• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious #ReturnOurTerrex: It's time for Singapore to establish diplomatic ties with Taiwan

AsiaDK

In the last 30 years we bent over backwards in providing them access to URA, HDB, Port Operations, and nearly every aspect of our Civil Service except the Military and the Intelligence Services. We also sent over PA staff, PAP party members and even YPAP and told them how the PAP controls the country.

We have given them numerous scholarships for postgraduate educations and even paid for language courses for their senior military staff.

And in turn we were royally screwed by them repeatedly starting with Suzhou. We handed over everything for free and they took it for free with no shame.

I am not sure how far we need to bend over to get repeatedly screwed by them. At least the Taiwanese and the HongKongers are prepared to stand up to them.

China has detained our Terrex for over a month. There are so many big countries out there, US, Japan, India, UK, Germany..........why must we live in fear for China specifically? Is it because Chinese only knows how to bully Chinese? They have all the glam after confiscating our vehicles and it's high-time that they return to us.

Sorry, i think we shouldn't be so afraid of China. Touch our hearts, we had always been good to China than many countries in the world. Today, China took our sovereign and military assets. It's really a humiliation that even some in China would agree that they went too far. Will China better apprehend our humiliation if we recognize Taiwan's independence?

Even if one day, we established diplomatic ties with them like 21 other smaller states in the world, Taiwan is a de-facto sovereign state. Everyone is just being hypocrite to declare that Taiwan is under China's control.

I don't understand why China must go all out to embarrass and humiliate Singapore to such an extend. Giving face is a kind of respect in Chinese culture. Even when gangsters go around intimidate people, they will provide a way-out to offer closure and not force people into a corner to avoid retaliation.

salim

Re: #ReturnOurTerrex: It's time for Singapore to establish diplomatic ties with Taiwa

Gotta agree with the sentiment here.

Time for Singapore to hit back.

1) Downgrade China-Singapore diplomatic relationship;

2) Suspend all exchange programmes;

3) Seek to pass a resolution condemning China's behaviour in the strongest term at the United Nations assembly

4) Establish formal diplomatic relationship with Taiwan.

If China does not treasure our relationship, then let it be royally screwed, come what may.

pusy2rights

Re: #ReturnOurTerrex: It's time for Singapore to establish diplomatic ties with Taiwa

Very true.

SG soon will be degraded down to the same ranks as the last few Banana Islands and African Tribe Republics which choose ROC over PRC.

Population in SG will fall to 250K, 99% fled as refugees, mostly dead within 1 yr from fleeing. GDP lost 99.9%. World Bank Rank #3 Global Debts amount.

But very good since every 3 months one government will collapse, and each year can hold 3 GE, & PE. Every Ah Neh Ah Beng can take turn to be PM, MP, President.

Corruption will be #1 in the world. Mata use gun to commit robbery, better than SSG Iskanda @ Hillside Drive (Kovan).

HUAT!

AsiaDK

Update: PM Lee asked Hong Kong leader for IMMEDIATE return of Terrexes

Prime Minister of Singapore Lee Hsien Loong has contacted Hong Kong Chief Executive C Y Leung about Singapore’s military vehicles that have been held at a Hong Kong port since November, said Singapore defence minister Ng Eng Hen on Monday (Jan 9). The military vehicles cannot be detained by other countries as they are protected by sovereign immunity, says Singapore’s defence minister.

2e4xk5j.jpg

SECOND TO NONE

AsiaDK

Sovereign immunity is a legal doctrine recognised internationally stating that a sovereign state is exempt from the jurisdiction of foreign national courts, in respect of its sovereign activities or property.

This means a sovereign state cannot be sued before the courts of another sovereign state — unless it decides to waive its immunity. Its assets are also not liable to seizure and forfeiture.

Associate Professor of Law Eugene Tan from the Singapore Management University said: “The doctrine of state immunity is founded on the equality, independence and dignity of states; that an equal has no authority over another equal.”

Diplomatic activity and assets is one well-known example of a sovereign act that enjoys immunity, cited Assoc Prof Tan.

http://www.todayonline.com/singapor...n-states-jurisdiction-foreign-national-courts

apogee

Sovereign immunity is a legal doctrine recognised internationally stating that a sovereign state is exempt from the jurisdiction of foreign national courts, in respect of its sovereign activities or property.

This means a sovereign state cannot be sued before the courts of another sovereign state — unless it decides to waive its immunity. Its assets are also not liable to seizure and forfeiture.

Associate Professor of Law Eugene Tan from the Singapore Management University said: “The doctrine of state immunity is founded on the equality, independence and dignity of states; that an equal has no authority over another equal.”

Diplomatic activity and assets is one well-known example of a sovereign act that enjoys immunity, cited Assoc Prof Tan.

http://www.todayonline.com/singapor...n-states-jurisdiction-foreign-national-courts

What if China view that the tanks were brought into a province of China (that is taiwan) and was an act of aggression. Can you have immunity?

