• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Manpower Minister Lim Swee Say LAST WARNING to Sinkies - BECOME BETTERER & CHEAPER!

JHolmesJr

Re: Manpower Minister Lim Swee Say LAST WARNING to Sinkies - BECOME BETTERER & CHEAPE

bring down the farking cost of living and employees will be cheaper.

Re: Manpower Minister Lim Swee Say LAST WARNING to Sinkies - BECOME BETTERER & CHEAPE

It need not be said - to be better. This has to be in the mind ALL THE TIME. But, to be cheaper? What for? You don't become better by being cheaper. You be more efficient, more innovative, more flexible, more industrious, more diligent, more everything. But Cheaper??? That's stupid. Mr. Minister, put your money where your mouth is, why don't you start asking for a lower salary. If you are true to your word, your performance will be betterer than your peers!

but if u are cheapest u have nothing to lose and nothing to fear and everything to gain!!!things can only improve and go up from here on,everything else is secondary.have u seen the smartphones China is capable of producing nowadays?same like the lenovo laptop that blew my mind 5 years ago,the redmi note 3 i just bought is equally mind blowing,first they focused on being the cheapest,then they focus on being better and betterer and faster and fasterer,the endgame is unbelivable quality at unbeatable prices!!!!!

my redmi note 3 only cost $199 and it has 16 megapixel camera,snapdragon 650,1920 dpi display,fingerprint censor,amazing battery life,4g,wifi,better bluetooth quality,better audio quality than all my budget predecessors,5g wifi capabilities etc etc.....

in the past iphone used to be the most popular in china,but now chinese smartphone makers have gained the lions share because they are no longer infants in the smartphone technology game,the stuff they make are mindblowing!!!!

Agoraphobic

Everybody knows this. Myself I got a Huawei phone because it was the cheapest at Starhub outlet. No way was I going to fork out hard earned money for an iPhone or a Samsung (thank God!). But that's when you are paying. Turn it the other way around where you get paid. You want to be paid the lowest? I don't. And considering the cost of living in Singapore, to maintain a reasonable quality of life, you wish to be paid the lowest? Unless you consider your standard equal to that of someone eking out a living in some rural third-world poverty-stricken village on some ulu land, then it is okay. But this is Peesai! The most expensive city in the world! You can go ahead and be the cheapest worker. I would rather not. I have a decent education, able to conduct myself well in a commercial organization, am presentable, somewhat pleasant and jovial, I am certainly worth more than many others. Obviously I demand a higher pay. If I charge less, I will lose out. I will not be able to afford tickets for me (and my date) for the Guns n Roses concert if I do not earn enough money, not to mention dinner/supper that evening as well.

but if u are cheapest u have nothing to lose and nothing to fear and everything to gain!!!things can only improve and go up from here on,everything else is secondary.have u seen the smartphones China is capable of producing nowadays?same like the lenovo laptop that blew my mind 5 years ago,the redmi note 3 i just bought is equally mind blowing,first they focused on being the cheapest,then they focus on being better and betterer and faster and fasterer,the endgame is unbelivable quality at unbeatable prices!!!!!

my redmi note 3 only cost $199 and it has 16 megapixel camera,snapdragon 650,1920 dpi display,fingerprint censor,amazing battery life,4g,wifi,better bluetooth quality,better audio quality than all my budget predecessors,5g wifi capabilities etc etc.....

in the past iphone used to be the most popular in china,but now chinese smartphone makers have gained the lions share because they are no longer infants in the smartphone technology game,the stuff they make are mindblowing!!!!

