• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Son of Senior Counsel sentenced to jail for dodging NS...

CoffeeAhSoh

After serving his sentence, and completing NS, will the Singapore government allow him to keep his dual citizenship?

No.

Dual citizenshipEdit

The position of the Singapore Government is that dual citizenship is not allowed.[8] The laws regarding Singapore citizenship are found in the Constitution of Singapore.

A dual citizen may have acquired citizenship by birth in a foreign country, by descent from a foreign citizen parent, or by naturalisation. Singapore citizens who voluntarily and intentionally acquire citizenship of a foreign country after the age of 18 may be deprived of their Singapore citizenship by the Government.[9] Foreigners who naturalise as Singaporean citizens are required to renounce all foreign citizenships.[10] Persons who are born outside of Singapore and have at least one parent who is a Singapore citizen may register with a Singapore consulate within a year to acquire Singapore citizenship by descent. However, such persons must renounce their foreign citizenship, if any, before reaching 22 years of age. The Constitution of Singapore is silent on a Singapore citizen who acquired citizenship by birth and is a foreign citizen by descent. So long as such a person refrains from exercising the rights of foreign citizenship, the Government has no grounds for depriving him of his Singapore citizenship and he may hold on to dual citizenship.[11]

The prohibition of dual citizenship is a contentious issue in Singapore. As the economy becomes more globalized and Singaporeans more mobile, many Singaporeans have acquired foreign citizenships and reluctantly renounced their Singaporean citizenship even though they may feel a strong emotional attachment to Singapore. Immigrants who have been resident in Singapore for long periods and qualify for Singaporean citizenship may be reluctant to become naturalized citizens as it would mean giving up the citizenship of their native countries.

The government argues that authorising its citizens to concurrently hold foreign nationalities would be undesirable since, due to Singapore's geopolitical position, it cannot afford to allow its citizens multiple allegiances which may be compromised in times of national crisis. The government also fears that those without a second citizenship may feel aggrieved if dual citizens enjoy the benefits of citizenship during periods of wealth but leave the country in trying times.[12] Nevertheless, the government is open to the possibility of allowing dual citizenship if local and global circumstances demand so.[13]
Renunciation of citizenshipEdit

Citizens of Singapore can only renounce Singaporean citizenship if they have acquired citizenship of another country. At the time of renunciation, renunciants must submit their Singaporean passports and National Registration Identity Cards for cancellation.[14] About 1,200 Singaporean citizens renounce their citizenship every year, 300 of them are naturalised citizens.[15] Male Singaporeans cannot renounce citizenship until completing national service. In 2012, a Hong Kong-born teenager filed a lawsuit regarding this requirement in order to give up his citizenship.[16]

Dr Ang Swee Chai still holds dual citizenship despite the Govt telling her for years to give up the UK citizenship. She has refused. I like to see them try. With Leonard completing his NS obligation I like see on what basis they will takeaway his Singapore citizenship. They certainly can't touch his Canadian citizenship.

SgGoneWrong

Dr Ang Swee Chai still holds dual citizenship despite the Govt telling her for years to give up the UK citizenship. She has refused. I like to see them try. With Leonard completing his NS obligation I like see on what basis they will takeaway his Singapore citizenship. They certainly can't touch his Canadian citizenship.

What's with this fucking pettiness of having dual citizenships? Pappies scared their slaves will run away?
Why sg PRs are allowed to keep their prs forever even when they no longer live in sg and the hdb flat they bought cheap and rent out while sinkies with dual citizenships are forced to give up sg citizenships?

Sinkies take up overseas citizenships because many of these countries impose restrictions such as you have to live there and renew prs in how many years whereas as a citizenship you don't have to renew the license to stay. For sg prs, once you get the pr it's as good as getting citizenship minus the liability to serve sg inc. Because of the pr status, many sinkies continue to live overseas so to keep their prs instead of returning home to sg if they can apply for citizenships overseas.

When is pappie going to revoke prs of those who haven't been living in the country 3 out of 5 years and to renew every cycle? I would love to see them do that. That would trigger a forcing selling of hdb flats. Why pappie is so kind to foreigners and want sinkies to rally behind them when they blunder big time like the terrex incident? Sinkies should do what pappies do to them, when they fall, kick them in the face and step on them again. Unkindness from pappies should beget unkindness from sinkies in return.

nayr69sg

Staff member
What's with this fucking pettiness of having dual citizenships? Pappies scared their slaves will run away?
Why sg PRs are allowed to keep their prs forever even when they no longer live in sg and the hdb flat they bought cheap and rent out while sinkies with dual citizenships are forced to give up sg citizenships?