AsiaDK

What if China view that the tanks were brought into a province of China (that is taiwan) and was an act of aggression. Can you have immunity?

Say until like that is machiam Singapore or Taiwan going to invade China.
Then really buay swee if they are going to argue their way through with that. I don't think China will scoop so low

apogee

Say until like that is machiam Singapore or Taiwan going to invade China.
Then really buay swee if they are going to argue their way through with that. I don't think China will scoop so low

Singapore can also go to PAC for ruling like Philippines.

Very simple lah, send a message to China that the PAP is not happy by sending all the ping pongers & badminton players back. If no response then escalate & start kicking out all the prostitutes, sex scammers, trouble makers, fake monks, .. then if no respond then send more PRC citizens back.

There are so many PRC citizens in Spore & many of them are actually dead beats. If Spore really requires replacements I'm sure there are other nationals who would be happy to replace them. With Spore in recession, the PAP can take the oppurtunity to cull the PRC from Spore. I doubt the state can afford to support as many of these FT:rolleyes:

Temasek may have some $$$ invested in China but are they actually making any money:confused: Isn't it time for them to cut their losses & pull out since China don't value Spore's investments? In the past Spore didn't have any investments in China & we got along fine. Then came the billions of losses from Suzhou,...., faulty elevators & trains from China. Enough is enough lah.

It is the nature of small people to get riled over small stuffs. :rolleyes: Let me remind you it is just $30m or so, a drop in the ocean. No need to get worked up over small change. :cool:

Wunderfool

That's why I quote the lesson from Animal Farm - All animals are created equal , but some animals are more equal than otthers.

Wunderfool

Remember Singapore - Suzhou Industrial Park 's failed venture. LKY decided to terminate the venture by selling away our majority stake to the Suzhou 's government.

For this case, you can kiss good-bye to your Terrex. Consider it a failed venture.

beegs

give it to them and send all PRC back

iluvgst

Very true.

SG soon will be degraded down to the same ranks as the last few Banana Islands and African Tribe Republics which choose ROC over PRC.

Population in SG will fall to 250K, 99% fled as refugees, mostly dead within 1 yr from fleeing. GDP lost 99.9%. World Bank Rank #3 Global Debts amount.

But very good since every 3 months one government will collapse, and each year can hold 3 GE, & PE. Every Ah Neh Ah Beng can take turn to be PM, MP, President.

Corruption will be #1 in the world. Mata use gun to commit robbery, better than SSG Iskanda @ Hillside Drive (Kovan).

HUAT!

i would not mind such a scenario. cheap landed housing, no crowds and no traffic.

before all this tok cock, can pls court martial send him to detention barrack and then demote the general to LCP who started this exercise for losing 9 terrex first.

Gotta agree with the sentiment here.

Time for Singapore to hit back.

1) Downgrade China-Singapore diplomatic relationship;

2) Suspend all exchange programmes;

3) Seek to pass a resolution condemning China's behaviour in the strongest term at the United Nations assembly

4) Establish formal diplomatic relationship with Taiwan.

If China does not treasure our relationship, then let it be royally screwed, come what may.

It is very easy. Tell Ah Loong to do this tomorrow and PRC will nuke SG52 in no time, not more further discussion:

Take his father LKY's ashes and deposit inside Shinzo Abe's Yasukuni Shrine - where it belongs!

:rolleyes::biggrin:

Do it ASAP and waste no more time!

rotiprata

#ReturnOurTerrex: It's time for Singapore to establish diplomatic ties with Taiwa

i say: let the tiong keep the terrex... our relationship with taiwan is much more important. .

Starlight will go on.... and FARK the Tiongland

no_faith

Taiwan the top rich families their manufacturing and investmemt also in mainland.
So forge better relationship with taiwan and forgot china, i dont get it.
And taiwan not an independant state, i believe till now not even a WTO member.

AsiaDK

If China returns to us now, we will probably be polite and even thanks them for resolving the shipping document oversight, ie give each other a stage to end this boliao deadlock. Then within hours after our defense minister spoke, china warned us to watch what we say.

China urges caution with words, actions on Terrex issue
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news...th-words-actions-on-terrex-issue/3424574.html

Sighzzz, don't need be so bitter mah. Maybe if we don't get it back soon, we can invite President Tsai for CNY countdown in Singapore. Singapore is a splendid host and female leaders usually like our culture and country.

649f70d7fa3d2a5d7a295b44eaad34d2.jpg

AsiaDK

Yu Jie, a research fellow at the London School of Economics’ IDEAS foreign policy think tank, said the episode displayed “a significant expectation gap” about bilateral ties between Singaporean and Chinese leaders. Chinese leaders expect Singapore to solely function under its orbit because of historical intra-elite ties with the majority Chinese island nation, she said. http://www.scmp.com/week-asia/geopo...p-its-foreign-policy-balancing-act-after-hong