• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Top jobs in S'pore by salary: crane operator paid more than accountant, TV editor

EnBloc

http://www.salary.sg/2015/top-100-jobs-in-singapore-2015/

1.Managing director/ Chief executive officer – $32,800
2.Specialist medical practitioner (surgical) – $32,713
3.Specialist medical practitioner (medical) – $28,413
4.Commodities derivatives broker – $25,000
5.Foreign exchange dealer/ Broker – $21,667
6.Chief operating officer/ General manager – $20,773
7.Company director – $18,100
8.Lawyer (excluding advocate and solicitor) – $17,370
9.University lecturer – $15,254
10.General practitioner/ Physician – $13,806
11.Marine superintendent engineer – $12,907
12.Treasury manager – $12,772
13.IT service manager – $12,537
14.Financial/ Insurance services manager (eg financial institution branch manager) – $12,333
15.Trade broker (including oil and bunker trader) – $12,156
16.Customer service manager – $11,667
17.Creative director (advertising) – $11,500
18.Ships’ engineer – $11,291
19.Chief information officer/ Chief technology officer – $11,102
20.Information technology project manager – $10,895
21.Financial/ Investment adviser – $10,834
22.Research and development manager – $10,823
23.Policy and planning manager – $10,790
24.Software and applications manager – $10,778
25.Business development manager – $10,620
26.Budgeting and financial accounting manager (including financial controller) – $10,420
27.Ship captain – $10,239
28.Network and communications manager – $10,000
29.Human resource manager – $9,825
30.Technical/ Engineering services manager (eg shipyard manager) – $9,670
31.Procurement/ Purchasing manager – $9,393
32.Sales and marketing manager – $9,310
33.Wholesale trade manager – $9,250
34.Advertising/ Public relations manager – $9,225
35.Quality assurance manager – $9,222
36.Human resource consultant (excluding executive search consultant) – $9,209
37.Manufacturing plant/ Production manager – $8,809
38.Risk analyst (financial) – $8,760
39.Management and business consultant – $8,346
40.Health services manager – $8,332
41.Administration manager – $8,095
42.Transport operations manager – $8,051
43.Building and construction project manager – $8,000
44.Building architect – $8,000
45.Editor (news and periodicals) – $7,890
46.Securities and finance dealer/ Broker – $7,727
47.Information technology auditor – $7,555
48.Chemical engineer – $7,519
49.Legal officer – $7,500
50.Premises and facilities maintenance manager – $7,450
51.Call centre manager – $7,410
52.Supply and distribution/ Logistics/ Warehousing manager – $7,218
53.Systems analyst – $7,098
54.Database administrator – $7,077
55.Financial analyst (eg equities analyst, credit analyst) – $7,026
56.Market research analyst – $7,000
57.Information technology testing/ Quality assurance specialist – $6,905
58.Musician, composer and singer – $6,896
59.Education manager – $6,880
60.Industrial safety engineer – $6,760
61.Network/ Infrastructure architect and engineer – $6,754
62.Chemist – $6,739
63.Electronics engineer – $6,600
64.Civil engineer – $6,580
65.Mechanical engineer – $6,570
66.Telecommunications engineer – $6,551
67.Software, web and multimedia developer – $6,499
68.Industrial and production engineer – $6,251
69.Medical scientist – $6,112
70.Electrical engineer – $6,090
71.Information technology security specialist – $6,013
72.Artistic director (stage, film, television and radio) – $6,000
73.Interior designer – $6,000
74.Crane/ Hoist operator – $5,900
75.Applications/ Systems programmer – $5,841
76.Chemical engineering technician – $5,813
77.Pharmacist – $5,806
78.After sales adviser/ Client account service executive – $5,784
79.Environmental engineer – $5,670
80.Accountant – $5,640
81.Assistant mechanical engineer – $5,612
82.Marketing and sales representative (medical and pharmaceutical products) – $5,527
83.Producer (stage, film, television, computer games, video and radio) – $5,460
84.Medical diagnostic radiographer – $5,373
85.Librarian – $5,329
86.Network/ Computer systems administrator – $5,302
87.Quantity surveyor – $5,285
88.Social welfare manager – $5,247
89.Marketing and sales representative (institutional sales of financial products) – $5,210
90.Materials engineer – $5,197
91.Supervisor/ General foreman of assembler and quality checker – $5,187
92.Assistant civil and structural engineer – $5,180
93.Civil engineering technician – $5,150
94.Mathematician, actuary and statistician (including operations research analyst) – $5,096
95.Assistant electrical engineer – $5,090
96.MRT service supervisor – $5,052
97.Medical imaging and therapeutic equipment technician – $5,050
98.Legal associate professional (eg paralegal) – $5,027
99.Editor (radio, television and video) – $5,008
100.Advertising copywriter – $5,000

