• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Ong Ye Kung - On Democracy

This guy resigned from NTUC as well as advisor to Transport Workers Union when the PRC drivers refused to deal. They went on strike on his last day of his notice period. The Govt never revealed. His father-in-law became on of the richest man in Singapore building HDB flats. His own father was a Barisan MP. Now he wants to teach the world about good government.

Multi-party system has real long-term risks for Singapore: Ong Ye Kung
By Liyana Othman Posted 24 Jan 2017 00:51

SINGAPORE: Having a multi-party system of government carries real long-term risks for Singapore, said Education Minister (Higher Education and Skills) Ong Ye Kung on Monday (Jan 23), as he addressed the hypothetical scenario of Singapore becoming a two- or multi-party system.

These risks lie not so much in being in a multi-party system per se, but in the forces and processes that lead Singapore there, Mr Ong said, addressing a seminar at the Institute of Policy Studies' Singapore Perspectives conference, titled "What if Singapore becomes a two- or multi-party system?"

"Let's talk about the elephant in the room, which is the PAP (People's Action Party) - which I represent today," he told his audience. "The scenario painted to us is that by 2065, will the big elephant be replaced by maybe several smaller elephants that, through contests and elections, take turns to govern by themselves or through coalitions?"

He noted that for a two- or multi-party system to take shape, there must first be a partisan line – two different paths for the country to take. "Some of these paths are like a fork in the road. They diverge but they can come back together again. Sometimes it’s also a T-junction. I turn left, you turn right, and we’ll never meet."

Mr Ong cited Brexit - the United Kingdom's decision to leave the European Union - as well as the divisive US presidential election, as examples of what could happen when a society is split.

"Political parties are essential in representing the diverse views of the people they represent, and elections a necessary and peaceful discourse in finding compromise, finding a common path forward. This is the essence of democracy. But the same essence can take a nasty twist, sowing discord, dividing societies," he said, noting that such forces could pose long-term risks to Singapore under a multi-party system.

A multi-party system could also result in slower decision-making, especially in a changing global landscape, Mr Ong added.

"Imagine if we had a multi-party system back in 1965," he said. "Would we have come so far so quickly?" He cited the Government's ability to attract foreign investment from multi-national companies at a time when it was "not politically correct to do so".

And now, Mr Ong said, Singapore needs to move fast as well. "If we envisage a future of tough challenges - challenging demographic trends, shifting political or geopolitical landscape, more intense competition internationally, rising sea levels - unity, common purpose and the ability to move faster than others will be a central advantage that Singapore has.

"The current system has worked well for the majority of Singapore and Singaporeans. It still gets my vote as the best system for Singapore."

Mr Ong added that Singapore's equilibrium as a small country "may well be a single-party system". This could be the PAP today, but it could be another party in the future, as long as it is the most capable one to serve Singapore, he said.

A MULTI-PARTY SINGAPORE

But what would a Singapore governed by two or more parties look like? Mr Ong pointed out that this was not a new phenomenon, especially in hotly contested constituencies. He gave the example of the 2011 General Election, where his PAP team in Aljunied lost to the Workers' Party.

"In 2011, when I didn't manage to win in Aljunied, I found myself becoming the opposition party in Aljunied," he said. "So in Aljunied at that time, I had supporters (and) when they organised events, they would invite me as the guest of honour. On the other hand, there are many other groups too that would invite the Workers' Party MP as the guest of honour.

"But most would invite both of us. And we'd both turn up, and I got a feeling the guests at the event actually quite enjoyed watching the jostling between us. And in a multi-party system, essentially, that would happen on a wider scale throughout the country, at events, behind the scenes."

Likewise, unions, associations and clans, as well as the media could be split in a multi-party system, Mr Ong said.

He added that the civil service is the institution that would be most tested, as it has to stay politically neutral and serve whichever party forms the Government. "You can work on one set of policies for five years and someone new comes along and asks you to undo everything you have done and move in a new direction," he said. "That can be very frustrating and disheartening."

Ultimately, he said, it is up to the people whether Singapore is governed by a single party or many parties.

On the part of the PAP, it has to make sure the current system continues to work, Mr Ong said. "We must be a party that is open-minded and keep up with times and circumstances - so that ... policies can adapt to the needs of the society and our people. Never think that today's solutions are the best they can be.

"We must attract talent from as diverse a background as possible to serve. That is why, every term, we replace a quarter to a third of our candidates."

