• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious PAP’s Perversion of HDB and the Death of the S’pore Middle Class

mahjongking

The old timers benefited because the rule was different back then. It has nothing to do with free market whatsoever. When an entity controls 80% of the land in singapore, there is no such thing as free market. The old timers bought when the HDB sold at cost. Then they also bought when the rule said you had to sell the flat back to the HDB at what you paid for it, hence, no benefit to anyone. But by changing the rules, and allowing the flat to be sold to anyone, plus the allowing of the use of CPF rapidly resulted in the price increases.

exactly what i meant, allowing flats to be sold to anyone jacks up the prices for locals…….so whats the point of being a citizen and serve NS?

NS has long been proven to be a big hinderance to zikapore males. Not only in time wasted, career delays, losing out in the work place to FTs and women who do not need to do NS, etc. But 70% gong cheeby still vote for PAP.

Good argument by TS. However, as an accidental property investor who benefited from windfall from first HDB direct purchase and one private enbloc, I am delighted with government housing policies.

Does not help those that did not buy their flat for $100K 30 years ago. The current and future generations are stuck with the high prices now.

HDB public housing is of pretty high quality for public housing. Try living in HK's public housing.

Most sinkies, including myself, profited handsomely from our HDB. Vast majority of sinkies made a huge paper profit once the MPO period is fulfilled. There are enough news of sinkies who sold off their BTO flats in Queenstown, Bishan or Toa Payoh, Tanjong Pagar to fetch prices above $600k, while paying far less for it when they bought 5 years ago.

Singapore is not a big country with lots of land. If you want to fulfill some itch of having a piece of paper stating that you own the land for life, go move to places like Malaysia or Australia. Just go if you think Singapore is such a pathetic place to stay in. You are not forced to stay here. Quit whining like a little girl already.

Why not? You can buy freehold property in many small cities in the world that do not even have leasehold. Monte Carlo is a good example. U should be able to do that in zikapore too if the PAP did not steal all the land.