• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Contempt of Court - bill passed (Last nail on Sinkies coffin)

70% sinkies have given PAP not just open cheque but also power above the law to dictate and influence the court's decision. If sinkies are not happy with the above "judges" decision, it is considered "CONTEMPT OF COURT" and sinkies will be thrown into jail.

Happy now?

Sinkapore judges are clowns. They are laughed at by their counterparts in the West. Look at the decisions made by those clowns ...most of them are illogical. Those clowns got into the judiciary, not because of their intellect, but by patronage and their ability to suck up to their political bosses.

Satyr

Sinkapore judges are clowns. They are laughed at by their counterparts in the West. Look at the decisions made by those clowns ...most of them are illogical. Those clowns got into the judiciary, not because of their intellect, but by patronage and their ability to suck up to their political bosses.

On the contrary, Singapore judges are highly respected. Our legal system and judiciary is one of jewels of the country (granted there are some with biases - but even the US Supreme Court had people like Scalia). The problem is not the judges. The problem is the inane laws passed in Parliament which judges have to administer. Most of these absurd laws deal with politics of course, which foreigners do not care much about. On civil and commercial matters, our laws are fine and judges do a creditable job.

no more nails if this is not wild wild west shootout at the ok corral kind of coffin. stainless steel screws and superglue are now in favor. :p

On the contrary, Singapore judges are highly respected.

By who? Have you read some of their written decisions?

Our legal system and judiciary is one of jewels of the country (granted there are some with biases - but even the US Supreme Court had people like Scalia). The problem is not the judges. The problem is the inane laws passed in Parliament which judges have to administer. Most of these absurd laws deal with politics of course, which foreigners do not care much about. On civil and commercial matters, our laws are fine and judges do a creditable job.
It is internationally known that if you were to sue the government or its affiliates or the ruling party, the defendant will always prevail. Likewise if the government sues you.

On the contrary, Singapore judges are highly respected. Our legal system and judiciary is one of jewels of the country (granted there are some with biases - but even the US Supreme Court had people like Scalia). The problem is not the judges. The problem is the inane laws passed in Parliament which judges have to administer. Most of these absurd laws deal with politics of course, which foreigners do not care much about. On civil and commercial matters, our laws are fine and judges do a creditable job.

I hear echo in the hollow chamber, voices that says " mirror, mirror on the wall....who is the_______ of them all"....

Exactly, Shamu is very close to our 800k Dustbin.

DON'T PANIC!...these are just home for the dustbins, near where the bin centre is, a place call PARLIAMENT HOUSE...where the 'rubbish' is many times more expensive than the bin centre..just Don't Panic!....what is 800K....don't forget one 'rotting piece of meat' in ICU that used to cost millions & still cost us to maintain...

In the main I agree with you and you explained it very well especially the areas of civil and commercial matters. Its our drawcard for MNC to come in as well. There are however exception when it involves GLCs. DBS as in Elyamani Khamis case against the Scandinavian banks, APB cheating case against foreign banks and SQ crashing into sea are examples where judgements have been questionable. In the APB, Sumitomo withdrew the civil lawsuit while the others withdrew and they knew why. None of these cases allowed for even a slight apportionment of blame or liability. The general consensus is that Singapore is a great place for civil and commercial matters but not when it involves govt interest. It should also be noted that its not the financial value that is the concern but the fact the they are capable of making mistakes and acknowledging that mistake. In the SIA case, the pilot had enough signs of fatalism including past recorded history of switching off the recorders for no rhyme and reason, misconduct, disciplinary matters etc. Within the first 10 minutes, any notion of suicide was quashed and not to be mentioned again. I was surprised that it was then Justice Tan Lee Meng who was the former dean of Law and a known libertarian that did it. Not suggesting that the judgment should be suicide but at least there was material evidence to let the matter be put forward in a Court.

bodycells

Sinkies are only interested in pokomon go while they bend down and let their govt screwed at the same time.

They 70% are entrenched...."PUKI MAN" players...they bend all the time & automatically bend, when they see the shadow of any MIW....

HTOLAS

I agree with you here. As far as I know, the judges can hold their own. It is really the AG's work that's been really suspect and politically motivated.

Spot on! I am with you on this.

Satyr

In the main I agree with you and you explained it very well especially the areas of civil and commercial matters. Its our drawcard for MNC to come in as well. There are however exception when it involves GLCs. DBS as in Elyamani Khamis case against the Scandinavian banks, APB cheating case against foreign banks and SQ crashing into sea are examples where judgements have been questionable. In the APB, Sumitomo withdrew the civil lawsuit while the others withdrew and they knew why. None of these cases allowed for even a slight apportionment of blame or liability. The general consensus is that Singapore is a great place for civil and commercial matters but not when it involves govt interest. It should also be noted that its not the financial value that is the concern but the fact the they are capable of making mistakes and acknowledging that mistake. In the SIA case, the pilot had enough signs of fatalism including past recorded history of switching off the recorders for no rhyme and reason, misconduct, disciplinary matters etc. Within the first 10 minutes, any notion of suicide was quashed and not to be mentioned again. I was surprised that it was then Justice Tan Lee Meng who was the former dean of Law and a known libertarian that did it. Not suggesting that the judgment should be suicide but at least there was material evidence to let the matter be put forward in a Court.

I would consider any civil or commercial case involving GLCs as political.

Satyr

By who? Have you read some of their written decisions?

It is internationally known that if you were to sue the government or its affiliates or the ruling party, the defendant will always prevail. Likewise if the government sues you.

Yes, any case involving the government of GLC , they will probably get the benefit of every doubt.

bodycells

This is all due to the stupidity and ball-lessness of sinkie shit losers in your sinkieland..

Now got a bill to screw your ass even further.. Instead of doing something for practical like going good out for a massive Street protest.

You bunch of losers only login to kpkb on how painful your ass is every morning after kanna ass raped by your PAP govt.. Fucking pathetic!!!

Oh.. The bill.. Oh.. Not fair.. Oh... Against freedom.. Oh... But you voted for it.. Stupid!!!