• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Sinkie Press Holdings Total Collapse! Profit Drop 43.8% in Q1!

Pinkieslut

SPH net profit down 43.8 per cent to $45.7M in Q1

Singapore Press Holdings reported a 43.8 per cent drop in net profit in its fiscal first quarter due mainly to a slowdown in its media business.

Singapore Press Holdings reported a 43.8 per cent drop in net profit in its fiscal first quarter due mainly to restructuring costs and a slowdown in its media business.

Singapore Press Holdings Friday (13 January 2017) reported a 43.8 per cent drop in net profit to $45.7 million in its fiscal first quarter due mainly to charges arising from a restructuring of its core media business and a decline in the segment.

In October last year, SPH announced that it planned to cut its staff by up to 10 per cent by 2018 and merge tabloids The New Paper (TNP) and My Paper. The revamped TNP was launched on 1 December last year.

The restructuring-related charges incurred in the quarter ended 30 November 2016 included $7.2 million of retrenchment and outplacement benefits as part of its staff reduction exercise.

Headcount at SPH fell to 4,107 in the first quarter from 4,273 a year earlier.

“The slowing economy and ongoing disruption of the media industry continued to weigh on the media business,” SPH said in a press release.

Group revenue fell 6 per cent to $278.3 million, dragged down by a 9.5 per cent drop in revenue in the media business.

Revenue from the property segment grew 1.3 per cent to $60.5 million while revenue from the other businesses rose 17.9 per cent to $15.9 million.

On the business outlook, Alan Chan, CEO of SPH, said the group will focus on innovation and investment in the media business, improving cost efficiency and diversifying its revenue streams.

EnBloc

Not total collapse - total means 100%, it is only 43.8%

They are still making money, still hiring more than 4,000 workers

Government will not allow it to close down, otherwise no more mouthpiece.

ckmpd

Not total collapse - total means 100%, it is only 43.8%

They are still making money, still hiring more than 4,000 workers

Government will not allow it to close down, otherwise no more mouthpiece.

The decline of SPH is sure and steady. A business like SPH's cant be sustained if it resorts to telling half truths and untruths. The same goes for the pap.

A political party cant survive if it resorts to telling half truths and untruths

dat 43.8% wud b gr8ly reduced if dey chop down ze directorz remuneration which clearly does not commensurate wif performans ,,,

Bigfuck

This is proof that the Lees come from a lineage of genetic cesspool. Property income is sustaining what is essentially a dead press.

The decline of SPH is sure and steady. A business like SPH's cant be sustained if it resorts to telling half truths and untruths. The same goes for the pap.

A political party cant survive if it resorts to telling half truths and untruths

PAP has survived for 60 years. If you are talking about long term survival, no party or organization survives then. They all eventually come to an end. So what's wrong with telling half truths and untruths if it can prolong your longevity?

ckmpd

So what's wrong with telling half truths and untruths if it can prolong your longevity?

Tharman said it is wrong to tell untruths and has called pap to go back to "honest" politics. So you tell me whether it is wrong or not?

knn eh, what do you expect when the siao char bors are writing? but they tone down, i think must have some re-org for the past year. then now it's channelnewsasia turn to kee siao. once a siao char bor, always a siao charbor, old time saying.:eek:

frankly, i only read sunday times, can reflect a bit. i think most sinkies will feel the same.:o

Tharman said it is wrong to tell untruths and has called pap to go back to "honest" politics. So you tell me whether it is wrong or not?

So when was the last time the PAP engaged in 'honest politics'?

It sounds almost as stupid as the 'make america great again' slogan. At least the donald could make that slogan catch on. I doubt sinkies and PAP can make "let's go back to honest politics again' into a catchy phrase.

Bonut

Have they started replacing IT staff with shitskins. Or better still, outsourced to India.

this is what happens when u have a company thats become overcomplacent and overreliant on publishing state propaganda and mouthwash over the years.....instead on focusing on quality journalism like wall street journal and time magazine and people who can actually write or publishing quality economic news and analysis like bloomberg and the economist(or what economist used to be six or seven years ago)......now u only have a newspaper that is read by john tan and his dog when they are taking a shit.

So when was the last time the PAP engaged in 'honest politics'?

It sounds almost as stupid as the 'make america great again' slogan. At least the donald could make that slogan catch on. I doubt sinkies and PAP can make "let's go back to honest politics again' into a catchy phrase.

its catchy when u combine "yes we can" and "make america great again" in obama's accent.

This is proof that the Lees come from a lineage of genetic cesspool. Property income is sustaining what is essentially a dead press.

I understand from most sinkies, including oppie cocksuckers, that they generally view the PAP Old Guard as some immortalized group of politicians. Ever pure, ever white. Hence, if any shady thing was done, they would push all the blame to Ah Gong alone, leaving the rest free. The hard truth is that back decades ago, Ah Gong wasn't all powerful. He needed lots of friends and allies to become the PM and remain so. So, anything he did that you hated, it was probably done with the direct support or tacit approval of the Old Guard. They were part of it and they directly benefited from what he did, especially in their political longevity.

But that's politics for you. It's not black-and-white as you put it. Blaming it all on one person or one family is just plain dumb and grossly inaccurate.

I understand from most sinkies, including oppie cocksuckers, that they generally view the PAP Old Guard as some immortalized group of politicians. Ever pure, ever white. Hence, if any shady thing was done, they would push all the blame to Ah Gong alone, leaving the rest free. The hard truth is that back decades ago, Ah Gong wasn't all powerful. He needed lots of friends and allies to become the PM and remain so. So, anything he did that you hated, it was probably done with the direct support or tacit approval of the Old Guard. They were part of it and they directly benefited from what he did, especially in their political longevity.

But that's politics for you. It's not black-and-white as you put it. Blaming it all on one person or one family is just plain dumb and grossly inaccurate.

If what you say is true then why is LKY the one still in power until he handed control to LHL & why did the old guard & not LKY, step down or were forced to retire:confused:

Some even had to run away to Canada & was sued by LKY.