Everybody knows this. Myself I got a Huawei phone because it was the cheapest at Starhub outlet. No way was I going to fork out hard earned money for an iPhone or a Samsung (thank God!). But that's when you are paying. Turn it the other way around where you get paid. You want to be paid the lowest? I don't. And considering the cost of living in Singapore, to maintain a reasonable quality of life, you wish to be paid the lowest? Unless you consider your standard equal to that of someone eking out a living in some rural third-world poverty-stricken village on some ulu land, then it is okay. But this is Peesai! The most expensive city in the world! You can go ahead and be the cheapest worker. I would rather not. I have a decent education, able to conduct myself well in a commercial organization, am presentable, somewhat pleasant and jovial, I am certainly worth more than many others. Obviously I demand a higher pay. If I charge less, I will lose out. I will not be able to afford tickets for me (and my date) for the Guns n Roses concert if I do not earn enough money, not to mention dinner/supper that evening as well.

i think as most countries become richer they start to gravitate towards socialism......except for singapore which seems to be stuck in a perpetual state of hyper capitalism,our gini coefficient is like China's except china is still at the developing stage.......perhaps sinkies mentality still hasnt advanced,its every man for himself,we are not at the level of thinking of society progressing as a whole yet,like the scandinavians or swiss or europeans.

this is a matter of politics and economics,the problem can be easily solved by implementing minimum wage and taxation regardless of what economic value u think a job deserves.singapore has to turn into a socialist country but i doubt PAP is willing to relinquish power yet.

Pinkieslut

i think as most countries become richer they start to gravitate towards socialism......except for singapore which seems to be stuck in a perpetual state of hyper capitalism,our gini coefficient is like China's except china is still at the developing stage.......perhaps sinkies mentality still hasnt advanced,its every man for himself,we are not at the level of thinking of society progressing as a whole yet,like the scandinavians or swiss or europeans.

this is a matter of politics and economics,the problem can be easily solved by implementing minimum wage and taxation regardless of what economic value u think a job deserves.singapore has to turn into a socialist country but i doubt PAP is willing to relinquish power yet.

Singapore will never go into that direction as Sinkies (or Chinese) are bornt extreme capitalists. It is just more more and more.

also one thing ur comparison is a bit lopsided,u are comparing the cost of living in singapore versus the cost of goods made in china,now if everybody was paid the same wages as in China,u would expect everything to be just as cheap too,houses would be dirt cheap,cars dirt cheap,food dirt cheap everything dirt cheap.in fact u could probably live easily on $500 USD a month in China.companies take advantage of this economic imbalance between countries to make a huge profit......everything in singapore is super expensive because its a joke of a country.a country that creates nothing of value and manufactures nothing,but everything is super duper exp after u factor in tax,levies,gst,land tax,road tax,rental,reits profit,ntuc profit,government wanting their slice of the pie,the price of goods would have been marked up by 100 percent or more.

it will be worse as oppos will ask for $6.9m each.

It is no problem at all when is pay for performance.

Productivity without innovation= nothing. PAP has been harping on productivity issue for decades. What have they done? Nothing. None of their productivity initiative worked and we are still paying them millions!

They gravitate towards socialism because the middle class wants a higher quality of life ...it is not just work to survive. They pay their taxes and want the government to provide the services (healthcare, education, pension, unemployment insurance) that would cost them alot more when bought individually.

I higher status than you leh ...I have a xiaomi phone.

Sinkees can work, if they are fairly compensated. Government blames the workers ....but it should look into the mirror. It has the lowest productivity cabinet for decades. These ministars are paid world's highest salary for government ...what have they produce that is above average? Nothing.

Let the government show us that the ministers are productive, then they can blame sinkees.
The most productive minister is the toothpick thief. He steals enough toothpicks to last his lifetime many times.

Pinkieslut

I higher status than you leh ...I have a xiaomi phone.

Sinkees can work, if they are fairly compensated. Government blames the workers ....but it should look into the mirror. It has the lowest productivity cabinet for decades. These ministars are paid world's highest salary for government ...what have they produce that is above average? Nothing.

Let the government show us that the ministers are productive, then they can blame sinkees.
The most productive minister is the toothpick thief. He steals enough toothpicks to last his lifetime many times.