Have you seen crane and some class 5 heavy vehicle operators at work? It takes eye-hand coordination which cannot be taught in any school

AsiaDK

Have you seen crane and some class 5 heavy vehicle operators at work? It takes eye-hand coordination which cannot be taught in any school

The new PSA cranes can grab 2 containers at one go. Effectively reducing the operator headcounts

Seriously, this kind of shit cannot be believed. Crane operator earning $5900 might have been the past. But now, any crane operator earning $5900 is immediately laid off and replaced with a PRC crane operator earning $2800, here on a work visa and stealing the sinkie crane operator's job.

[h=2]Crane operator complaints of too many foreigners in the industry pushing down salary[/h]
Dear Mr Gilbert Goh,
A brief introduction: I’m a crane operator.
I have spent almost 3 years in this trade.
I’m just sharing what our government has done to the crane industry.
As we all can remember, somewhere about 1 year ago, this was a pretty hot topic with headlines like “$4000 basic and $7000 salary for Crane Operators in Singapore”.
The response was overwhelming. There were hundreds (or even thousands) of local sign- ups.
The waiting period for the course was like 6 months and beyond.
The course fees went up and that did not discourage locals from signing up.
Well, as far as I can remember (correct me if I’m wrong), when I joined this trade in 2012, I was told that this position was reserved for locals and PR!
In 2012, when I joined the industry, I saw foreigners holding S-Pass in the trade.
Perhaps there’s not enough operators, so the government lossens the rules a little.
The salary also decreases as a result.
There are many people leaving the trade with reasons like the salary was too low or they couldn’t get the job.
Last year, when the HDB & LTA launched many projects, the demand went up for crane operators.
Granted, it was a lot.
However, the positions were filled out by foreigners holding work permit.
A lot of the local operators were replaced by cheap labour or low wage workers.
The main point is, while the government encourages local workers and pays for the apprenticeship course fees, they open the gate for the foreigners till it is now chock-full.
They came in with work permits, snatching all of our jobs, pushing down our pay very badly.
There are currently more than a hundred jobless local operators.
Please refer to Facebook page, Brother of The Hook Singapore for more info.
Regards,
Ajit

More proof that this sort of report is bullshit

[h=3]4 Responses to “Crane operator complaints of too many foreigners in the industry pushing down salary”[/h]
  • 4c1c1074c7dc568054ec914c7e7583e6
    sal says:
    June 1, 2014 at 2:48 pm
    The Authority encourage the local and PRS to get the licence but they never policize it and its a loop hole for the FWs. With the companies want cheap labour as other PMETS jobs, they will go for the cheapest…. typical local companies, encourage by NTUC. ‘ young, cheap & fast’ slogan.

• ffe385a5c415f2113d4e39a644a85473
    Dico says:
    June 3, 2014 at 9:44 pm
    My dear friend, this is only the beginning!
    We did not reached the 6.9 million population target yet and it is already so bad.
    Tell me what happens when we reached the 6.9 target?
    You know what to do in the next GE!

• 1c0ccb80f18de6871d3fd37b97cd3594
    Name says:
    June 4, 2014 at 1:34 pm
    what is the current pay range for crane operator now?

• 16638cd266397880b5fea80289555677
    xyz says:
    June 7, 2014 at 2:59 am
    Current pay for crane operator is what foreigners willing to accept — roughly $1.5K per month. Basic pay. You can work 12-15 hours a day to get OT pay. But some companies play punk — don’t pay you OT or keep on delaying in paying you. As S’pore’s economy gets worse in 2015/2016, more construction companies will default on paying salaries and run road. Like what happened 10 years ago in 2003/2004.

tun_dr_m

Do you have any fucking idea what you are talking about?

SG Top job is the CHOW BOH LAN drawing millions only inspect NDP parade standing there alike KAYU! KNN! Don't post crane operators & other BS! WAF!

nathan-ndp.jpg

16.Customer service manager – $11,667

Wat a bull-shit. My niece wok as CSM paid only $2,600 lah. Only take the top few level and not taking the average level.

no_faith

People compete for the best.
Now people compete for low wages just to get a job.:biggrin:
Rising cost low wages. Those who wan a job need to bid a lower wages to get hired.:biggrin: