• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Sinkie feminist bitch buay song that NSmen told her to dress up or GTFO.

Cottonmouth

http://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/millennials-and-myth-of-gender-equality

I recently ran into a former schoolmate around Raffles Place, and, after we exchanged the requisite pleasantries, he asked: "How come you're not wearing heels and makeup? Isn't it a work day?"

I was confused, given that I was wearing closed-toe flats and one of the (many) solid-coloured shift dresses in my wardrobe reserved for the office.

I am not in the habit of wearing either heels or makeup, except when suitable occasions arise, I replied. My work takes me from factories in far-flung industrial estates to plush boardrooms - sometimes on the same day - and I have to dress accordingly.

"But girls look better if they dress up more," he said earnestly. "More professional right?"

"I'll consider it if you start wearing heels and makeup too," I responded. He laughed, and we parted ways shortly after. But the encounter left me both furious and depressed.

Not because he slighted my appearance - I am perfectly secure in being relatively low-maintenance.

Most of my male peers know better than to explicitly call women less smart or less capable, but other forms of casual sexism and gender stereotyping are still rampant. I was once told that I'm "not like most girls" - by a man who thought he was paying me a compliment.
What infuriated me was the implication that women had to be primped and plucked within an inch of their lives to come across as professional.

It is already 2017, but clearly there are still people who think they can give unsolicited advice to women on how to dress, and offer "helpful" comments that are anything but.

This was not some gentleman of advanced age from whom casual sexism might be almost expected.

Like me, this former schoolmate is in his late 20s and we both grew up in an age of gender equality.

After all, we are supposed to have come a long way since the "bad old days" of blatant misogyny, before the feminist movement swept across the developed world.

I would like to think there has been some progress since the days when women took to the streets to demand equality and fair treatment.

But perhaps our generation has been too quick to assume that those impassioned feminist predecessors had already won the fight for us.

While examples of high-flying female lawyers, bankers, engineers, politicians, teachers - and journalists! - abound in Singapore, the fact remains that men still overwhelmingly outnumber women in top positions. The Diversity Action Committee - set up in 2014 to improve female representation on company boards - said such representation has risen from 8 per cent in 2012 to 9.7 per cent as at the end of June last year.

On average, women are paid at least 10 per cent less than men for doing the same job in most sectors, according to a study from the Ministry of Manpower.

Besides these overt inequalities, sexism of a more insidious type is also very much alive. And attitudes, even among the young, seem to have shifted only marginally over the years.

Researchers at the National Institutes of Health in the United States published a study this month about how college biology students view their classmates' intelligence and achievements.

They found that male students systematically overestimated the knowledge of the men in their classes relative to the women, even when faced with clear evidence of the women's superior performance. In contrast, the female students surveyed did not show bias and accurately evaluated their fellow students.

The researchers concluded: "The chilly environment for women (in the sciences) may not be going away any time soon."

Most of my male peers know better than to explicitly call women less smart or less capable, but other forms of casual sexism and gender stereotyping are still rampant.

I was once told that I'm "not like most girls" - by a man who thought he was paying me a compliment.

The dating world is even more fraught with depressing stereotypes, coyly masked as traditions - women cannot appear "too keen" or "too needy", men should make the first move and pay for dates.

It is tempting to brush these off as an overreaction to compliments or a misunderstanding of benign intent. After all, these "microaggressions" are so common that women often don't even notice them.

But they perpetuate stereotypes and assumptions about what women are "supposed" to be like, and encourage criticism of those who do not conform.

Women are "supposed" to be less aggressive than men, more sensitive, have an "ideal" body type, focused on getting married and having children, obsessed with their looks - the list goes on.

Those who do not meet these "criteria" often find themselves at the receiving end of "helpful advice" - or worse, outright jibes - not just from men but also other women.

Beyond causing offence, however, entrenched notions about gender can have more sobering consequences - and not just for women. The same gender stereotypes that hurt and restrict women can also have a harmful impact on men.

From an early age, boys are told that they have to be "macho" and "dominant" because that is how society defines masculinity. As a result, men are often discouraged from displaying any "feminine" traits - like showing physical or emotional weakness.

This fear of vulnerability can keep men or boys from asking for help when they need it - which can lead to both mental and physical health issues, according to psychologists. In extreme cases, it can also result in a propensity for violence, with potentially devastating consequences.

Understanding how these perceptions permeate our society - and working to correct them - is in everyone's best interest.

But social norms and attitudes can shift at a glacial pace. Tackling sexism can be very tricky, partly because people are often not conscious of their complicity in perpetuating sexist stereotypes.

My former schoolmate, for instance, probably thought he was offering me helpful career advice.

In hindsight, I should have reacted more strongly to his comment, or been more forceful in calling him out on it.

Change can happen a step at a time if more of us question our ingrained assumptions and accept that not everyone has to fit into a box.

This women should watch the nature channel. Thats how nature behaves. The ex school mate was doing her a favour. Unless you are extremely capable, presentation is important for your organisation and to their partners and clients. You sell yourself short if others take the trouble to be more presentable than you and that become the decider.

