• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Keppel retrenches 8,000, will fire more, management takes pay cut, huat ah!

EnBloc

SINGAPORE: Singapore-based Keppel Corp announced on Thursday (Oct 20) it had cut around 8,000 jobs as weak energy prices hammered profits at the world's largest oil rig builder.

Senior managers have also taken voluntary pay cuts and there are plans to trim directors' fees as the conglomerate anticipates further cuts, the company said in a statement.

The "painful measures" are aimed at cushioning the impact of sluggish demand for drilling rigs as firms worldwide curtailed spending oil and gas exploration.

Keppel chief executive Loh Chin Hua said it had slashed its workforce at its offshore and marine business by "close to 8,000", or around 26 per cent, over the nine months to September.

"Much of the reduction has so far been through natural attrition," he said in announcing Keppel's third quarter to September earnings. "However, we will increasingly also look into early termination of contracts and selective retrenchment in Singapore, in line with the drop in workload."

Keppel said group net profit for the July-September period fell 38 per cent from the previous year to S$225 million (US$162 million) after net profit in its offshore and marine business plunged 93 per cent.

In the first nine months of the year, the group's year-on-year net profit was down 43 per cent to S$641 million, hit by a 69 per cent profit decline in the offshore business.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news...eppel-cuts-jobs-as-profits-slump/3222664.html

garlic

cost cutting is good news for share price at least... bad for the retrenched workers and families.. :(

quickly secure your seats at your nearest kopitiam. these aunties and uncles will occupy them all day, shake legs, kpkb, cry mountains, cry seas, cry hell cry heaven, and blame the pap like the world is cumming to an end.

Loh Chin Hua alone make over $8 million a year. How much is his pay cut? Even $1 million pay cut sup sup soi to him. He will not miss too much abalone and bird's nest. In the real world, this kind of corporate performance is guaranteed termination of CEO and the senior management team.

no_faith

8000 high possible belong 70%.
After voted pap, pap say thank you and goodbye.:biggrin:

Dont worry pap has back up plan for you guys...we have taxi, grab, uber, security guard.
Best of all you can commit minor crimes and send to jail. Pap has free lodging, food for you and intense security to protect you.:biggrin:

numero uno

Dont worry pap has back up plan for you guys...we have taxi, grab, uber, security guard.
Best of all you can commit minor crimes and send to jail. Pap has free lodging, food for you and intense security to protect you.:biggrin:

Too bad. In a few years time all cabs would be driverless. Even robot s would take over security gurada with more efficiency. Only job left would be trash men and night soil carriers. They deserve it. Hahaha

OrLanChowHorFun

8,000 is worldwide lah....................only 660 in S'pore.......

FTs going home..........PAP voters losing jobs............always a good thing..........:smile:

Keppel Corp is still highly profitable. I don't understand why the directors and senior management need to take a pay cut. There's enough cost cutting measures from laying off thousands of blue collared serfs.

JHolmesJr

Cant they sell their naming rights for keppel road to some indian billionaire....might be one way to bump up the balance sheet