• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Global Times: Trump must pay respect to China!

archcherub

China is essentially subsidizing the world by thrashing its airs and waterways when it manufactured for the world. Will the Americans got the stomach for more pollutions and harm to their health?

lol. thats a rather different and unique way of looking at chinese manufacturing.
come to think of it, its rather correct... lol
thanks china! :p

U believe UArseA CNN news? Hollywood movies depicting angmoh are heroes save the world? Who in the world want to destroy own country?

Chinese are clever people and sustainability is their virtual to make things last including take care of environment.

Believe Hollywood angmoh is like they say pigs can fly and u lanlan agree.

Trump will make US into a cesspool and kills Americans with his MAGA.

[video=youtube;pLwVycO7V-k]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pLwVycO7V-k&t=568s[/video]

China is essentially subsidizing the world by thrashing its airs and waterways when it manufactured for the world. Will the Americans got the stomach for more pollutions and harm to their health?

U have not see angmoh dirty have
Biz habits worse than China. Their Dictator CNN news is like Singapore msm praise the fske lord like believe 72 virgins waiting for u.

lol. thats a rather different and unique way of looking at chinese manufacturing.
come to think of it, its rather correct... lol
thanks china! :p

Asterix

I think we are discussing different thing. My initial post was in reply to your statement that :

"Anyone of these EUPA managers can be a better leader of Singapore ..."

I don't think those managers are great leaders which I explained - that EUPA is Taiwanese owned and the leadership comes from the Taiwanese. They are at most great managers, not leaders, as they are only following directions from the Taiwanese SOP. Credit again must go to the Taiwanese for being able to ensure that the Chinese workers are so efficient in EUPA. Probably because the workers are trained and selected based on performance at young age under the so-called "education program", provided by the company, indoctrinating them with the strict discipline.

Workers' attitude is a reflection of the leadership in the company. Leadership is not managerial role. So I shall rest my case here as we are focusing on different matters.

Your initial post may be in reply to one of my statements but you went on to state or imply other things and therefore those have to identified and countered regardless of what was your original intent in replying.

So, we have established that:

(a) the workers not abused, but granted an additional option in life which they gladly took; and

(b) the workers did not lose out on anything by the local government granting certain concessions to attract EUPA in the same way that EDB in Sinkieland would have done in its heyday.

Now, with regards to your point about the managers:

(1) Taiwanese and PRC managers both appeared in the video, what makes you think I am only talking about the PRC managers?

(2) Taiwanese are not Chinese? Those Taiwanese managers looked to you like they just emerged from an aboriginal reserve in Alishan?

(3) Workers' attitude is a reflection of leadership? Partly but not necessarily. I have also had a lot of subordinates (especially millennial Sinkies and Hongkies) who will blame their higher ups for everything including their own fucked up attitude. It is very easy way to soothe their own ego after having been scolded for making the same typo for the umpteenth time. A leader cannot undo bad family upbringing or habits acquired through an act blur culture from cradle until just before join company.

(4) There is no need to delineate so clearly between managers and leaders. Managers learn leadership skills while managing. Sinkies can't learn from the Taiwanese, but don't assume that PRC can't learn (and improve upon) from Chinese who had originally migrated to Taiwan from the mainland.

Asterix

China is developing, it's just like early years in s'pore. then, pple are not so civilised. but give it another 10 years, you will see high calibres and capable pple out of China. already, they are transforming and improving fast, the last i was in china in 2011, times have changed, within short span of 6 years, very tremendous change. it is not as laid-back as what sua gu sinkies have in their mind cos' sinkies mentality as usual, are stoopid and full of air, read only SPH and watch mediacock news, got their own brains washed in public toilet, also have no qualms.

Yeah lor! What happened to Sinkieland's "regionisation" exercise arh? Just hot air right?

