• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Over 20% of Condo Owners Suffer Paper Loss! WTF!!!

prop.jpg

About 22 per cent of private condominium owners are currently in the red, meaning that they are suffering from paper losses on their homes, according to estimates based on SRX Property’s computer-generated X-Value.

Singaporean homes were transacted within plus or minus 3.5 per cent of their X-Value on average last year and in the first half of this year. This makes the automated valuation algorithm a reliable indicator of a property’s market value. X-Value, available free at SRX.com.sg, helps homeowners understand when it might be possible to realise capital gains on their homes or if they would suffer losses if they sell their properties.

The calculation is simple enough. Subtract your purchase price from your home’s X-Value and, voila, you get your indicative unrealised gain or loss, excluding other costs related to the transaction.

For example, if you purchased your home at S$500,000 and the X-Value is S$650,000, you have an unrealized or paper gain of S$150,000.

But it is only on paper and will not be realized until you sell the home. If you home has unique features that warrant a premium to X-Value, you may even get a better realized gain when you manage to secure the deal at your price. On the flip side, if you sell your home below its purchase price, you will suffer a capital loss. Homeowners can track their unrealized capital gains or losses at SRX.com.sg/property-tracker and receive a free SMS updating them on the value of their homes.

Among the private condo homeowners in the red, those in District 1’s Marina Bay are sitting on some of the biggest paper losses, with over 40 per cent in the area suffering from a loss if they sell their homes today at market value, as estimated by X-Value.

The good news is that these losses are unrealized, so it isn’t inevitable that these homeowners will lose money when they actually sell the properties in the future. If they can wait it out, market values might catch up to their purchase prices, allowing them to break even or sell at a profit.

But just because the losses are unrealized doesn’t mean that we should dismiss concerns about the relatively high percentages of homeowners suffering as reflected in the 28 Shades of Red graphic. When homeowners are in the red, they feel less wealthy and this may diminish their confidence to invest and spend. This can also lead to stress, risk aversion and a number of other negative psychological effects.

If you as a homeowner are in the red, I recommend that you consult a financial advisor, who can help you review and restructure your finances so that you can manage household spending and debt and give yourself more breathing room to wait for the market to rebound.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Sam Baker is Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer of SRX Property. For more details on the data and calculations used in this article, visit SRX.com.sg/research.

http://www.todayonline.com/business/one-five-condo-owners-sitting-paper-losses

im amazed east coast is doing so badly,must be the shitskins stinking up the place or lots of retrenchment going on lately.

Too bad for those who bought properties they couldn't really afford. :rolleyes::biggrin:

It will have filter down effect to sinkies and mudlanders with HDB, including those dogs in SBF. Huat ah! May karma bless the dogs in SBF!

Gallego99

If the condo is your primary residence, why do you need to worry? All is fine.

It's about affordability taking into account rise in interest payments,a potential second career and other factors. Buyers would need to workout the various scenarios b4 committing to any big ticket items especially those on long term loans.

searcher1

There is alot of property agent who love to advise people to sell off HDB & buy 2 Condo, one for stay, another for rent, stretch their financial situation to max. Good luck to these people when the recession comes ...

mpan12

There is alot of property agent who love to advise people to sell off HDB & buy 2 Condo, one for stay, another for rent, stretch their financial situation to max. Good luck to these people when the recession comes ...

Yes.... This rubbish and cunning advice started from Kelvin Fong from PropNex. It's an evil way to get his team of desperate agents jobs.

Basically, they will tell owners now is the right time to sell their HDB flats because prices will start to drop. (Really? There are still many flats today in good locations which have retained their values. In fact, it is condo prices which are dropping also.)

Then they make the owners split the money to buy 2 condos. If the owners are dumb enough to do this, the agent gets to enjoy closing 3 property transactions!

What the owners don't know is, when they do this, they kiss goodbye to their HDB flat, a very precious property for the location, size and price compared to an overpriced condo in SG. Secondly, they get themselves in debts till they are old. If something happens to them or their jobs, it's goodbye to their properties.

Beware of PropNex and also Huttons agents. These idiotic salesmen and saleswomen are just out to suck your money in the slow property market by giving you bad advice.

Yes.... This rubbish and cunning advice started from Kelvin Fong from PropNex. It's an evil way to get his team of desperate agents jobs.

Basically, they will tell owners now is the right time to sell their HDB flats because prices will start to drop. (Really? There are still many flats today in good locations which have retained their values. In fact, it is condo prices which are dropping also.)

Then they make the owners split the money to buy 2 condos. If the owners are dumb enough to do this, the agent gets to enjoy closing 3 property transactions!

What the owners don't know is, when they do this, they kiss goodbye to their HDB flat, a very precious property for the location, size and price compared to an overpriced condo in SG. Secondly, they get themselves in debts till they are old. If something happens to them or their jobs, it's goodbye to their properties.

Beware of PropNex and also Huttons agents. These idiotic salesmen and saleswomen are just out to suck your money in the slow property market by giving you bad advice.

Agents are uneducated snake oil peddlers.
Home owners who listen to them are dumbfucks to begin with.
Usually of the 70% so serve them right.
These morons want more influx of FTs else no one will rent their empty condos.
It's good for prices to drop so they get shaken out.

ckmpd

it is silly to take the advice of a sales man

numero uno

im amazed east coast is doing so badly,must be the shitskins stinking up the place or lots of retrenchment going on lately.

2 years ago I predicted in this forum that prices would crash in 2016 esp in sentosa where it has crashed 40% at least!!! hahahhahah . How prescient I am. hahahahh told you. where narong, xebay and company now??? why so quiet??? hahhahahha

ginbitchy

But I always hear news report that condo prices this quarter drop by 0.9% or 1.1%. Even if you add up consecutive 4 quarters, you still cannot hit 22%.

The figures chun bo ?

congo9

It will have filter down effect to sinkies and mudlanders with HDB, including those dogs in SBF. Huat ah! May karma bless the dogs in SBF!

Only 20% on paper loss. PAP is doing a good job to keep Singapore stable. Good job PAP. These owners still can Tahan.

That's also to say that price of property will need to be allowed to slide another 30% to 40% before any impact can be seen.