• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious SIA retrenches 12% of pilots, Chinese airlines hire them for US$25k a month, huat ah!

Re: SIA retrenches 12% of pilots, Chinese airlines hire them for US$25k a month, huat

Shows again highest salaried ministers in the world cannot solve problems-and have to resort to retrenchments (SIA being the national airline and a GLC where Harry Lee will intervene if need be) .
So why pay more?
Or does it coincide with the parachuting of military personnel into GLC's- things somehow start to turn sour?

Unfortunately the 154th ranked mouthpiece cannot be relied on to do a scoop on this( they scooted?)-as they also suffer from the same problems!

what u mean?retrenchments are the best,good for cutting off the deadweight.should be performed once every yearly on about 5 percent of the staff,no one should ever get the idea they can suck and make mistakes and still last forever.the civil service would be 10 times more efficient if they implemented this idea.i tell u there is more lazy and incompetent morons in the civil service and military than there is tartar buildup on a chinaman's teeth.

government think having low employment in this country is good,what if low unemployment is simply a by effect of all the useless worthless jiak liao bees hanging around in our workforce dragging down our productivity?

babuSingh

Re: SIA retrenches 12% of pilots, Chinese airlines hire them for US$25k a month, huat

That is the problem. You pay good money to retain talent no matter how old they are. No amount of studies can match the relevant experience at a specialised job. Sinkie bosses fail to understand that. All they want is faster, better, cheaper

correct. sinkie bosses should emulate the pap leadership by paying top dollars for the experienced and talented pappie cabinet.

Unless the pilot talent can make a plane fly ten times faster and less fuel,they don't help anyone else,they don't help the airline make more money,they don't help customers save cost.however a cheaper pilot can still help by saving money.what they need is to hire business talents that can streamline all operations and save money and figure out how to make more money without compromising safety like saw pick hwa or jetstar CEO,i don't give a shit if my pilot Sia or JetBlue if I can get to Australia for less than $200.r remember $700 save on flight tickets is time save I have to spend working.that is savings for all humanity.

kryonlight

Chinese dogs, especially LHL, should wake up their idea. The money is with China now.

unbelievable SQ pilots pay is lower than PRC pilots. What happened to our swiss standard of living? cant even match china hainan village pay.

Cannot judge like that. Should compare annual package. Maybe the PRC airlines don't pay much bonus while GLC generally pays bonus of at least 3 months. So the SIA pay may not be lower after all. Actually Sgd18 to 20k is very decent pay for pilots considering only top management execs in a company make such pay of around Sgd300k assuming 3 month bonus while there are 2000 pilots in SIA. Assuming half captain, that is 1000 captains.

Unless the pilot talent can make a plane fly ten times faster and less fuel,they don't help anyone else,they don't help the airline make more money,they don't help customers save cost.however a cheaper pilot can still help by saving money.what they need is to hire business talents that can streamline all operations and save money and figure out how to make more money without compromising safety like saw pick hwa or jetstar CEO,i don't give a shit if my pilot Sia or JetBlue if I can get to Australia for less than $200.r remember $700 save on flight tickets is time save I have to spend working.that is savings for all humanity.

u are truly a fucking idiot. A really talented pilot is worth is weight in gold. Why? Because in an emergency, he is the difference between losing the plane and passengers and saving it. How much is that worth to the airlines? Its priceless. Losing a $100 million plane and then getting sued by the families of the victims will end up costing the airlines hundreds of millions $.

In the Hudson river crash, a less talented pilot would have tried to land the plane at the nearest airport and not made it. Crashing into a residential area short of the airport and losing the Airbus, crew, passengers and killing people on the ground would have caused hundreds of millions to US Airways. Sully put in on the Hudson river in a near perfect water landing. Hence saving everyone and most of the plane (cannibalized for spares). U telling me that a talent like Sully did not save the airlines a lot of money? U are an idiot.

Cannot judge like that. Should compare annual package. Maybe the PRC airlines don't pay much bonus while GLC generally pays bonus of at least 3 months. So the SIA pay may not be lower after all. Actually Sgd18 to 20k is very decent pay for pilots considering only top management execs in a company make such pay of around Sgd300k assuming 3 month bonus while there are 2000 pilots in SIA. Assuming half captain, that is 1000 captains.

Pilots are not stupid. They have already made that decision. Bonus is not the only consideration. The fact that they are not based in Singapore (the most expensive city in Asia) and based in some China city is already saving them 50% on their living expenses for themselves and their families.

I thought the pilots have been retrenched and that's why they joining PRC airlines? Which means the SIA pilot pay is not that unattractive. Plus they also got free training from SIA to become pilots so the overall package is very good. It's like no need to pay to go university and yet earns top management exec pay.

sadshishamo

Well said my friend...well said. Experience can save lives, planes and money during such emergencies....experience can also save costs for the airline by efficient operations during the course of normal operations by fuel uplifts and certain other day to day mundane operational decisions which are not visible to the public.

u are truly a fucking idiot. A really talented pilot is worth is weight in gold. Why? Because in an emergency, he is the difference between losing the plane and passengers and saving it. How much is that worth to the airlines? Its priceless. Losing a $100 million plane and then getting sued by the families of the victims will end up costing the airlines hundreds of millions $.