In the meantime, other people have grown by leaps and bounds, leaving sua ku Sinkies far behind:

[video=youtube;CBzmo3PSy8I]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CBzmo3PSy8I[/video]

Asterix

Aiyoh, sua ku Sinkies, prease wake up your ideas okay:

Chinese electrical appliance manufacturer Midea’s move to acquire Kuka, the German robot maker, could be a defining moment in the evolution of China’s manufacturing sector. China’s reliance on low-cost, labour-intensive manufacturing to power its immense economy is no longer attractive, mainly due to the rise in labour and other costs. The world’s second-largest economy needs to seek alternative ways to grow and companies like Midea are showing the way.

Midea was founded in 1968 by He Xiangjian as a small township enterprise. Leading a group of residents in Beijiao, Guangdong province, He raised 5,000 yuan (HK$5,834) to establish a bottle lid production workshop. Midea has since transformed into a global player pushing the technology and innovation frontier.

It currently owns some of China’s top home appliance brands and its total group revenue globally in 2015 was over US$21 billion. Its rise epitomises the thriving Chinese innovational and entrepreneurial spirit that emerged after the economic reforms spearheaded by late paramount leader Deng Xiaoping (鄧小平).

For a long time, China’s manufacturers were branded copycats (shanzhai). Even though there are still plenty of shanzhai companies around, many more established companies like Midea are transforming themselves into market leaders and disruptors through innovation, evolution, experimentation and a closer connection with consumers. Midea’s latest acquisition target marks its foray into Industry 4.0.

So why is a maker of fridges and air conditioners interested in state-of-the-art industrial robotics? The heart of the matter can be found in two key phrases, “Industry 4.0” and “Made in China 2025”.

“Industry 4.0” refers to the concept of fully automated production facilities that require minimal human involvement. This fourth stage of the industrial revolution represents the convergence of the internet of things and the control of cyber-physical systems.

“Made in China 2025” is an initiative by the Chinese government to drive manufacturing innovation, strengthen the industrial base and promote breakthroughs in key industrial sectors, with the ultimate goal of enhancing international competitiveness and improving the image of Chinese brands. It is one of the most prominent concepts in China’s 13th five-year plan.

China’s latest strategic plan not only involves acquiring foreign companies, but also embracing the principles of Industry 4.0. This was seen in the 2014 Sino-German Cooperation Action Plan under the theme “Design Innovation Together”. This plan facilitates bilateral cooperation where both countries commit to improving collaboration in areas such as mobile internet, the internet of things, cloud computing and big data, along with policy and regulatory support.

Industry 4.0 envisions a future with shortened model and upgrade cycles, and a higher degree of personalisation. For a white goods maker, it means being able to adapt quickly to changing consumer needs while reducing production overheads, costs and the capability to offer solutions based on consumers’ exact needs.

Haier is a good example of a company that has already begun its foray into Industry 4.0 territory. Its latest “Connected Factory Programme” allows it to mass produce personalised products instead of the traditional large-scale factory that only produces one type of product per cycle. Thanks to this new factory model, Haier’s customers will be able to order tailor-made products such as air conditioners that filter out methanol.

While China has traditionally enjoyed low labour costs with a comparatively higher labour-to-production ratio, its workforce of young, cheap labour has become scarce. Facing these new demographic changes, Industry 4.0 stands to shift China’s industry to more automated and labour-light practices. Fang Hongbo, Midea’s chairman, said this was a major motivating factor for their offer for Kuka.

Many regard most industries in China as still operating in the “Industry 2.0” era – a more traditional mass production assembly line system. For these manufacturers, directly diving into Industry 4.0 would be an incredibly difficult leap due to the cost of replacing and upgrading their plants and infrastructure.

This is where Kuka comes into play for Midea. By investing in Kuka, which is heavily focused on digitising its industrial manufacturing solutions, Midea stands to directly benefit from Kuka’s Industry 4.0 expertise and its vast foreign network. Kuka can provide vital technologies to help Midea build up its Industry 4.0 strategy and production lines, while Midea will assist Kuka with its expansion plan and growth strategy in China.

