• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Stop Saying Singaapore's one is so small!!! Singapore to match Malaysia's VEP

AsiaDK

ZB_14_12_2016_CJ_01_33796133_33796034_liyang_tanlhk.jpg

Malaysian signatory person: I am DK. Your one only so small.
KBW: Limpeh also DK!!! Singapore to match Malaysia’s road charges!

Singapore to match Malaysia’s road charge: Khaw Boon Wan http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news...ysia-s-road-charge-khaw-boon-wan/3424014.html

Singapore will match Malaysia’s RM20 road charge which was rolled out on Nov 1 last year, Minister for Transport Khaw Boon Wan announced on Monday (Jan 9). More details of the matching charge would be announced soon, Mr Khaw said.

... Malaysian signatory person: I am DK. Your one only so small.
KBW: Limpeh also DK!!! Singapore to match Malaysia’s road charges! ...
nola ...

twas ...

msian signatry person: u r dk ... mine oni so small ...

$8 hart burger: ofcos! sinkielan is world crass! world bestest! world lumpar 1! ...

I think the Malaysians are dumb to charge extra for traffic from Spore. Now with the ringgit so low many Sporeans & the foreigners living here would visit Malaysia regularly if it wasn't for these charges. Just look at the crowds taking the buses to JB.

It would inject $$$$$$ into the Malaysian economy at the expense of the Spore economy.

Kuailan

I think the Malaysians are dumb to charge extra for traffic from Spore. Now with the ringgit so low many Sporeans & the foreigners living here would visit Malaysia regularly if it wasn't for these charges. Just look at the crowds taking the buses to JB.

It would inject $$$$$$ into the Malaysian economy at the expense of the Spore economy.

Both size doesn't understand the word "Enough"

SG started to charged VEP on Malaysian cars coming to SG at $20.00 per day now they have increased to $35.00. Malaysian responded by charging same VEP RM20.00!

But JB doesn't understand this Malaysian coming to SG to work earn money good return!! Whereas SGprean visit Malaysia to spend Money! There's 2 different matters that JB didn't see it coming!! how stupid!!

Now Sg gahmen thinking of charging VEP again on Malaysian cars coming to SG
peg RM20.00 to S$ 6.60!! additional charges!!

Now Malaysian who's working in SG stands to loose out!! and pay the price!
Thank you JB for having VEP on SG cars plus your Polis suka suka say SG cars committed an offence 5 years ago without proved?? PAy the fine or we confiscate your car!! Day light Piracy or robbery whatever you called it!

retrenched

"Singapore has been implementing its VEP (Vehicle Entry Permit) fee since 1973. But we (Malaysia) only implemented the road charge of RM20 last November,” he said.

Singapore currently imposes a S$35 VEP fee on foreign-registered cars entering the country, although each vehicle is given 10 free days a year and there are no charges during the weekends. Cars entering Singapore between 5pm and 2am from Monday to Friday are also exempt from VEP.

Sounds pretty reasonable to me. They should make some money too.

Both size doesn't understand the word "Enough"...

You can't really blame the Malaysian authorities when they see the Spore gov't collecting $$$ from cars going into Spore. As the PAP say what's wrong with collecting more money :wink:

With the poor economic conditions in Spore it would be smarter for the Malaysian to lower the VEP to attract more Spore customers. In fact they should give Sporeans favourable treatment because it would also help to attract more Sporeans who have large disposal income than a typical Malaysian.

Malaysia has so many attractions like cheap medical care, property, food, .... etc.

AsiaDK

Malaysia is fastest growing exporter in ASEAN now, thanks to their ringgit weakness, More Japanese car assembly plants are entering Malaysia, producing greater GDP than Royce Rolls engines in Singapore.

Maybe the next election theme in Malaysia - Make Ringgit Great Again!

AsiaDK

Starting Feb 15, all foreign-registered cars will have to pay a reciprocal road charge (RRC) of S$6.40 per entry when they enter Singapore via the Tuas or Woodlands Checkpoints, the Land Transport Authority (LTA) announced on Monday (Jan 16).

