• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Bargain Hen, if we ship all equipment directly, it will cost hundreds millions $ more

[h=1]Shipping all military equipment directly will cost Mindef ‘hundreds of millions’[/h]

SINGAPORE — Each year, the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) transports more than 700 military equipment using commercial carriers to all parts of the world in Asia, Australia, Europe and the United States.

And it would cost “three to four times more, and add several hundred million dollars” to the Ministry of Defence’s (Mindef) annual budget, to ship all military equipment directly from point-to-point, Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen told the House yesterday, in response to questions filed by Members of Parliament on the seizure and detainment of nine SAF armoured vehicles by Hong Kong customs.

Right now, the navy does not have transport ships with the scale and capability to ship all the equipment, Dr Ng noted. Its Endurance Class Landing Ships Tanks – the largest multi-purpose and transport ships – are due for replacement, and Mindef will consider if it needs to replace them with ships of larger capacity.

Dr Ng added that the SAF’s contracts with shipping companies and agents require them to comply with established protocols and all relevant international and local port rules. “Neither the SAF, Singapore, nor indeed most other countries operate on the assumption that our cargo will be arbitrarily seized when transiting reputable foreign ports. The SAF has followed these procedures for shipping military equipment for over 30 years without any significant incidents,” he said.

There are rare exceptions when the SAF does not use commercial shipping companies, or will apply special considerations if it does, based on security risk assessments. For example, for advanced weapon and sensor systems or submarines that were brought back by the SAF to Singapore. The special measures include chartering whole ships, mandating direct shipments, deploying protection forces or even converting the commercial ship into a government ship using the State Marine Ensign, Dr Ng said. The Terrexes — which were being transported from Taiwan to Singapore when they were seized on Nov 23 — did not fall into this special category, he added.

In response to Workers’ Party chief and Aljunied GRC MP Low Thia Khiang’s question on whether Mindef could have anticipated the seizure of the Terrexes, Dr Ng said that Hong Kong is “an international port with repute, and there is no reason to believe that our SAF assets would be seized”.

Mr Low also asked about the “loss of potential future earnings” for Singapore in the Terrex technology, which the United States has shown interest in. Dr Ng replied that this was “hard to assess” and it was something for ST Kinetics, the company which manufactured the vehicles, to look into. “Whether this increases the notoriety of the platform and therefore increases its selling potential or not, I mean who is to say but it’s theoretical and I want to defer from answering that question,” Dr Ng said.

Re: Bargain Hen, if we ship all equipment directly, it will cost hundreds millions $

So if there is trouble in Spore & the SAF needs these equipment how are they going to get them back?

If we need to invade Indonesia Mindef will have to check that some logistic company can do the job of transporting the equipment :biggrin:

Re: Bargain Hen, if we ship all equipment directly, it will cost hundreds millions $

raise gst 2 help poor mindeaf ...

So if there is trouble in Spore & the SAF needs these equipment how are they going to get them back?

If we need to invade Indonesia Mindef will have to check that some logistic company can do the job of transporting the equipment :biggrin:

pls use taobao express, it is proven service, works rain shine snow or earthquake.

kkbutterfly

costed a hundreds of millions more!
what if commercial shipping kena hijacked ?
what is the loss?

U make a good point. In times of conflict, the shipping company's insurance will not cover sailing into a conflict or war zone. so even if the tanks are loaded on the container ship, they will not sail here for fear of being sunk.

Minister Hen forgot we had these ships?

300px-Singapore_Strait_Passing_warship.jpg

Name:
Endurance
Builders:ST Engineering (Marine)
Operators:
Preceded by:County class
Completed:5
Active:5
General characteristics
Type:Landing platform dock
Displacement:
  • Standard: 6,500 t (6,400 long tons; 7,200 short tons)
  • Full load: 8,500 t (8,400 long tons; 9,400 short tons)
Length:141.0 m (462 ft 7 in)
Beam:21.0 m (68 ft 11 in)
Draught:5.0 m (16 ft 5 in)
Ramps:2 × (bow and stern)
Installed power:
Propulsion:
Speed:In excess of 15 kn (28 km/h; 17 mph)
Range:5,000 nmi (9,300 km; 5,800 mi) at 15 kn (28 km/h; 17 mph)
Boats & landing
craft carried:

• 4 × 13 m (43 ft) Fast Craft Equipment & Utility (FCEU) on davits
  • 2 × 25 m (82 ft) Fast Craft Utility (FCU) inside well deck
Capacity:18 tanks, 20 vehicles and bulk cargo
Troops:> 350–500
Crew:65 (8 officers and 57 men)
Sensors and
processing systems:

Electronic warfare
& decoys:

Armament:
Aircraft carried:AS 332M Super Puma or AS532UL/AL Cougar or CH-47SD Chinook helicopters
Aviation facilities:Flight deck and enclosed hangar for up to 2 medium-lift helicopters
Notes:
  • Ships in class include:
  • RSS Endurance (207)
  • RSS Resolution (208)
  • RSS Persistence (209)
  • RSS Endeavour (210)

SgGoneWrong

Cover ass, cover ass! Came up with some ridiculous numbers to silence sinkies like 52 man's years to report all sinkie inc reserve investment or what.

