• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Huat ah! Creative consultation charges by sinkie doctor. MOH APPROVED!

kryonlight

'Nothing wrong' with doc's separate billing for 2 illnesses in one visit

MOH says private clinics' charges vary, after patient billed $40 for each ailment in one visit

When finance officer Adeline Kang went to her neighbourhood clinic to see the doctor about stomach pains and a sore throat, she was not expecting to pay more than $50 for the consultation fee.

The fees displayed at Wee's Family Clinic & Surgery in Whampoa Drive state that it costs $40 for a short consultation and $50 for a long one.

However, she was charged $80.

When the 41-year-old queried the cost, she was told it was $40 to address each medical issue. She also had to pay $32 for medicine.

As it was her third visit to Dr Wee Chee Chau for her sore throat, she had expected to be charged less because it was a follow-up visit for the same problem.

However, Dr Wee told The Straits Times there had been no mistake. "When you have two problems, it's like seeing a doctor twice," he said.

His fees vary according to the number of medical conditions, their complexity and the duration of the consultation, he explained.

Asked if there was a cap to the consultation fee, Dr Wee said: "I can't tell you offhand, but it won't be in the thousands of dollars."

He added that he is a family physician and not just a general practitioner, so his charges are higher.

A check with other clinics found that their normal practice is to charge for one consultation, no matter how many medical problems the patient has.

A spokesman for the Parkway Shenton chain said: "The consultation charge at our clinics ranges from $25 to $38 per visit.

"This is a one-time charge regardless of the number of ailments presented by our patients."

The Raffles Medical chain of clinics also said its clinics levy only one consultation charge per patient, regardless of the number of medical problems that need attention.

The Ministry of Health (MOH) said there is nothing wrong with the way Dr Wee charges.

Its spokesman said: "GPs are private providers within our larger healthcare system. Clinic charging varies across clinics and patients, depending on multiple factors.

"These may include the complexity of the patient's condition, the length of consultation, the type of treatment and medication provided, and the cost structure of the clinic, including rental and other overhead costs."

But she added that clinics are "encouraged" to display their common charges, like consultation fees, prominently in their clinics and provide itemised receipts to patients.

However, a clinic is not obliged to charge patients the amount stated in its table of fees. The MOH spokesman added: "Clinics have the prerogative to deviate from displayed charges, where justifiable."

Ms Kang said that she does not plan to visit the clinic again, even though her company picks up her medical tab.

Seee3

Her 3rd visit for sore throat and also had stomach pain this time. I will not see a doc for sore throat and she went back 3 times. Is she really interested in the cure or something else. The doc should just be honest and explained, 1 day $40 so 2 days is $80 lah. Or did he charged $80 for 1 day which is why she is complaining

fupikee

Her 3rd visit for sore throat and also had stomach pain this time. I will not see a doc for sore throat and she went back 3 times. Is she really interested in the cure or something else. The doc should just be honest and explained, 1 day $40 so 2 days is $80 lah. Or did he charged $80 for 1 day which is why she is complaining

Here...here.... we have to be careful...it's a medical issue and a life at stake.....a sore throat that is still not well after two visits and need to have a third visit??? Something is wrong ....

..... either the medicine provided by the doctor is sub standard that is why patient needs repeated visits or...

..... she has a medical problem more than a sore throat....and the doctor wee is not solving it....

.... given the money minded business approach of this dr wee, she is absolutely right to decide not to consult him again...but she still has to resolve her medical condition...maybe a referral to a specialist for throat ????:smile:

A sore throat that is not well after more than two weeks (presumably, estimated over three clinic visits) is more than worrying....

for sore throat, just drink lemon water and it is done. no need to see doctor.

Fuck those doctor who take advantage of the ignorance of the people and profit themselves.

A chow Doctor can't cure your sore throat you still go back? Time to ditch the lousy doc and seek 2nd opinion.

Dumbfuck 70% mentality....kena screwed still go back for more

ginbitchy

A chow Doctor can't cure your sore throat you still go back? Time to ditch the lousy doc and seek 2nd opinion.

Dumbfuck 70% mentality....kena screwed still go back for more

Sinkies should make good use of JB pharmacy stores and gain some medical knowledge to cure themselves. Until a surgery becomes necessary, you don't need to see a doctor. Every damn drug in Singapore needs a doctor's prescription, but not in JB. The restrictive policy is not to protect the patients in Singapore, but the doctors' ricebowls.

[

The Ministry of Health (MOH) said there is nothing wrong with the way Dr Wee charges.

This kind of reply reflect the govt's mentality that you work till you die to service all unreasonable medical expenses throw at you, even if you have to bend your spine to collect cardboards, cans and wipe table. Don't be fooled by this evening National Day song. The govt wanted you to stand united with them WITH YOUR MONEY, not yourselves.

ginbitchy

This kind of reply reflect the govt's mentality that you work till you die to service all unreasonable medical expenses throw at you, even if you have to bend your spine to collect cardboards, cans and wipe table. Don't be fooled by this evening National Day song. The govt wanted you to stand united with them WITH YOUR MONEY, not yourselves.