Sinkies take up overseas citizenships because many of these countries impose restrictions such as you have to live there and renew prs in how many years whereas as a citizenship you don't have to renew the license to stay. For sg prs, once you get the pr it's as good as getting citizenship minus the liability to serve sg inc.

It's not PAP lah. It is sinkies.

Anyway this whole issue has more to do with males serving NS than dual citizenship lah.

You don't hear court cases about dual citizenship involving women do you?

The pettiness is the sinkies who are jealous and want revenge if a male Singaporean does not serve NS. And not only don't serve but must serve at THE SAME TIME as other SINKIE MALES.

SgGoneWrong

Anyway this whole issue has more to do with males serving NS than dual citizenship lah.

The pettiness is the sinkies who are jealous and want revenge if a male Singaporean does not serve NS. And not only don't serve but must serve at THE SAME TIME as other SINKIE MALES.

Screwbye just mentioned they forcing dr Ang, female, to make a choice.

Must serve, and serve same time. Whereas new citizens (or prs?) can volunteer to serve, choose occupation and any age to serve.

Really want to spat on those pappies and especially on the face of that arrogant hen!

Their pettiness and jealously also resulted in the death of ns peasant Dominique Lee, probably out of jealously of his good looks and physique and nice personality, they served him with more smoke grenades.

He will be asked to give up either his sinkie citizenship or his canadian one. He will give up the canadian one as he has just served NS.

CoffeeAhSoh

ST_20170202_EAMISSING02_2912983.jpg

this chap has multiples passports :biggrin:

Silly doctor nay! Of course must same time. Open mob can anytime report or not?

nayr69sg

Staff member
Silly doctor nay! Of course must same time. Open mob can anytime report or not?

Yeah that's what you guys told Joseph Schooling. Then when he got Olympic Gold same sinkies say good that let him train first and even say he no need serve NS Liao.

The exception seems valid. Fat bastard and his bro do what degree or research so groundbreaking? You can get a degree or a JD or MD or play music at 40, but swim competitively? I think not! As usual you like corn flakes the issues, there is principle and then there is needs basis for exception. Law by law, that is the way fair to all.

Further more you get degree next thing is work and make money, where got people so nice so kumgong come back sg play soldier for 2 years? :rolleyes: Those tears you see at Tekong last time are fake tears by hypocrites. Today I open your eyes and let you see them for who they are, those crafty little shits. 19 is not too young for Oscars. :cool:

CoffeeAhSoh

ST_20170202_EAMISSING02_2912983.jpg

this chap has multiples passports :biggrin:

HONG KONG (NYTIMES) - A China-born billionaire who has forged financial ties with some of the country's most powerful families was taken by the Chinese police from his apartment at the Four Seasons Hotel in Hong Kong late last week and spirited across the border, a person close to the businessman said on Tuesday (Jan 31).

Mr Xiao Jianhua, who has been missing since last Friday, is in police custody in China, where he apparently is safe, said the person who spoke on condition of anonymity for fear of arrest.

Mr Xiao is a Canadian citizen with an Antiguan diplomatic passport, though he was born in China.

HTOLAS

Another 'Tan' who also served in some medical vocation did this the leegal way, and was lauded as a hero of sorts.

Man who dodged NS for 10 years sentenced to 4 months' jail

By Justin Ong Posted 02 Feb 2017 11:01 Updated 02 Feb 2017 15:32

jonathan-tan-1.jpg

He arrived in 2015, enlisted in NS the next year and is currently serving his vocation as a preventive medicine technician.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/ns-defaulter-sentenced-to-4-months-jail/3486142.html

Read more on http://www.sinkiezen.com

nayr69sg

Staff member
Who? They may be one or two but don't tarnish the good name of the rest.:oIo::kma:

One or two? So guess the majority of Singaporeans would rather the Schooling guy have served his NS than defer. I rest my case.

Typical quitter. Just pick and choose what to answer and ignore the reality. This in the army we call tactical retreat! :rolleyes: