• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Singapore .... Abandoned at sea!

soikee

Una Galani is an Associate Editor of Reuters Breakingviews, based in Hong Kong.

Abandoned at sea

6 December 2016

By Una Galani

Morale in Singapore is at rock bottom. The tiny Southeast Asian nation has worked hard in the 51 years since its birth to establish an outsize voice on the global stage. Now the city’s economy is in the doldrums and its influence is in question as China flexes its muscles.

The Lion City is heading for a recession, or two straight quarters of economic contraction, after the trade-reliant economy shrank 2 percent in the July-September quarter. Overall this year, the government reckons growth will be no faster than 1.5 percent.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong admits low growth may be the “new normal”. Some economists call Singapore the new sick man of Asia, supplanting the Philippines, whose economy is now growing almost four times faster.

To make matters worse, high costs are beginning to bite. Dinner party conversation is one symptom of the general lack of confidence in Singapore’s direction: the elite joke about packing up and selling one overpriced home for several overseas. A recent UBS survey of top-earning millennials found Singapore’s youth among the least confident of achieving their wealth goals.

A wealth of worries

Singapore’s top problem is that global demand remains weak. That is taking its toll on export-oriented sectors, especially oil services companies, where there have been high-profile defaults. Finance is a drag too; the sector accounts for about one-eighth of GDP and is suffering from sharp declines. Big names like Goldman Sachs and Standard Chartered have pared back local operations.

The pain is most glaring in the equity market, where trading volumes are low and de-listings continue. Companies from Thailand and Malaysia also now typically prefer to float in their home markets. The market value of Singapore’s FTSE Straits Times Index is flat, compared to a 34-percentage point increase for Hong Kong’s Hang Seng Index over the past five years, Datastream shows.

And while Singapore remains a top private banking centre, its reputation as the “Switzerland of Asia” is problematic. Revelations that money from 1MDB, the disgraced Malaysian sovereign fund, flowed through the city have led to intense regulatory scrutiny. Local authorities closed down the local operations of two private banks this year, and fined others.

Another threat to this key industry comes from larger neighbours like Indonesia and India, as they aggressively crack down on tax dodging. The worry is that citizens will, sooner rather than later, not only declare a large chunk of money but repatriate it too.

Adrift

The sense of vulnerability is acute because economic worries dovetail with political ones. Singapore has traditionally looked to the West on security issues and led its Southeast Asian neighbours in championing closer ties with the United States and Japan. At the same time, it relies on China for trade and tourism, which Natixis reckons amounts to 20 percent of Singapore’s GDP.

That position looks particularly problematic following the election of Donald Trump as the next U.S. president. The former reality star appears unwilling to maintain his predecessor’s pivot to Asia and pledges to roll back free-trade deals including the Trans-Pacific Partnership, an agreement Singapore saw as vital to U.S. credibility in the region.

Beijing has been quick to take advantage, using editorials in state newspapers to stress its displeasure at Singapore’s continued efforts to play a leadership role in the region. The latest skirmish involves Hong Kong authorities seizing Singaporean military equipment, which the latter insists previously passed through the territory without any problems.

China is also ramping up its cheque-book diplomacy, buying off Southeast Asian countries one by one. Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte and Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Razak have both made a show of embracing China over old Western allies, motivated in part by a desire to attract more investment. That leaves Singapore increasingly isolated.

Limited options

The options to fight back are limited. Singapore can let its currency ease in the coming months to support the economy but has no easy fix on the political side, where China has the power to make its problems worse.

Bankers worry, for example, that China might target the island nation as it moves to stem outbound capital flows. Or Beijing might let state-owned enterprises default on borrowings from Singaporean banks; loans to customers in Hong Kong and China account for more than 30 percent of the total at DBS, the Singaporean lender with a market value of $32 billion.

As long as global trade remains weak, the Lion City will struggle to roar.

Trump supporters like TS should be pleased of this outcome.

"Singapore has traditionally looked to the West on security issues and led its Southeast Asian neighbours in championing closer ties with the United States and Japan. At the same time, it relies on China for trade and tourism, which Natixis reckons amounts to 20 percent of Singapore’s GDP.

That position looks particularly problematic following the election of Donald Trump as the next U.S. president. The former reality star appears unwilling to maintain his predecessor’s pivot to Asia and pledges to roll back free-trade deals including the Trans-Pacific Partnership, an agreement Singapore saw as vital to U.S. credibility in the region."

Relax lah.. Ah gong will keep his promise...

hqdefault.jpg

bodycells

Trump supporters like TS should be pleased of this outcome.

"Singapore has traditionally looked to the West on security issues and led its Southeast Asian neighbours in championing closer ties with the United States and Japan. At the same time, it relies on China for trade and tourism, which Natixis reckons amounts to 20 percent of Singapore’s GDP.