Most princes and princesses of MIWs and perm secs are doctors. Now with Medishield Life and Health Assist Blue Card, they have worked out to create this gold mine.

... clinics are "encouraged" to display their common charges, like consultation fees, prominently in their clinics and provide itemised receipts to patients.

However, a clinic is not obliged to charge patients the amount stated in its table of fees. The MOH spokesman added: "Clinics have the prerogative to deviate from displayed charges, where justifiable." ...
wa! lidat oso can! ...

put on show 1 set of fees ... actuarry charging u wif another set not shown 2 u ...

numero uno

frankly speaking I do not see anything wrong with it. sinkies like complain like buffett syndrome. pay one fee and expect to be treated like king or eat till sick until cost recovered. alot of sinkies are stupid and on farking logic, go to a car mechanic and if you complain your air con is not working and the auto tranmission is spoilt, do you expect the mecahnic to bill you only gor 1 problem???? go to restaurant and you order shark fin and abalone, do you expect to bill only for ordering shark fin? go to lawyer and if you consult him about a property deal and then about some business law, do you expect a single charge?? farking stupid idiot.

blueRad

This bitchy sinkie complained too much. What did she expect at a private clinic? Don't like it? Join the long queue at polyclinics.

congo9

This bitchy sinkie complained too much. What did she expect at a private clinic? Don't like it? Join the long queue at polyclinics.

I suggest she take the picture of the Clinic and Post it on Facebook and make the clinic famous overnight.

I thought it is normal or else some patient especially the old folks will have a never ending consultation.

I also ever after seeing a gp for flu and told him I have piles he said this one need to get another queue but that visit was covered by company insurers.

Worst I encountered was another visit . First time the gp diagnose wrongly I went home n got high fever and return the same clinic and got charge for consultation and medication again for re diagnose by another doctor as the initial one was already off duty.

borom

Legally correct but morally wrong-just like many things here.

policies favouring foreigners, cpf cannot withdraw all at 55 , high hospital charges and long waiting time ect2-you name it. This doctor no different from the pappy.

There is the danger of self medication, but, we are paying way TOO MUCH, where our common ailments can be solved going to the pharmacy.
A bad case of sore throat that comes with fever or a stomach ailment with fever, you can buy OTC medicine...

1. An infection of the throat, go get 2 strips of ten DANZEN tablets, 2 mg 3 times a day or
2. Mild fever - a strip of 20 Biogenic, 2 every 6 hours, high fever, 2 biogenic 6 hrs, 1 ibrufen 600 mg ( can't buy here, use your brain, where to get), after one day cycle still high fever...HEAD TO THE DOCTOR.
3. Sore throat with bad infection plus fever....1 250mg antibiotics ( find the safest, buy..ahem).

Stomach ailment...very subjective...one may need from probiotics to other..depending whats ailing the stomach..my good doctor, will say, you should know your own body....

plus lozenges....dequa!!..or common ones...cough mixtures...depending whether one may phlegm or not... this is call basic self medication from patented drugs bought OTC ( over the counter)...easily bought from pharmacy here plus other but overseas ...

you should know you own body...unless...one wants to lazy with a MC.....why pay consolation fees plus medicine doctor buy in bulk from pharmaceutical companies & which are the same, you can but off the shelf from pharmacy here or pharmacies out of SINGAPORE....overeases they don't sell class C drugs ( they have regulation too)....under POISON.

So...why let the doctors sell us medicines...that in Cantonese.."one or they girl bund"....in other words...."make a fool out of us"..but caution...if self medication don't work, after 6 or 12 hrs...GO SEE A DOCTOR....to find the underlying causes...mostly they are common, you can treat yourself...no need to spend $80 - $100+

Wanna see a doctor just walk across the causeway and pay more than 50% lesser in the medical fees. This is called vote with your money and feet against the PAP.

PinkaChung

Silly doctor has lost the true meaning of being a doctor. MOH even sillier to agree with the doctor. Everybody should give the doctor a poor rating on Google map. It's time to take action.

Wanna see a doctor just walk across the causeway and pay more than 50% lesser in the medical fees. This is called vote with your money and feet against the PAP.

If you feeling terribly unwell, you can go all the way to any of the bus departure point, Queen's Street, Woodlands MRT, JE, Kranji MRT etc... join the Q to take...SJB, CW 1 2 or 3....or 170 etc... disembark, board singapore/Malaysia side...& walk the long walk on Malaysia side....& by the time you find a GP there....most likely you will need to go hospital & that is far away...

talk some sense...cheap..yes!