• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat 130km to eat Ah See Wanton Mee !!

soikee

I never thought I will do it for a bowl of wanton mee but I heard of Ah See Wanton Mee so many times that I thought I better close this chapter once and for all. I even met one bloke in London who raved about it.

So with couple of kakis we headed North. Most came along for the ride. Here is the address.
Jalan Jenang Dalam, Kampung Pegawai, 83000 Batu Pahat, Johor, Malaysia. Its in the heart of town and not in some ulu area.

And it turned out to be the real deal - memories of good hawker fare of yesteryears started to flood thru. The noodle taste and texture, the sauce and the wanton all were excellent. One of the kakis who came from the ride had 3 rounds while the rest of us had 2 rounds. We then found out that everything including the noodles are prepared upstairs of the shophouse. Its a family run joint that began in the 1940s and now in the hands of the 3rd generation. The name of the shop is Chop See Kee but more commonly known as Ah See Wanton Mee as explained by the locals.

Seriously if you yearn for the good old days, this has to be in your bucket list.

4411884.jpg
1035036.jpg

In 2006 together with 6 cycling buddies on our way to Melaka we stopped by this wanton mee shop to get our fix.

After getting our fix we rode another 110 kms to reach Hotel Equatorial in Melaka at 3 pm where we rested for the night.

At 6 am the next morning we left Melaka to ride another 150 kms to arrive in KL at 1 pm.

We had on many occasions also ridden 85 kms via Woodlands causeway to Kota Tinggi to get our wanton mee fix.

After wanton mee breakfast at KT we would ride another 90 kms to Desaru and then to Sungei Ringgit for seafood lunch
and thereafter another 20 kms to Pengarrang Pier to catch a bum-boat ride back to Changi Point.

bodycells

4411884.jpg
1035036.jpg

In 2006 together with 6 cycling buddies on our way to Melaka we stopped by this wanton mee shop to get our fix.

After getting our fix we rode another 110 kms to reach Hotel Equatorial in Melaka at 3 pm where we rested for the night.

At 6 am the next morning we left Melaka to ride another 150 kms to arrive in KL at 1 pm.

We had on many occasions also ridden 85 kms via Woodlands causeway to Kota Tinggi to get our wanton mee fix.

After wanton mee breakfast at KT we would ride another 90 kms to Desaru and then to Sungei Ringgit for seafood lunch
and thereafter another 20 kms to Pengarrang Pier to catch a bum-boat ride back to Changi Point.

Sounds like a cool and fun way to do a road trip.

4411884.jpg
1035036.jpg

is cycling in malaysia a better experience than cycling in singapore?

soikee

Sounds like a cool and fun way to do a road trip.

The pier at Penggarang is Tanjong Berlungkor.

Yes my buddies and I lead a simple and healthy lifestyle.

Have also made 3 extremely gruelling rides up to Gentings casinos and more than a dozen rides up Frasers Hills.

4411884.jpg
1035036.jpg

i suggest u move your post to the philly bike ride thread.

gongkia

Traveling 130+130 km to eat one plate of wanton mee, such waste of time. Malaysia food street on the top floor of Jurong Point, the KL wanton mee taste is old school type.

Bro, even this joint you know!!. Did not realise that you and your group do rides in Malaysia. Have yet to do Malaysia.

4411884.jpg
1035036.jpg

Hans168

drop by Senkerang for best ikan pari masak by a Chinese who gets her fresh stingray from her fishmonger brother nearby wet market
steam prawns oso super.........
dun know address but next to a medium size river ........ cooked food centre opposite to wet market
every Sunday got Pasar Pagi there

I forgot to add that the stingray dish is so tasty, besides good fish, is due to the gravy with excellent ingredients - you will end up slurpping it besides enjoy the stingray meat.......... it is ok by sgian std but expensive to the locals