• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Khaw: Fare Hike Coming From 1st Sept 2016!

Bus contracting model which will take effect on 1 September 2016 may result in the raising of bus fares, said the Minister of Transport, Khaw Boon Wan.

He made the remarks in response to queries by Chinese daily Lianhe Zaobao in an e-mail interview, saying that the bus contracting model will raise service standards. Hence the improvements would raise the fees. However, he ensured that the fees would still be affordable.

Under the Government contracting model, Land Transport Authority (LTA) will determine the bus services to be provided and bus operators will bid for the right to operate these services. They will be paid fees to operate the services, while fare revenue will be retained by the Government.

The Government would also own all bus infrastructure such as depots, as well as operating assets such as buses and the fleet management system.

To ensure a smooth transition for all stakeholders, bus contracting would be implemented in phases over several years.

Bus services would be bundled into twelve bus packages with about 300-500 buses each. LTA would tender out three packages for a start. The contracts would be for five years, and could be extended by another two years on good performance. In total, the three packages will comprise about 20% of existing buses.

The other nine bus packages, comprising the remaining 80% of existing buses, will continue to be operated by the existing operators as negotiated contracts, for durations of about five years. After these negotiated contracts expire, more bus services would be gradually tendered out.

Mr Khaw said the role of the new bus contracting model when the distance covered by MRT lines expands to 360km by 2030 is difficult to predict. However, he believes that buses will still play an important role in public transport here, just like those in cities with well-developed subway networks, such as New York, London and Tokyo.

http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/201...tracting-model-may-result-in-bus-fares-hikes/

blissquek

70% will agree tat there shld be a hike in bus fare, the rest if not happy can walk or cycle. Khaw noes he has the support of the Familee and the commuters.

Why they keep hitting the ordinary folks on the street..?

SR Nathan estate need not pay a single cent in Estate duty..easily amount to $20 million.They protect the riches of the elite and ask the ordinary folks to make up the shortfall.

bodycells

Why they keep hitting the ordinary folks on the street..?

SR Nathan estate need not pay a single cent in Estate duty..easily amount to $20 million.They protect the riches of the elite and ask the ordinary folks to make up the shortfall.

You sinkies deserve it.. Continue being stupid and ball-less.

dr.wailing

You sinkies deserve it.. Continue being stupid and ball-less.

Totally agree.

According to state-controlled media, your gabrament plans to spend about 1.1 billion SGD on improving public transport. The money has to come from somewhere, right?

kryonlight

What is the harsher word to use for lower rank employees helping to facilitate this plan ?

傻逼

A Chinese slang/cuss word which directly translates into "stupid female reproduction system". A negative adjective usually used to describe people who are are 1)intellectually or morally a harm towards society, 2)have done something you strongly disagrees, etc. Very impolite to say in public but is one of the most commonly used cuss words in China.

傻逼

A Chinese slang/cuss word which directly translates into "stupid female reproduction system". A negative adjective usually used to describe people who are are 1)intellectually or morally a harm towards society, 2)have done something you strongly disagrees, etc. Very impolite to say in public but is one of the most commonly used cuss words in China.

OK. There are too many 傻逼 around everyday facilitating for their master without any personal gains. :rolleyes:

blueRad

Better raise prices when election is still far away so people will forget about it when election comes again.

That is why I keep saying the interest rate for CPF of 2.5% is just useless negative shit returns. Prices of daily neccessities like transportation increases all the time, but CPF interest rate remains the same?

shittypore

That is why I keep saying the interest rate for CPF of 2.5% is just useless negative shit returns. Prices of daily neccessities like transportation increases all the time, but CPF interest rate remains the same?

Pls lah, even the 2.5% on paper, where got feel the cash, only feel rich when look at statement. Dont be fool wit all their interest rates, cash in our pocket better than in Ho Ching 's Bank account. You no food or roof u tink can use your interest ret by em!

kiwibird7

Totally agree.

According to state-controlled media, your gabrament plans to spend about 1.1 billion SGD on improving public transport. The money has to come from somewhere, right?

$1.1billion expenditure came from taxes not from SBS/SMRT budget, increasing fares hit tax payers a 2nd time and fares goes to SBS/SMRT profits paid out to shareholders as dividends.

Why are all the useless opposition parties especially WP not voicing out this fact?

Why should the govt be buying buses and SMRT trains from tax payers money for a public listed company? When SIA buys NEW planes, do they take from tax payers?

bodycells

Why no sinkies protest against the fare or price increase?