• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Racist Eurasian Mutt Angry That Eurasian = Keling Kia! Very Hard Now To Get Mutt Prez

SINGAPORE — Whether to have a hiatus-triggered reserved election to ensure minority representation in the Elected Presidency (EP) is a “judgment call”, said Law and Home Affairs Minister K Shanmugam during a forum, where the need to bring race back into the constitutional mix emerged as a central theme.

Alluding to his own career in politics as a minority, Mr Shanmugam on Friday (Oct 21) said there is a “vast difference in public perception” and “a process” from when he stood for elections as an “unknown 29-year-old” to his current standing as an anchor minister for his constituency in Nee Soon.

“Race can play a factor. How much of a factor is a judgment call…It can be enough of a factor among a certain percentage of the population such as to swing some votes. And that can lead to a situation where minority candidates can be shut out for a long period of time,” he said, reiterating that there are only nine African Americans senators in the United States’ 230 years of independence to date, of which only four are elected.

“When you have say two people of equal standing for elections. Is there anyone in this room who believes that not even 10 to 15 per cent of the population would be influenced by the factor of race? Our view was that we always deal with these problems well before they arise,” said Mr Shanmugam at the forum, which was organised by the Institute of Policy Studies (IPS).

Some have cited Mr Murali Pillai’s victory in the Bukit Batok by-election in May as proof that race no longer matters, but Mr Shanmugam called this “a false comparison”.

“When you vote in an SMC, remember the party is a significant factor… There’s a certain premium based on which party stands… Then the candidate carries a certain percentage,” he said.

The forum was attended by 223 leaders in the commercial, civic, academic and civil service fields. Among the speakers was Mr Benett Theseira, president of the Eurasian Association, who was unhappy that Eurasians would considered part of the “Indians and other minorities” community, in relation to the EP.

“Indians outnumbered Eurasians 20 to 1. So it makes it difficult for (there to be) an Eurasian president,” he said.

The issue of former Member of Parliament and 2011 presidential candidate Tan Cheng Bock being excluded under the proposed eligibility criteria also resurfaced. An audience member asked if a referendum should be held so Singaporeans can decide if there is an urgent need for changes to kick in before the next presidential election, due by next August.

Mr Shanmugam said that in the 1980s, it took some five years for the EP system to be firmed up, because the Government was “shooting in the dark” amid the various suggestions raised. 
After the EP was introduced in 1991, less time was needed to pass constitutional amendments. “Do you think 25 years (with no update to the system) is too long? Unless you are saying (that) while we agree that the system ought to be updated, we think that you shouldn’t update it until certain individuals get the right to take part again… and I am sure you won’t say that,” Mr Shanmugam said.

http://www.todayonline.com/singapor...lections-minorities-judgment-call-k-shanmugam

Re: Racist Eurasian Mutt Angry That Eurasian = Keling Kia! Very Hard Now To Get Mutt

like google refashioning itself into alphabet, it would be all ok if sg were to follow my recommendation at sticking to the alphabet in rotating presidential candidates. a for abang, b for baba, c for cina, d for dalit, and e for eurasian. myanmese would have to wait for laotian, and laotian khmer before having any dreams of being prez. of course, if pinoy numbers explode pinoys could pull a flower power revolution and elect a corazon into the istana. zimbabweans can wait.

Re: Racist Eurasian Mutt Angry That Eurasian = Keling Kia! Very Hard Now To Get Mutt

like google refashioning itself into alphabet, it would be all ok if sg were to follow my recommendation at sticking to the alphabet in rotating presidential candidates. a for abang, b for baba, c for cina, d for dalit, and e for eurasian. myanmese would have to wait for laotian, and laotian khmer before having any dreams of being prez. of course, if pinoy numbers explode pinoys could pull a flower power revolution and elect a corazon into the istana. zimbabweans can wait.

I'm pissed that there is no guarantee of Burmese Singaporean representation. We may be small in numbers but we punch well above our weight and height.

This guy is already blaming race before he even run for the game of thrones,attributing the outcome to some preconceived preemptive notion that all sinkies are racist and unable to elect a minority prime minister before the actual act of racial discrimination is even carried out!!!hes pushing the entire blame on us!!enough of this bullshit already,we know whats holding u back,either prove ur not a running dog or

Patriot

Law and Home Affairs Minister K Shanmugam:“When you vote in an SMC, remember the party is a significant factor… There’s a certain premium based on which party stands… Then the candidate carries a certain percentage,” he said.

Then, what is the rationale in having GRC in the first place?

The Minister is contradicting the PAP's so-called justification for having the GRC.

I'm pissed that there is no guarantee of Burmese Singaporean representation. We may be small in numbers but we punch well above our weight and height.

if burmese is used instead of myanmese, it can jump in the alphabet queue to 3rd place behind "babi" and ahead of "cina".

Cottonmouth

Black dog barking up wrong tree as usual.

xebay11

Wasn't Sheares a Eurasian President? Anyway the dark grago types are Indian Portuguese mix, so what's the issue?

borom

....Burmese...representation. We may be small in numbers but we punch well above our weight and height.

if burmese is used instead of myanmese, it can jump in the alphabet queue .......

Burmese is a race?-unless you are referring to Bamar ( 68% of Myanmar).How about the Shans, Kayin, Rakhine,Kachin (of Charity Maru
Ms Singapore2015).
next you will have the Pinoys asking for their turn (to be rotated amongst the Tagalogs, ,Cebuanos,Ilocanos ect2)?

Very likely due to drug money deposits in banks.

Leckmichamarsch

new shitizens peenoise, burmese, cambodians. laotians, vietcongs etc will oso be classified as Indian for purpuse of e Prez
How abt those willing to wear tudung n wear a cunt????