• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Another Disappointment for Indian Loving Angmo

Pinkieslut

U.S. Effort to Help India Build Up Navy Hits Snag

U.S. officials hoping to enlist India as a bulwark against China were alarmed to find the South Asian country's first locally made aircraft carrier wouldn’t be operational for up to a decade.

Setbacks for New Delhi’s first homemade aircraft carrier slows efforts to face China on high seas

By Daniel Stacey Nov 30, 2016 4:32 pm IST
Officials launched the hull of the INS Vikrant at the Cochin Shipyard in Kochi in 2013. ENLARGE
Officials launched the hull of the INS Vikrant at the Cochin Shipyard in Kochi in 2013. Photo: AFP/Getty Images

NEW DELHI–When top American naval engineers recently inspected India’s first locally made aircraft carrier they expected to find a near battle-ready ship set to help counter China’s growing sway in the Indian Ocean.

Instead, they discovered the carrier wouldn’t be operational for up to a decade and other shortcomings: no small missile system to defend itself, a limited ability to launch sorties and no defined strategy for how to use the ship in combat. The findings alarmed U.S. officials hoping to enlist India as a bulwark against China, people close to the meeting said.

“China’s navy will be the biggest in the world soon, and they’re definitely eyeing the Indian Ocean with ports planned in Sri Lanka and Bangladesh,” said retired Admiral Arun Prakash, the former commander of India’s navy. “The Indian navy is concerned about this.”

The February carrier inspection, in the port of Kochi, formed part of U.S. plans to share aircraft carrier technology with India. Indian naval officials followed up with a tour of an American shipbuilding yard in Virginia and strategy briefings at the Pentagon in September, the people close to the meetings said.

The U.S. and India are drawing closer politically and militarily. The two have participated in joint naval exercises with Japan. The U.S. has agreed to sell New Delhi everything from attack helicopters to artillery. Washington has approved proposals by Lockheed Martin and Boeing Co. to make advanced jet fighters in India. And in August, the two countries signed a military logistics-sharing accord.

devilblue

Goodu, it is not disappointment but another plot to engage stupid indian for US military hardware shopping spree and enticing arms race with China.

Typical yankee quasi military corporation think tank article strategies.

Pinkieslut

Goodu, it is not disappointment but another plot to engage stupid indian for US military hardware shopping spree and enticing arms race with China.

Typical yankee quasi military corporation think tank article strategies.

The Indian will shake his heads while saying "Yes ... Yes ..." when the US Military Attache ask if the Aircraft Carrier can be finished in YYY months.

After YYY months, the Attache will ask the same Indian "finished?". The Indian will shake his head then give 1001 reasons that he need another YYY x 10 months.

Sounds familiar?

duluxe

Relax, the corporation will still be intact, that means US will still pat on India's shoulder. Whoever considers himself or herself as decent being must learn to be more thoughtful and forgiving towards the Indians when they or we are learning to build aircraft carrier for the first time. You think so easy as building toy aircraft.

The Yankees don't know how Indians work. US corporations could have bigger profits if they didn't outsource to Indian companies.

Reddog

The sub continent will become the next middle east when USA decides to have a regime change in Paki. India will be the staging point and another long term customer for US Arms industry.

3_M

The Yankees don't know how Indians work. US corporations could have bigger profits if they didn't outsource to Indian companies.

India is a joke. People who worked with the indian should know how to take their promise with a big pinch of salt.

You dunno what you talking about. Indians now run US corporations from microsoft to google alphabet. Pepsi to pimco.

The Americans know full well what the Indians are like. I am sure the whole World would have fainted if the Carrier met specifications and was completed on time.

You cannot manage Indians in India but when they are outside India you can manage them with the right sort of motivations. The Americans know that they are very good with money and numbers, obsessed with positions in society and constantly hanker for recognition and the need to be talked about. So they build governance around these guys and made them deliver. Its no different to the organ grinder and the monkey and there is no doubt that monkeys are intelligent just that the organ grinder knows how to train and use them.

And the last major secret is to agree with them on everything they say if it does not affect your business, impact your bottom line or your personal life.

The good part is that second generation who are not born in India would grow up right and the do the right thing.

why is US so afraid of China?why?im sure tonychat has the answer.

everybody knows a real alpha male when they see one,and its not trump or duterte,its Xi jin ping.

borom

I worry for the local bank that is moving its IT arm to that "advanced country" .

Don't be caught up with angmoh marketing use India today. Average age of indians are 34 years old now. This is what angmoh want Indian young workers.

10 to 25 years later angmoh will dump indians when these 34s turn 44s -50s old age shit skins.

Talk about Indian talents no lah.

Look at Singapore in the 80s average age is 20s to 30s a nation of young people. Now plenty of old people angmoh says fuck off Sinkie.