• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Zikapore Running Very Low On Water! Use Less Water Please!

linggiu_3.jpg

Even as water-efficient devices helped Singaporeans cut water use by nearly 4.5 per cent over the last decade, a renewed call to do more has been made amid worries that water levels at Johor's Linggiu Reservoir, the country's main supply, are falling.

Singapore is also pushing ahead to its 2030 target of each person using 140 litres a day, down from the 151 litre-figure of last year.

Despite recent rains, the Linggiu Reservoir, from which Singapore draws more than half its water supply, is now just over a fifth full.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, speaking yesterday at an event to promote environmental awareness, highlighted the challenges that come with climate change.

"Droughts and water shortages are becoming more common," he said. "Linggiu Reservoir in Johor, which supplies water to Singapore, is very dry. Right now, (it is) less than one-quarter full, only 22 per cent. And that slightly improved because it rained last week."

While the country is already moving to increase water supply and making it more reliable, by building desalination plants for instance, there is still a role for all to play.

"Sustainability also depends on each one of us, how we live our daily lives and how we adjust our habits to be greener," PM Lee said.

Environment and Water Resources Minister Masagos Zulkifli urged Singaporeans to save water by taking shorter showers and washing vehicles less frequently, for instance. Calling the 22 per cent figure worrying, he said water is a resource Singapore must keep a close eye on. Despite efforts to increase local water supply, conditions across the Causeway have a significant impact here.

"When there is a drought up north... it affects our total water supply. We must... ensure our water supply is weather resilient, and take steps to conserve water use."

There has been some progress in the latter. In 2006, each household used a monthly average of 18,300 litres of water. This fell to 17,600 litres last year, going by figures from national water agency PUB. This roughly works out to every person going from using 158 litres a day a decade ago, to 151 litres last year.

There are two reasons for this - the first of which is the adoption of increasingly water-efficient appliances, such as washing machines.

The second is that the save water message has filtered through to the public, said Professor Ng Wun Jern, executive director of the Nanyang Environment and Water Research Institute at Nanyang Technological University. But there is a need to continue with ongoing efforts in education and increasing water efficiency, he added.

Last month, the authorities called for proposals to develop smart meters which can tell users in near real time, for instance through a mobile application, how much water and electricity they are using. Since August, consumers have been able to compare their water and energy use with that of neighbours within a block as well as with the national average. This is to nudge heavier users to cut back on their usage.

Meanwhile, the Ministry for the Environment and Water Resources yesterday shared updates on the progress made under the Sustainable Singapore Blueprint. One achievement was how three out of five households were within a 10-minute walk of a train station by the end of last year - with a mark of 80 per cent set for 2030.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/environment/use-less-water-pm-reminds-as-reservoir-dries-up

Cottonmouth

Tell your PAP sluts celebrating Songkran with foreign workers before the gang bang to stop wasting water. Those fucking sluts should be stoned after banging.

borom

Reduce the number of water users-starting with Pinoys, PRC's and Indian Ft's working here-will also release more jobs for locals-kill two birds with one stone-will pappy do it with "70% support'! ha haa

yar lor, send back 2 million FTs and there will be plenty of water for us real sinkies to use.

dr.wailing

Do you think your Prime Ministar will ask Sinkies to do the following:

8 golden ways to save water

1. Shower once every two days
2. Wash clothes once every fortnight
3. Don't brush teeth in the morning. Do it before going to bed
4. Don't eat rice, eat mee goreng or beehoon goreng. Compared to the latter 2 dishes, a lot more water is needed to cook rice
5. Don't cook soup or gravy-heavy dishes like mee siam mai hum
6. Don't buy vegetables that need rinsing. Buy tomatoes, potatoes, pumpkins that don't need rinsing
7. Don't drink 8 glasses of water daily. Drink 1 glass of water a day. It's doable because Muslims can achieve that during Ramadan
8. When taking medicine, don't drink water to help swallow pills. Use own saliva.

If each and every inhabitant of Zikapore can follow through all of the above, there'll be no water crisis whatsoever.

I brought my family to the onsen today. Water rationing is only for the poor. The rich folk like us will continue to enjoy our onsens, swimming pools, water fountains and songkran parties.

ckmpd

I brought my family to the onsen today. Water rationing is only for the poor. The rich folk like us will continue to enjoy our onsens, swimming pools, water fountains and songkran parties.

The pap wants to bring in 1.5m more people and wants SG to use less water. Is that possible?

That won't be possible. But we can convince the poor to use less water. And of course, we can ramp up production of NeWater.

dr.wailing

Are you a President's Scholar, Colombo Plan Scholar or Overseas Merit Scholar? I'm not one of them and my highest academic qualification is a GCE O-level with 2 passes.

But one thing I'm sure of is your Prime Ministar is a President's Scholar and has many President's Scholars, Colombo Plan Scholars and OMS assisting him in crafting national policies and implementing them. In short, yes, the PAP is able to achieve it.

ckmpd

Are you a President's Scholar, Colombo Plan Scholar or Overseas Merit Scholar? I'm not one of them and my highest academic qualification is a GCE O-level with 2 passes.

But one thing I'm sure of is your Prime Ministar is a President's Scholar and has many President's Scholars, Colombo Plan Scholars and OMS assisting him in crafting national policies and implementing them. In short, yes, the PAP is able to achieve it.

I have no faith in the PM because of his words and actions

4. Don't eat rice, eat mee goreng or beehoon goreng. Compared to the latter 2 dishes, a lot more water is needed to cook rice
6. Don't buy vegetables that need rinsing. Buy tomatoes, potatoes, pumpkins that don't need rinsing
7. Don't drink 8 glasses of water daily. Drink 1 glass of water a day. It's doable because Muslims can achieve that during Ramadan
8. When taking medicine, don't drink water to help swallow pills. Use own saliva.

If each and every inhabitant of Zikapore can follow through all of the above, there'll be no water crisis whatsoever.

U forgot, Shower with Someone of the Opposite Sex. 2 people shower at the same time will save money.

dr.wailing

U forgot, Shower with Someone of the Opposite Sex. 2 people shower at the same time will save money.

The title of my post is "Do you think your Prime Ministar will ask Sinkies to do the following".

In his capacity as Prime Ministar, Lee Hsien Loong can't ask Sinkies to shower together with people of the opposite sex. If he does that, your PM will be known as "hum-sup" PM.

dr.wailing

I have no faith in the PM because of his words and actions
Why are you still in Zikapore? Get out of Sinkieland and live wherever you want. The world is your oyster (or is it the other way round: The oyster is your world??)

when thirsty,ask sinkies to imagine lemon juice or something sour and they will salivate and not be thirsty anymore which is what they do in ancient chinese war.

Well, half of the sinkie population should know how to do water discipline from their time in NS.

Why are you still in Zikapore? Get out of Sinkieland and live wherever you want. The world is your oyster (or is it the other way round: The oyster is your world??)

Why should he leave Zikapore? what has he done wrong?