore and so open. yes, males even french kiss each other openly.

Read the article below and youtube's video.

So whose fault? before we all knew there were gays but not so open. Nowadays, knn they flaunt it like its vogue.

MAJORITY of gays are NOT BORN that way. They just think its hip;easier to have sex and friends.

We should not discriminate but IT SHOULD NOT BE ENCOURAGED.

A MISTAKE was made in 2003.
!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lFkGoLQKsds

Lifestyle

< Previous Article | Next Article >

NEWS PRINTER FRIENDLY | RSS FEED

July 2, 2003
OK to have gays in civil service: singapore PM
By News Editor

Singapore's Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong has for the first time spoken on the issue of homosexuality in an interview with Time Magazine, saying gays will now be allowed to serve in “sensitive positions” in the civil service and that conservative Singaporeans will be more understanding towards gays given time.

In a move that has pleasantly surprised the gay community in Singapore, Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong has for the first time spoken out on the issue of homosexuality, saying that given time, conservative Singaporeans will be more understanding towards gays.

articlepic
Goh Chok Tong, Prime Minister of Singapore.
The article, “The Lion In Winter,” which appeared in the July 7 issue of Time (Asia) Magazine, has quoted PM Goh as saying: “So let it evolve, and in time the population will understand that some people are born that way."

"We are born this way and they are born that way, but they are like you and me," he said.

He was also quoted as saying that gays will now be allowed to serve in “sensitive positions” in the civil service. Until very recently, men who had declared that they are gay at any time during their compulsory military service or during reservist training will not be posted to combat units nor hold “sensitive” positions.

PM Goh has also admitted in the article, the main thrust of which discusses Singapore’s bleak economic climate and its reliance on foreign workers, that the change in policy is inspired at least in part by the desire not to exclude talented foreigners who are gay.

The Prime Minister, who has held office since 1990, added that the government had implemented the policy quietly “to avoid raising the hackles of more-conservative Singaporeans”, the magazine reported.

The article also reported that the city-state has not only gay bars and dance clubs hosting gay themed nights, but also seven saunas catering almost exclusively to gay clients.

Dr Vivian Balakrishnan, the Chairman of the Remaking Singapore Committee and also Minister of State for National Development said that Singapore will do "whatever it takes" to attract foreign talent, and one of the ways is to relax repressive government policies previously enforced in the name of social stability.

Meanwhile, pioneer gay activist Alex Au believes that “the time has come to put in a second application for People Like Us” and has put the call out on Signel, a gay news list for GLBT Singaporeans and Singapore residents, to collect 100 names instead of 10 which is officially required to register a society. In 1997, the group’s application to form a society was rejected without any explanation given.

Next month, Singapore will see Nation.03 - the loud and spectacular third annual gay pride party being celebrated openly. Some have said this is an indication that Singapore as a country has moved towards being more open and accepting of its GLBT population.

Described by many as the “Mardi Gras of Asia” and “Singapore’s coming out party,” the event attracted over 1,500 partygoers in 2001, and 2,500 in 2002 locally and from the region including Malaysia, Thailand, Hong Kong, Australia and even the US.ae

SneeringTree

It's "hip" to be despised at by others? To be used as scapegoats for religious fundamentalists? To be constantly in the closet? To be ruled that your sex with your partner/bf/whoever is illegal?

If it's so nice and fun to be gay, why don't you guys start to be one? Afterall, you probably think watching "Brokeback Mountain" will turn all males gay.

For a start just google "gay porn". Of course, I am sure the most virulent gay haters are very well versed with all kinds of gay sex act.

ahleebabasingaporethief

It's "hip" to be despised at by others? To be used as scapegoats for religious fundamentalists? To be constantly in the closet? To be ruled that your sex with your partner/bf/whoever is illegal?

If it's so nice and fun to be gay, why don't you guys start to be one? Afterall, you probably think watching "Brokeback Mountain" will turn all males gay.

For a start just google "gay porn". Of course, I am sure the most virulent gay haters are very well versed with all kinds of gay sex act.

Ahem....excuse me...if you are born that way, you have my sympathies.

But, i have know gays that are born that way who have turned straight, married and have children with ni inklings to their past inclinations.

Have you tried to turn straight? Or jsut keep saying I am born that way, so leave me alone to suck cocks for the rest of my life?

Have some strength. Like i said....don't discriminate, but NEVER encourage homosexuality.

SneeringTree

Ahem....excuse me...if you are born that way, you have my sympathies.

But, i have know gays that are born that way who have turned straight, married and have children with ni inklings to their past inclinations.

Have you tried to turn straight? Or jsut keep saying I am born that way, so leave me alone to suck cocks for the rest of my life?

Have some strength. Like i said....don't discriminate, but NEVER encourage homosexuality.

I understand that Josie, Thio and their likes feel that if you do not condemn homosexuality in the strongest terms, you are "encouraging" it. I totally disagree with that.

I also agree that if people choose to "turn straight", that's their perogative. But please don't start asking others to do so just because you think it can be done or it is "better".

Is that too much to ask for?

ahleebabasingaporethief

I understand that Josie, Thio and their likes feel that if you do not condemn homosexuality in the strongest terms, you are "encouraging" it. I totally disagree with that.

I also agree that if people choose to "turn straight", that's their perogative. But please don't start asking others to do so just because you think it can be done or it is "better".

It was just a suggestion since you mentioned the many obstacles in S'pore facing gays. It's really your prerogative. Iam just humbly suggesting what i think will be a better lifestyle for a fellow S'porean cum human being. If u were living in the US or Europe where GAys are widely accepted, I wont even get into this discusiion with u.

Your point is noted. I rest my case here on. Good luck with your life.

chewed

Tree,

thats why this type of behaviour is called extremist or fundamentalist. Thie type of behaviour is hypocritic to the core. Lying, deceit, scheming, back-stabbing, judgemental is higher on my list of sins than being gay....

