• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Singapore Sells Australia Petrol at $0.45/L

In Singapore you can travel from point A to B by using public transport. In most parts of Australia you cannot. There are issues with frequency and coverage Singapore has much higher excise tax to deter private cars taking up scarce land. In Singapore the operating cost is much higher as the land cost is much much higher to lease land to build a a petrol station.

Petrol prices and excise duties as a deterrent is used in the EU for the same purpose and petrol costs much higher in places like the UK and the Netherlands.

Singaporeans have far greater issues and concerns over cost of public housing, government mismanagement of funds of CPF members and the country's sovereign finds.

shittypore

In Singapore you can travel from point A to B by using public transport. In most parts of Australia you cannot. There are issues with frequency and coverage Singapore has much higher excise tax to deter private cars taking up scarce land. In Singapore the operating cost is much higher as the land cost is much much higher to lease land to build a a petrol station.

Petrol prices and excise duties as a deterrent is used in the EU for the same purpose and petrol costs much higher in places like the UK and the Netherlands.

Singaporeans have far greater issues and concerns over cost of public housing, government mismanagement of funds of CPF members and the country's sovereign finds.

If the case, more you travel by road it fair that u shld pay more, do away with COE, ERP and lower the duty on import of cars and road tax, increase the prices on retail patrol to solve all the unhapoiness.

Wangfeng

Malaysia kampong sells a bittergourd for a few cents. Singapore supermart sells a bittergourd for more than a dollar.

I suggest TS go live in a Malaysian kampong. :rolleyes:

That is exactly how it works - more kms, more petrol and therefore more in excise tax that a car owner pays. However not all car owners need to enter congested areas like he CBD etc. Those who need to do so will have to pay ERP etc. So is structure in 3 ways

- pay COE when you purchase a car ( applies to all - general deterrent )
- pay more excise tax when you use the car more than others ( people will drive conservatively with more expensive fuel)
- pay to enter highly congested areas. ( some people leave their car and take the MRT to enter CBD)

If you have petrol excise tax alone, lots of people will have cars and they zip around their neighbourhood and it will be highly congested and soon the whole country congested like the CBD. So its a tiered approach.

One fits all policy has never worked in any country where needs and circumstances differ according to demographics and needs. Its easier for the authorities to implement one size fits all but it will not be fair on those who drive little and don't enter congested areas.

If the case, more you travel by road it fair that u shld pay more, do away with COE, ERP and lower the duty on import of cars and road tax, increase the prices on retail patrol to solve all the unhapoiness.

So when retail petrol was going at $0.91 cents per litre in Perth last week, one cannot help wonder why Singapore consumers are paying closer to $2 per litre on Singapore streets when Australia is buying at only $0.45 per litre, including shipping cost ...
like my ex-colleague used 2 craim weneva tings r chippa in msia compared 2 sinkielan, iz dat dey dump ze defectif n low quality stuff in msia, dey reserf ze highest quality n bestest 4 sinkielan ...

u can c dat ze same sexplanation applies here ... so, dun buy petrol in oz ...

If you go to an Australian supermarkets, and you pick a variety of food items, from chicken,lamb, veg etc, they are all more expensive than Singapore and all locally produced in Singapore. Singapore has to import all these stuff. Even the UK and NZ are much cheaper.

groceries in OZ supermarts are quality stuff and dun forget they pay higher wages to their workers. I am willing to pay more cos' i know the workers are paid well.

casual dining in OZ is cheaper than s'pore. sinkies who have been living like a frog in the well will not discover, they as usual will see it as norm. in OZ, they served tea or water as well, all FOC. i was back during chinese new year, went to a dining place at resorts world, they charged me $0.50 for a glass of tap water.:eek:

kkbutterfly

that will solve some problems but created many other problems.
1)taxi price will increase.
2)logistics expenditure will increase
3)construction expense will soar high
4)food will increase

greedy pap elite cronies get paid big fat bonuses at peasant sinkies' expense! cheers to that...:rolleyes:

First of all,the connectivity of public transport sucks,completing a journey of 23km only takes 15 mins by car,while travelling by public transport can take up to 2 hours depending on number of stops or changes.but since peasants time are worthless,they are perfectly fine with peasant transport.also the experience of taking public transport gets old quickly and sucks donkey balls if ur a peasant in sg after awhile.

Secondly,u are not going to get mad pussy in sg if girls see u with a ez link card,a jangling ferrari or jaguar key is more likely to do it.im perfectly looking and dressing like a peasant but carrying a ez link card is the ultimate shame.