The acquisition would be a turning point that might very well help Midea become part of China’s very own Industry 4.0 vanguard. Other Chinese firms that have recently acquired German companies with Industry 4.0 capabilities include ChemChina (machinery maker KraussMaffei ), Shanghai Electric Group (hi-tech equipment manufacturer Manz) and Shang Gong Group (knitting machine maker H. Stoll).

This trend in acquiring robotics and automation technologies should bring increased efficiency and production to China’s manufacturing. It will also help drive down costs for Chinese companies and assist in reaching their goals of transforming into Industry 4.0 enterprises.

Chinese manufacturers have come a long way from being shanzhai companies, and are now increasingly technology-driven and innovative. Judging from recent developments, it looks like their time has come.

Not many Chinese manufacturers may get there, but some will, and as I’ve always said: “A small percentage of a large number can still be significant.” And, those who do “make it” will serve as role models for many more to come.

http://www.scmp.com/comment/insight...-german-robot-maker-kuka-may-be-turning-point

[video=youtube;cvQ53o3P0oo]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cvQ53o3P0oo[/video]

[video=youtube;tIIJME8-au8]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tIIJME8-au8[/video]

more likely will inject some malware that will keep owners of these robots at the flip of the kill switch

[video=youtube;rL6RRIOZyCM]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rL6RRIOZyCM[/video]

U believe UArseA CNN news? Hollywood movies depicting angmoh are heroes save the world? Who in the world want to destroy own country?

Chinese are clever people and sustainability is their virtual to make things last including take care of environment.

Believe Hollywood angmoh is like they say pigs can fly and u lanlan agree.

Alamak ...that is Al Jezeera lah, not CNN. I know you hate West but don't do it blindly.

Agreed. It is a better option for the kids of poor farmers. However, the point to note is that such an option is made possible only with the Taiwanese taking the lead role; with their know how and global network. The Chinese leadership has not attained that capability yet.

Taiwanese are shrew. Why do they set up in China, and not just expand their existing facilities which are already there in other SE Asian countries? I can only conclude that China leadership must have given them the best terms ( at the expense of the workers ). More importantly, the Chinese workers are still with the communist mindset and can accept such regimental form of work environment readily. Furthermore, other countries will not OFFICIALLY allow such form of labour arrangements.

So the main strength of China is its cheap, disciplined and hardworking workforce. Put their leadership and management skill is still questionablle.

That's why if you got talent, China will take you in anytime. They need capable people.

winners

To some naive Sinkies who think that robotic automation is the panacea to all manufacturers, think again. I have worked, installed and programmed with FANUC AUTOMATION (FA) robots before. Robotics are only suitable for repetitive high volume productions where the same products are being made for at least a few years. It may take up to a month or more to retool and test a new production line in case of a change to its product range, depending on its complexity. For low and mid volume manufacturing, it is on the contrary, more disruptive.

Also, robotic automation is detrimental to the labor force. For a country like Tiongland, where the main objective is to provide even more jobs to the hundreds of millions of workers, it is definitely not an ideal choice, at least not in the next few decades. Robotic automation is most practical for countries with limited manpower and a shrinking labor force, such as Japan. It is definitely not suitable for Tiongland where there are still, abundant of workers hungry for jobs. Otherwise, EUPA would have not set up in Xiamen to take full advantage of the cheap and readily available workforce being offered by the Chinks.

I agree it's more like automation displacing jobs.

tiongs are buying european companies for their "made in germany", "made in france", "made in italy", "made in belgium", "made in uk" labels. products coming out of those plants will be a far cry from their original products. they are sucking up design, technology and advanced processes that cum with the acquisitions. the final high end markets are still america and europe, knowing full well that the "made in china" label will be detested and cause disgusting reactions. even at home in tiongland, tiong buyers are shunning "made in china" products and drool over "made in america" and "made in europe" stuff. the robotic tech will spawn into other auto-appliance commercial and consumer products to flood the u.s. and euro markets. although with the "made in germany" label, these tiong products will be cheap but sub-standard, faulty, and hazardous, destroying the "made in germany" namesake in a few years. the same can be said about tiong products disguised as euro products cumming out of france, italy, belgium, u.k. today.