if there's war, and it involves a regional power, majority of expensive air assets will be flown to safe havens to avoid being bombed into smithereens like sitting ducks in airfields. elites will be flown to sanctuaries in arsetralia while ns slaves are thrown into meat grinder. there'll be little to no time to recall all armor assets and whatever standing brigades in sg will be thrown into the initial battle orbat and procedure. lst's will already be committed to ship elites' distant relatives, 2nd tier cronies, and their priceless assets to arsetralia. nonetheless, if a regional (super)power were to be involved as the aggressor, it would very likely (in fact can bet on it) be a devastating pre-emptive strike on usaf assets in paya lebar and usn assets in sembawang and changi (and senoko power station to take out power). collateral damage in the surrounding areas will be extensive. no chance for kopi and kaya toast in the morning to recall tanks and armored vehicles. sg is indefensible against an all-out first strike. bomb shelter in hdb flat is only good to stash clutter and bang the maid. the best defense for sg is no war at all cost. must lick everyone else's genitalia.

SgGoneWrong

Esnd, you are too imaginative. With traitors in power, confirm no war. They will just surrender the whole island as long as they benefit. Buying warcrafts is just a way of wealth transfer all these decades.

even if sg surrenders u.s. forces and assets in sg will remain as targets. in fact in an all out nuclear war, sg will at least have a warhead cumming its way. in pre-emptive (first) strike no time even for mindef to smell the coffee. it's not imaginary. it's a likely contingency that no defense planners can ignore. enjoy kopi while you still can.

Stop wasting all the money and time shipping and wayanging all these useless war crafts.
The best defense system for sinkie is to be humble and train to live longer if there is a war i.e. plan a method to survive longer before someone else bail u out.
Hence if I'm the defense minister, I would enlist men just for trench digging. The deeper u hide the safer. Also spend time and money to build hdb bomb shelter. This action look silly but is the most worthy training ns men should be trained.

Trulee wasting millions when isis fighters cost only usd100 per month n they can do wonders n tv reality show like how to blow up a bmw n scientific studies like what happens when u pour petrol over rats n lite up. The lust one can try on fatty mps.
So better scrap ns n issue arse passes to get cheap foot soldiers.
Listen hen, its a bargain hen
A bargain

Spore has been truly fucked by LKY. Spore was fortunate not to have the burden of a military running the place like Indonesia or Philippines where the military ran the countries

The Brits left the place run by civil servants but LKY created a class system with a military scholar system. The selfish reason was so that his family could control Spore. So now Spore is really screwed up run by the military general who are wasting resources on the military. Even if the PAP is kicked out these generals will still be in the system screwing up e.g. SIA, SMRT, ....

What started as a poor man's army with Spore buying 2nd hand equipment has morphed into a money wasting enterprise with the generals laughing all the way to the bank.

Leckmichamarsch

so won't it be logical to set up a business doing it as core and making some money as sideline trans-shipping commercial stuff....... sure make money
why Mintdeaf so stupid???

EnBloc

Don't underestimate the Hen in the Year of the Cock

so won't it be logical to set up a business doing it as core and making some money as sideline trans-shipping commercial stuff....... sure make money
why Mintdeaf so stupid???

we just sold our own national shipping line NOL as it was sinking and not doing well.operating a cargo ship just to carry SAF stuff around is probably not cost effective since a cargo ship can carry alot more than just a bunch of terrex......these cargo ships need to carry millions of tons of cargo across multiple ports in order to make the trip worthwhile.

In times of war, the Govt will commandeer all necessary commercial and private transport resources just the Brits did for the Falklands. We have a comprehensive plan for taking civilian logistics may they be ships, planes, heavy equipment etc.

More crap out of your mouth. Govt. commandeer simi lancheow commercial and private transports in times of war? Want to quote the brits and the Falklands war somemore? The brits had a plan in place for requisition of civilian vessels in times of war under STUFT. But that is only British flagged and registered vessels. that is why alot of the civilian vessels so called commandeered by the Brits are owned by UK lines like Cunard, P & O, etc. If the vessel is flagged in the UK, and usually crewed by British sailors, then the ship can be requisitioned for war. You think the PAP govt can just suka suka commandeer any vessel in the port? That is ridiculous. Who is going to sail these vessels even if you illegally commandeer them? Pinoy and Indian sailors? They will tell you its not their fight and they are not going to risk their lives sailing their vessel in warzone just because the singapore govt says so. U are going to force them at gun point? After NOL is sold off to CMA CGM, who the hell knows what registry they will fly.

U can commandeer all the heavy equipment in singapore, who the hell is going to operate it for you? Less then 50% of the crane operators are singaporeans, and ditto for bus and heavy lorry drivers. Even to remove road signs and bus stops to prepare lim chu kang road for emergency air strip requires foreign workers. All these foreign workers will be looking to fuck off from here the minute the war starts, good luck finding them to operate these equipment for you while the bombs are falling.

What you are quoting is SAF theoretical warfare group think. Sure, we will just use whatever resources we need in war. But they forget who is going to operate it for them. easy to take people's stuff, not easy to find people to operate it for you.

Leckmichamarsch

we just sold our own national shipping line NOL as it was sinking and not doing well.operating a cargo ship just to carry SAF stuff around is probably not cost effective since a cargo ship can carry alot more than just a bunch of terrex......these cargo ships need to carry millions of tons of cargo across multiple ports in order to make the trip worthwhile.

Hen boasted of the hundred of millions shipping fees............ hot air izzit?