In the Hudson river crash, a less talented pilot would have tried to land the plane at the nearest airport and not made it. Crashing into a residential area short of the airport and losing the Airbus, crew, passengers and killing people on the ground would have caused hundreds of millions to US Airways. Sully put in on the Hudson river in a near perfect water landing. Hence saving everyone and most of the plane (cannibalized for spares). U telling me that a talent like Sully did not save the airlines a lot of money? U are an idiot.

sadshishamo

To get to Australia for $200 is a good deal of course but be wary of certain budget airlines. The budget should stop at the cockpit door. Bringing the 'budget' into the cockpit would mean compromising on training and checks which could result in poorly trained and monitored pilots who likely may not be able to perform optimally during non normal/emergency situations.

When things go well...budget is okay but when things go wrong it may end up that the plane will fly the pilot instead of the pilots flying the plane and that could be disastrous. Even on the ground some of these budget airlines pilots get disorientated in medium sized airports like Singapore.

I wouldn't put my family or myself on some of the budget airlines no matter how low they charge.

maxxi

Remuneration/perks of an airline up-north from here:

Capt salary HK$3 million +Outport allowence + profit share+bonus+housing+education + Gold bars on anniversary.
Pilots may take 15.5% retirement contribution as taxable cash salary
Co. covers 70% of international school fees for children, or 90% if they go to English Foundation School (a local and cheaper version of international school)
Housing allowance for HKG-based pilots only
This allowance may go to property purchased or rented in Hong Kong
2 types of allowances: (a) the cash housing allowance which is $14,000, $18,000 or 24,000 HKD (dependent on position and years of service, or the mortgage allowance, which is variable/fixed, currently at $5,800/mo.
15% tax rate in Hong Kong.

Amazing eh?.

AsiaDK

Hainan Airlines may just only be the 4th largest airlines from China but it enjoys the best operations margin among its peers because their boss integrate this business with a mad acquisition of related-businesses, such as distribution of computing hardwares to tourism. Hainan Group could be one of the largest M&A player in world in recent years.

To get to Australia for $200 is a good deal of course but be wary of certain budget airlines. The budget should stop at the cockpit door. Bringing the 'budget' into the cockpit would mean compromising on training and checks which could result in poorly trained and monitored pilots who likely may not be able to perform optimally during non normal/emergency situations.

When things go well...budget is okay but when things go wrong it may end up that the plane will fly the pilot instead of the pilots flying the plane and that could be disastrous. Even on the ground some of these budget airlines pilots get disorientated in medium sized airports like Singapore.

I wouldn't put my family or myself on some of the budget airlines no matter how low they charge.

I think so too. Pilot training and age of planes should be important consideration. I don't take budget airlines too. Nowadays many flights on discount, can fly to Europe for less than Sgd800 on angmoh normal airline.

One crash can wipe out an airline ...unless the airline pays lots for insurance.

Remuneration/perks of an airline up-north from here:

Capt salary HK$3 million +Outport allowence + profit share+bonus+housing+education + Gold bars on anniversary.
Pilots may take 15.5% retirement contribution as taxable cash salary
Co. covers 70% of international school fees for children, or 90% if they go to English Foundation School (a local and cheaper version of international school)
Housing allowance for HKG-based pilots only
This allowance may go to property purchased or rented in Hong Kong
2 types of allowances: (a) the cash housing allowance which is $14,000, $18,000 or 24,000 HKD (dependent on position and years of service, or the mortgage allowance, which is variable/fixed, currently at $5,800/mo.
15% tax rate in Hong Kong.

Amazing eh?.

Salary HKD3m? According to here Cathay pacific salary monthly from USD 11k to 14k for captains.

http://www.airlinepilotcentral.com/airlines/international/cathay_pacific

I thought the pilots have been retrenched and that's why they joining PRC airlines? Which means the SIA pilot pay is not that unattractive. Plus they also got free training from SIA to become pilots so the overall package is very good. It's like no need to pay to go university and yet earns top management exec pay.

90% of the pilots are already trained to some degree or completely trained
by the time they join SQ. SQ does not have a big pilot cadet course.

90% of the pilots are already trained to some degree or completely trained
by the time they join SQ. SQ does not have a big pilot cadet course.

90% means 1800 pilots. Got so many fighter plane pilots in Spore to join SIA as pilot? Besides you must have heard of mudlander SPR pilots making it in SIA? Like the one that got into some conflict with LKY? By the grace of kindest SIA, these mudlander pilots have been trained from scratch FOC and are the pride of their hometowns making big bucks.