Asterix

To all the Sinkie alibabas in this forum, Toyota wasn't built in a day and started with cartoon looking Corollas and now got Lexus:

Chinese consumers are dividing American car brands into two categories: Winners and losers.

Premium American cars are thriving in China where driving a prestigious brand dramatically lifts your social status. Sales are humming, based on data from the China Association of Automotive Manufacturers and company reports:
Brand Sales Jan-May 2016 Growth 2016/2015
Buick 470,000 29%
Cadillac 46,000 35%
Tesla 1,600 66%
Jeep 58,000 68%
Lincoln 8,100 116%

But “value for money” American cars are coming under pressure.
Brand Sales Jan-May 2016 Growth 2016/2015
Chevrolet 176,000 -33%
Fiat 8,250 -46%
Chrysler* 1,740 +13% (tiny base)

What's behind the diverging performances? Chinese automakers are closing the perceived quality gap GPS +0.13% with mass-market foreign nameplates. This is a crucial new development. During my first 25 years in China everyone at the office understood that the guy who bought a Chinese brand car did so only because he could not afford a foreign one. "Oh, Engineer Li just bought a Chery QQ. Money must be tight."

Such stigmas are fading fast. Chinese automakers like Great Wall, Geely and Roewe are vastly improving interiors and overall fit and finish. Technology is up-to-date, too:

Geely Boyue owners can sync with Apple Car Play and give voice commands to get directions to the nearest gas station.

Changan Automotive engineers guided their autonomous vehicle over 1,200 miles of highway to Beijing earlier this year.

Shanghai Automotive in July joined with Alibaba in launching the Roewe RX5, a highly advanced connected car that runs Internet services on Alibaba's YunOS operating system.

Car buyers now feel that some Chinese manufacturers offer products that are competitive with foreign brands, but at a lower price. (It's not just the Americans who are feeling the heat: Hyundai , Citroen and Kia sales are also down).

Chinese brands are at their best when making SUVs, China's fastest growing segment. Chinese will outnumber foreign brand SUV sales this year for the first time ever. SUVs now account for 35% of all passenger vehicle sales.

Who are the leading Chinese makes? Chongqing-based state enterprise Changan Automobile is on track for more than 1 million sales this year. Number two is Great Wall Motors, an SUV specialist projected to achieve 900,000. Third best among Chinese brands is the Hong-Kong listed Geely Automobile, chasing 600,000 sales in 2016. (Geely also owns the resurgent Volvo Cars).

Chinese brands also lead in electric car sales. Warren Buffett-invested BYD (Build Your Dreams) is out in front in this hot segment, where sales are expected to double to 600,000 this year. Samsung invested $449 million into BYD during the third week of July, joining Buffet and Bill Gates as high profile global shareholders.

You might be wondering about Ford, arguably the quintessential value-for-money brand. After several consecutive years of record sales, deliveries in 2016 are flattish, up just 2 percent.

Distinctive niche products like muscular Mustangs and F-150 Raptors can help. But that's not going to be enough. Ford must also offer breakthroughs in mobility services and connectivity. An opportunity for Ford Smart Mobility to define its mission?

Thriving in China remains a top priority for executives at GM, Ford and FCA. China vehicle sales this year will approach 24 million, compared to 17 million in the United States. Detroit must be thrilled to see strong and profitable growth from prestige brands like Jeep, Buick, and Lincoln. And they no doubt feel increasingly unsettled about the rest of their portfolios.

Looking at China’s other industries gives us an ominous picture of the future for the automotive mass market. Chinese brands, once ridiculed as also-rans, today utterly dominate the TV, computer, cell phone, motorcycle, and home appliance markets in the People's Republic.

Middling American car brands are under attack. Their vulnerability might help explain, in part, why American automakers' share prices refuse to sparkle despite record profits.