That position looks particularly problematic following the election of Donald Trump as the next U.S. president. The former reality star appears unwilling to maintain his predecessor’s pivot to Asia and pledges to roll back free-trade deals including the Trans-Pacific Partnership, an agreement Singapore saw as vital to U.S. credibility in the region."

Trump will destroy sinkieland by ignoring it.

Trump is a president of USA, and he will do work for USA, not sinkieland.

This is what sinkieland has to wake up for.. Years on depending on others will leave you no where in the future. You cannot take care of yourself, when your spoonfeeder gets tired of you and leave you.

Getting spoonfed should be a temporary solution, not a permanent one.

So what is the mindset of a leader who is being spoilt and pampered since young.. Good luck sinkieland..

Trump will destroy sinkieland by ignoring it.

Trump is a president of USA, and he will do work for USA, not sinkieland.

This is what sinkieland has to wake up for.. Years on depending on others will leave you no where in the future. You cannot take care of yourself, when your spoonfeeder gets tired of you and leave you.

Getting spoonfed should be a temporary solution, not a permanent one.

So what is the mindset of a leader who is being spoilt and pampered since young.. Good luck sinkieland..

We need USA to protect Asia stability don't we? Not depending on USA for trade or money but to prevent bigger countries from invading us or other countries thus creating instability in the region.

bodycells

We need USA to protect Asia stability don't we? Not depending on USA for trade or money but to prevent bigger countries from invading us or other countries thus creating instability in the region.

your national security depends on other countries???

Trump will not give a shit unless you pay protection money..

what do you call a country that cannot protect itself, why the fuck u need an army in the first place?

dancingshoes

i reckon it isn't that bad! note that writer of this piece of article is an ah neh aka shit stirrer. i foresee once oil price recover and stabilise, growth will pick up. alternative to replace oil is not viable for global economy to grow and prosper.

AsiaDK

i foresee once oil price recover and stabilise, growth will pick up. alternative to replace oil is not viable for global economy to grow and prosper.

Oil producers are unhappy with each other, eg. Saudi, Iran, Russia, UAE.
Venezuela producing like crazy now because their currency collapsed in 2016.
Libya and Iraq are selling above quota.
Trump is promoting the use of cheaper fossil fuels such as coal.

Lastly, China starts to export excess diesel into the market. Just a few years ago, china ran out of diesel with trucks queueing hours for refueling.
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/arti...ports-rise-to-record-as-flooding-damps-demand

I don't think we will see US$100 oil anytime soon.

Pinkieslut

Sinkies and their so call "LEEders" have the syndrome akin to SPG's Pinkerton, Angmo the bestest mindset. Local SPGs often get pumped and dumped while having fantasies of being "saved" for a better life by Angmos. The Pinoy, ATBs and other third world bitches are more street smart and cunning. They empty the angmo wallet while proclaiming I Love you Long Long and sucking his cock.

Thats is the difference you see between being educated in Ivy Leagues or NUS versus School of Hard Knocks!

dancingshoes

yes, there must be a strongman among these middle eastern trouble makers, last week, putin has already agreed to cut even at their own expense. he shall be that strong man to calm this silly politicking and rivalry between OPEC and non-OPEC nations.

apogee

That is a role that China can play. China has better record than the USA. She has never invaded another country.

Trump may forfeit the TPP, but as he got our back you see. There is no need to panic. A grand reset is a great once in a lifetime opportunity for the bold.

your national security depends on other countries???

Trump will not give a shit unless you pay protection money..

what do you call a country that cannot protect itself, why the fuck u need an army in the first place?

When it comes to national security, better don't talk big and be safe then sorry. It helps to have a world superpower that will act against injustice from bullies. That's traditionally USA role. If everyone who is able to help mind their own business and be selfish like yourself, foreign bullies will be emboldened to make you dead. Sounds familiar to selfish sinkies?

Sinkies and their so call "LEEders" have the syndrome akin to SPG's Pinkerton, Angmo the bestest mindset. Local SPGs often get pumped and dumped while having fantasies of being "saved" for a better life by Angmos. The Pinoy, ATBs and other third world bitches are more street smart and cunning. They empty the angmo wallet while proclaiming I Love you Long Long and sucking his cock.

Thats is the difference you see between being educated in Ivy Leagues or NUS versus School of Hard Knocks!

Anything can also be twisted into sex related in this filthy forum. This is traditionally USA role to save the world in WW2. Isn't it? So far it's angmoh the best indeed as far as this is concerned. Of course they have also made mistakes like Iraq war.

That is a role that China can play. China has better record than the USA. She has never invaded another country.

China has never invaded another country as they think they have alot of land after united as one country and enjoying peace and prosperity. They were conceited with their prior achievements like firecrackers, paper etc; and were busy building and trimming gardens. While the angmohs in Europe were busy exploring and conquering other land as they were squeezed with little land in Europe and always having war with each other and no peace. Anyway after my experience with my barbarian mudlander Chinese neighbours, I will say don't count on Chinese to help Chinese at all. Chinese are famous for beating up own kind.