SneeringTree

It was just a suggestion since you mentioned the many obstacles in S'pore facing gays. It's really your prerogative. Iam just humbly suggesting what i think will be a better lifestyle for a fellow S'porean cum human being. If u were living in the US or Europe where GAys are widely accepted, I wont even get into this discusiion with u.

Your point is noted. I rest my case here on. Good luck with your life.

Actually your point about gays in US and Europe, this is precisely why many gay Singaporeans choose to leave Singapore. Thanks and happy days to you too. Economy getting from bad to worse, so many more things to worry about the men fucking or women having velcro sex.

commoner

is someone's son or daughter gay in the greater mortal household? or someone of the greater mortal is gay/bi that led to Wood Head to say such things...... or is Pinkie Ass really gay?

Ah Guan

And this is the real reason why gahmen loosened their vicegrip on buttfuckers:

Described by many as the “Mardi Gras of Asia” and “Singapore’s coming out party,” the event attracted over 1,500 partygoers in 2001, and 2,500 in 2002 locally and from the region including Malaysia, Thailand, Hong Kong, Australia and even the US.ae

Regional gay MONEY. Lots of it.

ahleebabasingaporethief

And this is the real reason why gahmen loosened their vicegrip on buttfuckers:

Regional gay MONEY. Lots of it.

Yes, they were chasing the PINK dollar because BANKRUPT of ideas to raise GDP figure so anything also can. Until cannot tahan they decided to open casinos

But unfortunately they do not share it with their CITIZENS....take and take...pay and pay!

saratogas

Many of them join the SAF to be soldiers? gays will now be allowed to serve in “sensitive positions” in the civil service
hkstudclubcom2008101915292965293.jpg

kiwibird7

Goh Chok Tong, Prime Minister of Singapore.
The article, “The Lion In Winter,” which appeared in the July 7 issue of Time (Asia) Magazine, has quoted PM Goh as saying: “So let it evolve, and in time the population will understand that some people are born that way."

Read story below and draw your own conclusions. Are people born like that and is it NORMAL?

http://www.smh.com.au/national/court-lets-girl-17-remove-breasts-20090504-arlf.html?page=-1

Court lets girl, 17, remove breasts

* Karen Kissane
* May 4, 2009

THE Family Court has allowed a 17-year-old girl to have her breasts removed so she can be more like a boy.

The teenager, code-named "Alex", was on court-ordered hormone medication from the age of 13 to prevent menstruation and breast development. She returned to the court in December 2007 asking for a double mastectomy to make it easier for her to pass as a boy.

The Chief Justice of the Family Court, Diana Bryant, decided it was in the teenager's best interests to have the surgery immediately rather than wait until turning 18.

The teenager had been diagnosed with "gender identity dysphoria", a psychological condition in which a person has the normal physical characteristics of one sex but longs to be the opposite sex.

Justice Bryant said: "In the end, it wasn't a particularly difficult issue because the only real issue was, 'Would he (Alex) have it at 17 or once he's 18?' Then, he doesn't need permission.

"So the issue was, 'Was there any likelihood he would change his mind in the meantime, and was it in his best interests to have it at that time?'

"Overwhelmingly, the evidence was that it was in his interests. And I made that order. I wanted to make it quickly so that he could have the operation straightaway."

But ethicist Nick Tonti-Filippini said mainstream medicine did not recognise hormone treatments and surgery as treatment for gender dysphoria. He said it was a psychiatric disorder qualifying under American guidelines as a psychosis because "it's a belief out of accordance with reality".

"What you are trying to do is make a biological reality correspond to that false belief."

The Chief Justice said Alex had not had any urgent plans to proceed with further surgery when he turned 18. She did not make Alex wait for the mastectomies until of age because the teenager had been living as a boy since the age of 13.

"Everyone was absolutely adamant that he wasn't going to change his mind. He was very comfortable . . . that he was going to continue on this path."

The written judgement is due to be published soon.

Justice Bryant said it was better for the teenager to have the surgery at 17 because this was an age where she would qualify for support from state social services.
This was also a crucial time in her development: "It's a year when he's really cementing his friendships with peers that will stand him in good stead for moving into university and the wider world, and it was very important to him that he be able to do that confidently as a boy."

Justice Bryant said having breasts constrained Alex socially. She had to avoid being hugged by friends, could not go to the beach and had to wear binding. "So it was quite an impediment to his social development, which everyone thought was very important."

The decision was not irrevocable: "You can have prostheses and things. So if he changed his mind later on, it's reversible."

Justice Bryant said she heard evidence from medical experts and from Alex, her counsellor and an independent children's lawyer, and she called in the Office of the Public Advocate "because I wanted a contradictor". The vidence was overwhelmingly in favour of the surgery, she said.

Mr Tonti-Filippini said he was also concerned that in previous Family Court cases involving gender dysphoria, the medical experts had been confined to a small group of Melbourne doctors who work with sex changes.

Mr Tonti-Filippini said a Melbourne man who had had sex-change surgery at 22 was now suing his doctors because he regretted the decision and felt they had not explored his doubts at the time.

The Family Court's 2004 ruling allowing Alex to take hormones provoked a debate about when children are old enough to make serious medical decisions.

There was another furore about a Family Court ruling in 2007 allowing a 12-year-old girl code-named "Brodie", who also wanted to be a boy, to begin a course of puberty-suppressing hormones. The court was told
that Brodie had threatened self-harm at the prospect of her periods starting.

It was later claimed by a relative that Brodie's mother had had postnatal depression and had "brainwashed" the child by buying her boy's clothing from the time she was a baby and fostering boyish behaviour. Brodie's father had opposed the hormone move.