Finally, Mr Ong noted that the challenge for the PAP was for it to be as pluralistic a party as possible. "A party of all colours – take in everyone with different views … There are many PAPs, in a way. You have the PAP of PM Lee Hsien Loong. You can also have the PAP of DPM Tharman (Shanmugaratnam). You can have the PAP of Louis Ng, of Denise Phua, of Patrick Tay or Halimah Yacob. Everyone with a different bent, different objectives they want to achieve - and it must be broad enough a party to take in all of them," he said.

"Today, I think it exists. There are diverse views, but the public doesn’t see them. But perhaps, as part of our mastery of governance, this is something we ought to formalise over time."

- CNA/ek

Charlie99

Every time I look at his photo, or an article about him,
I do not feel good, because he appears to be "two face" or "double headed"

Unable to stand his "looks"

May be, he should have been a candidate for Aljuneid a second time.

Bonut

Got villain look.

He's one of the few Sinkie politicians that does not look absolutely repulsive.

kryonlight

Nothing new. Every dictatorship says bad things about democracy.

China Slams Western Democracy as Flawed

China’s state media used Donald Trump’s inauguration as U.S. president to warn about the perils of democracy, touting the relative stability of the Communist system as President Xi Jinping heads toward a twice-a-decade reshuffle of senior leadership posts.

With ministries and senior officials stressing unity as a priority for China, smoothing the path for the party’s congress in the fourth quarter, state media were quick to highlight divisions within America shown by Trump’s elevation, without necessarily directly referencing the new president.

Democracy has reached its limits, and deterioration is the inevitable future of capitalism, according to the People’s Daily, the flagship paper of China’s Communist Party. It devoted an entire page on Sunday to critiquing Western democracies, quoting former Chairman Mao Zedong’s 1949 poem asking people to "range far your eyes over long vistas" and saying the ultimate defeat of capitalism would enable Communism to emerge victorious.

The unusual series of commentaries in the People’s Daily mirrors Soviet efforts to promote an alternative political and economic system during the Cold War. The rise of anti-establishment, protectionist politicians like Trump, amid populist winds on several continents, has sent political parties scurrying to shore up their support, helping China to portray itself as relatively steady.

If this Ong fella ever becomes the next PM, sinkies will miss the bumbling idiot Lee Hsein loong.

Yup. He's that bad

"Imagine if we had a multi-party system back in 1965," he said. "Would we have come so far so quickly?" He cited the Government's ability to attract foreign investment from multi-national companies at a time when it was "not politically correct to do so".

Screw this Ong. PRC had been a 1-party system since WW2, what fucking happened to it? :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Victory2016

Keep your filthy PAP paws away from the little democracy that I still have, you son of a leftist commie .....

bhoven

If you read carefully what he said in the two interviews he gave to ST ( one after he lost the GE 2011 and the other 2 weeks ago ) you can get a glimpse of his character....a perfect Cassius type with the lean and hungry look. He is ambitious, cunning, ruthless and untrustworthy,

bhoven

If you read carefully what he said in the two interviews he gave to ST ( one after he lost the GE 2011 and the other 2 weeks ago ) you can get a glimpse of his character....a perfect Cassius type with the lean and hungry look. He is ambitious, cunning, ruthless and untrustworthy,

Between the two devils, CCS comes off better. Pity about TCJ. He seems the most sincere of the lot. Definitely better than LW.

You are engaging in rubbish talk.
Akin to choosing if you prefer your house to be infested with cockroaches, bedbugs, termites or fleas.

Yes.

He was bitterly disappointed on the number of votes he received for CEC at the last Party election in Dec 2016. LHL was also disappointed. He was made Organising Secretary by him which is a powerful party position but looks like the cadres and grassroots were not impressed with him or took him to be calculative and untrustworthy individual.

He is now aiming to make the list in 2018 without being co-opted. He knows that he cannot be in the running for the post after HSK if he does not make CEC under his own steam. He is going all over with press campaign. Look at the interview to the resident cock sucking SPH so called journalist - Sumiko Tan.

Yes.

He was bitterly disappointed on the number of votes he received for CEC at the last Party election in Dec 2016. LHL was also disappointed. He was made Organising Secretary by him which is a powerful party position but looks like the cadres and grassroots were not impressed with him or took him to be calculative and untrustworthy individual.

He is now aiming to make the list in 2018 without being co-opted. He knows that he cannot be in the running for the post after HSK if he does not make CEC under his own steam. He is going all over with press campaign. Look at the interview to the resident cock sucking SPH so called journalist - Sumiko Tan.