To add to your comments, I believe we have a government sector who is overweight in employment in Singapore. This has gotten worst through the years as the incumbent political party is using it as a tool to hold on to power.

you and zorro lim not only suck cock , but like to talk cock often.

in real life everything has a limit , especially in the area of human endeavour ,
up to a certain stage the result taper off .
due to physical psychological physiology limit of human.
that s y pilot need to rest after every flght.

cheaper and better foreigners ?
cheaper ? perhaps , as they may be willing to accept a lower salary.
as in the case of a foreign doctor working in polyclinic
Within the time limit of 8 hours and under the mental stress and fatigue ,
how much increase in productivity can he contribute ??

but in what ways are these foreigners better ?
they can work 12 hours a day ?
you hire a degree holder to work as a production worker and expect the productivity to increase ?

If a foreign worker can do the same amount of work as a sinkie but takes only half the salary, his productivity is double that of the sinkie's.

Foreigner productivity could be even higher considering that he is not missing from work due to reservist or on maternity leave for female serfs.

Ectar

You will lose more money because non-PAP politicians are mostly corrupt and dishonest. They will officially take a much smaller salary but behind the scenes siphon of millions or billions every year. Just look at Africa and most Asiatic countries.

I can sense that you are a very happy man, CPF gao gao every month? whahahahhaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

kezgtree

BROKEN RECORDED TAPE SCREAMING MOTHERHOOD STATEMENTS!

sbr.com.sg
Manpower minister sounds alarm on Singapore's cost competitiveness
ECONOMY | Staff Reporter, Singapore

Cheaper competitors are becoming better.

The city-state's competitiveness in offering products and services could soon erode, Manpower Minister Lim Swee Say warned.

In a speech at SPF Productivity Conference and Exhibition 2016, the minister stated that Singapore needs to improve its productivity for the economy to grow more healthily. He argued that if the country's productivity gains continue to lag behind wage growth, its competitiveness will progressively be eroded.

"Imagine: if we ever allow our cheaper competitors to become better than us, one day, they will be cheaper and better than us. Likewise, if we ever allow our better competitors to become cheaper than us, one day, they will be better and cheaper than us. We should therefore never allow this to happen," the minister said.

The minister said in the past five years, GDP growth has dropped from an average of 4% between 2011 to 2014, to 2% in 2015, and less than 2% this year. He cited two reasons for this low growth.

"First, cyclical slowdown in the global economy has dampened demand for our products and services in the short term. Second, structural transition in our local workforce will redefine our growth capacity in the long term," he pronounced.

Mr. Lim argued that even though local labour force is still growing, the rate of growth has dropped sharply, from 4% to 2%, towards 1% by 2020.

He cautioned that this could even stagnate in the next decade.

"The only workable and sustainable solution is to up our productivity gain," he said. "With better education and skill profiles, those entering every year are looking for jobs that are different from those vacated by those who have left the workforce."

He furthered, "What this means is that economic transformation is important - not just because they will bring about higher productivity for the economy to grow more healthily - but because they will bring about better jobs and better wages for our people to grow better in their careers.

...was there a cheaper ferrari in Asia counrty...he is talking c**k...we do not hv a niche of anyting...too many chapalang ppl being imported....quality drop a mile...damn

cocobobo

Knn this fucker pay so much but no idea.

In the end arrow peasants.

SOP. Repeat Until.

70% say yes.

greedy and cunning

If a foreign worker can do the same amount of work as a sinkie but takes only half the salary, his productivity is double that of the sinkie's.

Foreigner productivity could be even higher considering that he is not missing from work due to reservist or on maternity leave for female serfs.

in other words , you & zorro lim are asking sillypootians to accept a pay cut
and perform the same amount of work.
and you called this productivity ?
good people would called this slavery.

real productivity is completing a task in a shorter time work
and sometime with the added bonus of an increased in output.

Only have to look at the state of Spore's train service, hospitals,...etc to see what is happening with the philosophy that cheaper is better.