• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Koh poh koon says 50 chickens in sin ming more dangerous than pigeons in hawker cente

Ralders

Yesterday in Parliament, while the most anticipated speech is that of the Finance Minister on the 2017 Budget, Minister of State for National Development Koh Poh Koon also spoke in Parliament, explaining that the culling of animals will only be done as a last resort. This follows the recent public outcry over the culling of 24 free-ranging chickens in Sin Ming last month.

Koh Poh Koon also said that the population of free-roaming chickens in Sin Ming had doubled to 50, and that studies have shown chickens are more susceptible to the bird flu virus, compared to other birds like pigeons. Is this just another lousy excuse? You culled the chickens already due to noise complaints in the first place, people became unhappy, and you had to come up with some other excuses. So naturally, bird flu is the excuse. Stop this nonsense now.

You say pigeons less susceptible to bird flu, but that does not mean they are immune to it. The many pigeons roaming freely in hawker centers, eating at left over food, what is being done? There are many more free-roaming pigeons than there are the 50 chickens in Sin Ming. The 50 chickens pose more of a threat of bird flu to Singaporeans than the many pigeons? Stop your excuses now.

Polly Tan

A.S.S. Contributor

Cottonmouth

Re: Koh poh koon says 50 chickens in sin ming more dangerous than pigeons in hawker c

KPK's lanjiao is also a bird, cull it too!

Re: Koh poh koon says 50 chickens in sin ming more dangerous than pigeons in hawker c

its an endangered species, should cut his lang jeow and plant it on his forehead so that it can be admired by all alike at night safari.

borom

Agree that pigeons are increasingly becoming a nuisance in open air eating places like hawker centres, coffe shops ect2.

In fact all open air coffeshops/hawkers centres should be required to install bird deterrents like,bird-control strips or anti-bird netting which you normally can see in golf course open air cafes.
The worst part is that HDB even install metal structures for hanging bird cages!
If I have my way, HDB should ban residents from keeping birds as pets or feeding pigeons.

Bodoh lah! Those flying rats you see at hawker is not pigeon lah. You see the long beaks they are crows or more commonly known mynahs. Another sinkie fail!