Secretary is girl job, how to look manly and powerful you tell me? Ong should ask tonychat for advice.

Screw this Ong. PRC had been a 1-party system since WW2, what fucking happened to it? :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Ever since China came out of isolation and embraced WTO and the world, investments poured in like a torrential rain. This proves one party system works well.

rotiprata

One Ye Kung - On Democracy

Yes.

fren: you read the game well.. my bet is on TCM and TCJ

gatehousethetinkertailor

Re: One Ye Kung - On Democracy

"Pingtjin Thum: "A regrettable and shocking ignorance of Singapore's history. We WERE a multi-party democracy in 1965. In 1963 General Election, the PAP won 37 seats and 46.9% of the vote; the Barisan Sosialis won 13 seats and 33.2% of the vote; and the United People's Party won 1 seat and 8.4% of the vote. Between 1966-67, arrests, detentions, and resignations steadily reduced the opposition presence in Parliament, leading to the first PAP sweep of Parliament in the 1968 elections. If not for multi-party democracy, Singaporeans would not have had the opportunity to elect the great first generation of PAP leaders in 1959; and as Lee Kuan Yew himself admitted in his autobiography, the PAP left-wing (who subsequently became the opposition Barisan Sosialis) forced his team to raise their game and to hold themselves to a higher moral and professional standard. Our success is founded in our period of vigorous multi-party democracy in 1955-65."

Yes.

Only PAP can rule S’pore forever

No other party, period.
pap-rule-singapore-forever
Singaporeans from all walks of life, who recognise power is a form of aphrodisiac, are nodding in agreement.
This after they agree that only the PAP can rule Singapore forever and any talk of a two-party or multi-party system will lead to the ultimate destruction of Singapore.
One Singaporean, Jin Gong Ping, said: “PAP is a pluralistic political party.”
“They are doing a great job representing the diverse segments of Singaporean society and presenting all sides of the argument.”
“I can see that clearly when they have six Chinese men vying to be the next prime minister. Very diverse and egalitarian.”
Other locals said the PAP is all about putting Singaporeans first.
Another local, Fang Qian Mian, said: “PAP is a political party that will be there for you, always.”
“One moment can be Son of Punggol, next moment can be Son of Ang Mo Kio.”
“It’s like they are omnipresent.”
Still more locals concur the PAP is raising the stakes of the competition.
Another local, Fan Dui Dang, said: “They will say, anyone who is willing and able, can challenge their incumbency.”
“But that is true as long as you’re not the Workers’ Party.”
“You can always go far in Singapore serving the PAP’s interest, which coincidentally also happens to be Singapore’s interest.”
“A two-party or multi-party arrangement will result in the death and destruction of everything in this country.”

http://newnation.sg/2017/01/only-pap-can-rule-spore-forever/

He knows that he cannot be in the running for the post after HSK if he does not make CEC under his own steam. He is going all over with press campaign. Look at the interview to the resident cock sucking SPH so called journalist - Sumiko Tan.

Lunch with Sumiko interview marks official end of journalism

"Singaporeans from all walks of life, who are standing hunched over slightly with one hand over their heart as they wipe away tears of regret from their eyes, are waving goodbye to journalism.
This after they read the first Lunch with Sumiko interview in The Straits Times.
One Singaporean, Song Kah, said: “This marks the official death of journalism.”
“It is a sad day for democracy and this storied, noblest of noble vocation.”
“Humanity’s slow march towards civilisation has officially come to a screeching halt.”
Other locals said even though journalism is now dead, this is not the worst thing.
Another local, Qu Ni Mah, said: “The end of an era in journalism is already upon us and we thought looking into the future will provide some respite as we long to see some silver lining.”
“Turns out Lunch With Sumiko is slated to carry on with another edition, and another, and another.”
“Death to us all, please.”

http://newnation.sg/2017/01/lunch-with-sumiko-interview-marks-official-end-of-journalism/

Re: One Ye Kung - On Democracy

Why waste time talking about democracy when what he wants to sell is that PAP must be in control?

Anyway, I think he should kowtow to Trump and beg Trump to takeover sinkapore. We will all be happy. Trump will boot out all the foreigners and create jobs for sinkees. Trump will build a wall to protect us from Muslims. Trump will make every HDB flat a Trump Tower.

Trump, please take over peesai.