And she wrote a long diatribe about her erroneous premise. She probably go thru life unable to get her fair share of opportunities from work, to life partner to friends.

sinkie golden pussies are fucking cunts! they will feel inferior if they see how pretty chinese girls are. any village girl will beat them flat.:rolleyes:

Cottonmouth

Go ahead and no makeup!

euq9gh.jpg

S5OoepA.png

okYJXbd.jpg

Women should dress like women in the office. It would help their career advancement a lot.

It is called etiquette....what has that got with advancement?....to dress to get advancement..we call that woman a BITCH. Had one in the office some eons ago....a married woman, the boss is from the glens....to get advancement from a P.A. to a manager..she came to work dressed to "kill"...short skirts...translucent blouses are just a few of the example...."Hagrid from the glen" had an eyeful...so, she was promoted to MANAGER...that is dressing for advancement...the other, would be, know, how to "play dry mahjong" or "yum seng".....

Other than these marketing strategy ...your dressing for the office is an etiquette...if you boss does not mind, you come in shorts. T-shirts..flip flops...then...it is permissible office etiquette for your office..generally if you dress like a slob....how to get advancement??

Satyr

This women should watch the nature channel. Thats how nature behaves. The ex school mate was doing her a favour. Unless you are extremely capable, presentation is important for your organisation and to their partners and clients. You sell yourself short if others take the trouble to be more presentable than you and that become the decider.

And she wrote a long diatribe about her erroneous premise. She probably go thru life unable to get her fair share of opportunities from work, to life partner to friends.

Yes. She does not realize the guy is doing her a favour. Makeup and heels will replace years of hard work.

Satyr

Sinkie women do not seem to realize they do not have natural good looks. Without makeup they can be simply plain.

congo9

Sinkie women do not seem to realize they do not have natural good looks. Without makeup they can be simply plain.

Girls with more inner value is more valuable, treasured and more easily fall in love with. Natural good looks will fade and takes a lot of time to upkeep.

Judging from her tone and letter , she's your typical women Feminist. She thinks that pleasing his man is unwomen like. She thinks that housework is a chore and has a serious problem with it. She will always think that men should look beyond her ordinary looks and delve deeper into her core value
(which i think it is not appealing to man in the 1st place) . She will always think that men should be less horny and should not look at porn at all. She will always preach equality but expect men to open door, foot bill for her.

After saying all that, i believe someone will eventually for in love with her and marry her.

I will welcome her to be herself and continue to be herself from now till she meet her maker.

TerrexLee

are you the infamous scroobal Shanmugam is trying to catch?

bodycells

your former schoolmate who grew up in the so called gender equality is a MGTOW

if you worthless bitch dunno what is that, google is always your friend.

It is called etiquette....what has that got with advancement?....to dress to get advancement..we call that woman a BITCH. Had one in the office some eons ago....a married woman, the boss is from the glens....to get advancement from a P.A. to a manager..she came to work dressed to "kill"...short skirts...translucent blouses are just a few of the example...."Hagrid from the glen" had an eyeful...so, she was promoted to MANAGER...that is dressing for advancement...the other, would be, know, how to "play dry mahjong" or "yum seng".....

Other than these marketing strategy ...your dressing for the office is an etiquette...if you boss does not mind, you come in shorts. T-shirts..flip flops...then...it is permissible office etiquette for your office..generally if you dress like a slob....how to get advancement??

At work, it's about people-to-people relationship and communication. If you dress like a slob, most people will not take you seriously. Women in my office who dress like women are more likely to be invited to join serious and private discussions with important towkays like myself. That will put them above their peers in the annual work appraisal.

bushtucker

At work, it's about people-to-people relationship and communication. If you dress like a slob, most people will not take you seriously. Women in my office who dress like women are more likely to be invited to join serious and private discussions with important towkays like myself. That will put them above their peers in the annual work appraisal.

true. nowadays, more and more sinkie females dunno how to dress up or make up when going to work, especially those from IT industry. they look so pale and ghastly, i almost lose my appetite for breakfast, can only stomach down one kopi.

Dress with flip flop is the way to go for some who take more notice on their mobile phone attires than their own attire.

Even guys have to be groomed and present themselves well. The more I read her diatribe the more I think that this woman has unimaginable sense of self importance and seriously detached from the real World. She should be grateful that someone actually bothered to tell her. Most people tend to keep quiet when it comes to personal grooming and dress sense.

congo9

Dress with flip flop is the way to go for some who take more notice on their mobile phone attires than their own attire.

I met a lot of damn rich taokays. They are actually dressed in Bermudas and a short sleeve shirt. Being well dressed is always so Alien to them. If you talk about Ho Ching, she has all Singaporean working for her.

Topic shift back to her, i think it is more sensible for her to dress up nicely and be more accepting on other people's opinion.

SgGoneWrong

This is the kind of sinkie char boh who will one day wonder why her hubby cheats on her with another woman of foreign nationality or turn gay. Then she will write another long article to bitch about her husband.