The RRC mirrors Malaysia’s road charge of RM20 (S$6.40) per entry for non-Malaysia registered cars entering Johor, which was implemented on Nov 1 last year, the LTA said. http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news...singapore-to-pay-reciprocal-road/3441194.html

Be thankful we didn't charge S$20.

congo9

You can't really blame the Malaysian authorities when they see the Spore gov't collecting $$$ from cars going into Spore. As the PAP say what's wrong with collecting more money :wink:

With the poor economic conditions in Spore it would be smarter for the Malaysian to lower the VEP to attract more Spore customers. In fact they should give Sporeans favourable treatment because it would also help to attract more Sporeans who have large disposal income than a typical Malaysian.

Malaysia has so many attractions like cheap medical care, property, food, .... etc.

Yes, Roll out red carpet for Singaporean to come.

AsiaDK

Over the weekend, Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai had made a last minute appeal to Singapore to reconsider imposing the fee on Malaysian cars.

“We have good ties with the Singapore Government. So I hope that they will reconsider.

"To say that there is discrimination against Singapore-registered cars is not true.

"We will eventually implement these charges on all foreign-registered cars entering via the Thai border, Kalimantan (Indonesian border) and the East Coast in the peninsula.
http://malaysiandigest.com/frontpag...entering-the-island-rm20-starting-20-feb.html

so biased against Singapore cars. :oIo:

So what even if you implement on other borders? If you can. why can't we?

retrenched

the malaysian who helps build up zikapore at a great profit to himself, instead of staying behind in msia, is a good source of money for zikapore. ministers can look forward to a big pay hike.

msia should be more greedy with their hikes since they started later than zikapore which started collecting in 1973.

One full page yet nobody mention. The ringgit is deliberately weak to attract FDI. Sure it might make working overseas more attractive for some people, but it creates good jobs at home. Only downside is price inflation, things cost a bit more because imports cost more. Sinkies naturally become a scapegoat for their domestic price increases as we too are feeling the effects of a weaker sing dollar's purchasing power in sg.

Long story short, everybody spends less on average, governments collect more revenue, and politicians are perceived to have made right response. Everybody wins, except you! :cool:

AsiaDK

A lecturer with Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM) has questioned the Singapore government’s motive to introduce the Reciprocal Road Charge (RRC), viewing the move as an unfair one compared to the policies introduced by Malaysia “Their government does not want people to make noise, especially after Malaysia recently introduced the RC, which they felt was targeting them,” he told The Star.

He said in the long run, the RC would have a negative impact on Singapore.

“The majority of Malaysians who go to Singapore on a daily basis are those working there and many do not take their Malaysian-registered vehicles. http://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2017/01/17/don-questions-singapores-motive-to-implement-rrc/

ya, working here illegally without work permit right? So many are hiring malaysians without work permit.

AsiaDK

16.jpg

Housewife Choong Swee Lan, 50, said it would be a huge burden if the fare is raised again as she is currently paying RM1,400 just to send her two children to school across the Causeway.

Another motorist, wishing to be known only as Jack, 36, said it is tough for people like him who drive to Singapore frequently to meet with his business partner who runs a workshop in Jurong.

Contractor Idzwan Idzhar Marappan, 27, who goes shopping and dining in Singapore with his friends and family every week, said he might start carpooling with others to save cost.

"As if the existing charges such as the VEP and tolls are not enough, now we have to fork out an extra S$6.40," he sighed.

Sales manager Shareen Kaur, 30, who commutes to Singapore for work daily, said she would rather wake up much earlier to travel by public transport than pay more for the RRC.

School Children? - Why are there so many malaysians getting partially-subsidized education in Republic Polytechnic?
Workshop? - Many mechanics works in our local workshops, including reputable car distributors without work permit because these distributors outsourced the installation of accessories to third party vendors
Contractor? - Countless malaysian renovation contractors work illegally in Singapore
Sales Manager? - MLMs and enterprising sales people from Malaysian roam around without a need to pay any tax for their earnings.

no_faith

Raising the price might prevent more msian cars entering sg to choke up the traffic.
Since riggit so low...increasing the fee...sg ppl got feel meh? Still enter la haha

Mai kay gao la...both govt all revenue:biggrin:
Bankers always win. Players keep losing.