Chinese consumers passion for brands should not be mistaken for brand loyalty. They're moving on.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/michael...issing-chevrolets-and-chryslers/#225b64471ae5

I purposely choose a Mandarin video to make these Sinkies alibabas feel inferior:

[video=youtube;93drUJPPXgk]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=93drUJPPXgk[/video]

Asterix

To some naive Sinkies who think that robotic automation is the panacea to all manufacturers, think again. I have worked, installed and programmed with FANUC AUTOMATION (FA) robots before. Robotics are only suitable for repetitive high volume productions where the same products are being made for at least a few years. It may take up to a month or more to retool and test a new production line in case of a change to its product range, depending on its complexity. For low and mid volume manufacturing, it is on the contrary, more disruptive.

Also, robotic automation is detrimental to the labor force. For a country like Tiongland, where the main objective is to provide even more jobs to the hundreds of millions of workers, it is definitely not an ideal choice, at least not in the next few decades. Robotic automation is most practical for countries with limited manpower and a shrinking labor force, such as Japan. It is definitely not suitable for Tiongland where there are still, abundant of workers hungry for jobs. Otherwise, EUPA would have not set up in Xiamen to take full advantage of the cheap and readily available workforce being offered by the Chinks.

As far as I'm concerned robotics is the answer to many everyday practical problems, for example:

1) no need to do domestic chores yourself or worry about what type of maid/butler/chaffeur you invite into your personal space to ruin your life;

2) when personal equipment like hands and legs go with age, exo-skeleton (a form of attached robotics) will ensure mobility and power even better than the original personal equipment.

For society, it will also be good, nursing homes will be staffed by robots who will wash your aged parent's soiled backside with no complains and no danger of being so frustrated with a dead job that she will take it out on your helpless aged parent. No need for Pinoise or Sinkie (even worse right) nursing staff - think about it!

Your comments about the limits of robotics' capabilities in the industrial automation space applies to technology as of today. Improvements will no doubt be made to overcome all those limitations. Who would have thought of 3D printing years ago and yet today it is a reality. Think ahead not behind.

The Tiongs are thinking ahead to when their labour force will be shrinking. In time to come, they will face the same problem as Japan.

All the stubborn and rude waiters, coolies, etc presently in developed countries can rot in Africa for all I care. Their being replaced by robots will for one thing imply that they will not be able to afford smartphones and reduce their productivity at work with it while increasing the nuisance factor in public places. Heil Robots!

Asterix

yeah right. tiong automakers resort to copying american and euro autos wholesale to bring knockoffs at a lower price to sell.

http://driving.ca/lexus/auto-news/e...hinese-rip-off-cars-vs-their-original-designs

http://jalopnik.com/these-are-chinas-most-shameless-knockoffs-477338110

Did I not tell you that John D Rockefeller's father was a con man who travelled from town to town selling quack medicine? Why do you think the UArseA have to come up with the FDA?

How many stock manipulation scams happened in the UArseA before they instituted the SEC? Besides Jay Gould, John F Kennedy's father was also a world crass stock market manipulator.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joseph_P._Kennedy_Sr.

In 1919, Kennedy joined the prominent stock brokerage firm of Hayden, Stone & Co. where he became an expert in dealing in the unregulated stock market of the day, engaging in tactics that were later labeled insider trading and market manipulation. He happened to be on the corner of Wall and Broad Streets at the moment of the Wall Street bombing on September 16, 1920, and was thrown to the ground by the force of the blast.[23] In 1923, he left Hayden and set up his own investment company. Kennedy subsequently became a multi-millionaire during the bull market of the 1920s, and even more wealthy as a result of taking "short" positions in 1929.

David Kennedy, author of Freedom From Fear, describes the Wall Street of the Kennedy era:

[It] was a strikingly information-starved environment. Many firms whose securities were publicly traded published no regular reports or issued reports whose data were so arbitrarily selected and capriciously audited as to be worse than useless. It was this circumstance that had conferred such awesome power on a handful of investment bankers like J. P. Morgan, because they commanded a virtual monopoly of the information necessary for making sound financial decisions. Especially in the secondary markets, where reliable information was all but impossible for the average investor to come by, opportunities abounded for insider manipulation and wildcat speculation.