• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat CEO panics and does a U-Turn

First he blasted the govt over Yaacob's comments and even called them schizophrenic. Now he is full of praises of the Govt and blames Netizens for twisting his words. Really a gutless creature.

Go compare his 2 Facebook posts.

http://digital.asiaone.com/digital/...anti-govt-hacks-try-take-my-words-out-context

Razer CEO says amused to see anti-govt hacks 'try to take my words out of context'

Tan Min-Liang, Co-Founder, CEO and Creative Director of Razer.

If you hadn't heard, Razer CEO Min-Liang Tan wrote a lengthy Facebook post yesterday on what he thought about the Singaporean government's attitude toward gaming.

In the post, he referred to their attitude as "schizophrenic" and called the government not to be a "Jon Snow". He cited the censorship of two games - Mass Effect and Counter Strike, as a telling sign on the government's willingness to "arbitrarily ban" video games.

Most interesting was a prediction in his Facebook post. Based on what he read from the article, Mr Tan believed that the government would be doing something soon for Pokemon GO in particular.

Naturally, many news media outlets reported on the vocal CEO's comments. Some even went so far as to quote his comments as being disparaging to the Singaporean government. This prompted him to write another Facebook post to clarify his position:

"I'm generally happy with how the Singapore govt runs things - I think they've done a great job in general actually - but that doesn't mean I'm going to suck it up when they suggest inane things like monitoring or censoring games."

That should be the same for everyone else. Just because someone speaks out against something doesn't mean they are unhappy or ungrateful for everything. It simply means that there's a place that can be changed to improve the whole situation.

on Facebook

Currently, knee-jerk comments on current events often gain so much momentum that it becomes public opinion - and that's just sad.

Why are anti-government sentiments still being thrown into the mix of complex, well-formed arguments about trying to manage and possibly regulate a fledgling industry in Singapore? Development-wise, Singapore is no powerhouse in gaming, and our consumer market isn't exactly huge.

My conversations with the guys from game developers Witching Hour Studios and Sparkjumpers often share the same concern areas: not enough talent, not enough support. It's unfortunate that Singapore's gaming industry has yet to bloom, given that it is currently flourishing in other countries.

Like what Mr. Tan is suggesting, consumers are responsible for their choices. Instead of simply shifting responsibility to the government, people should start talking and start taking ownership of what they will, and are, consuming.

Kena called up for kopi with ISD?
My friend reposted some caricatures mocking pinky and got called up for kopi liao.....

Satyr

He is gutless, yes and the authorities are really thin skinned How do we advance like this. Everything is hunky dory in Singapore ? The Singapore government is living on past glories and navel gazing. We are quickly being surpassed. Other countries will have younger, more spirited and gutsy people, who will soon have a good enough command of English to surpass us while being much cheaper. We prided ourselves on being a first world country. Yes, we have a first world infrastructure with a third world mentality.

Pinkieslut

Razer's God Ma Ma is Ho Ching of course he will U-turn.

Temasek-Backed Reebonz, Razer Said to Weigh U.S. Initial Offers

Razer CEO Min-Liang Tan
Two technology companies backed by units of Singapore’s state investment company Temasek Holdings Pte are considering U.S. initial public offerings, people with knowledge of the matter said.

Reebonz Pte, an online retailer of discounted luxury goods, is receiving proposals from investment banks about a proposed listing on the Nasdaq Stock Market in the first half of next year, two people said. Razer Inc., which makes computer hardware for video-game enthusiasts, is working with Credit Suisse Group AG on an IPO that could raise about $150 million, two other people said, asking not to be named as the process is private.

The companies join Alibaba Group Holding Ltd. and Line Corp. in seeking to sell shares in the U.S., where Asian Internet and technology companies have raised more than $3.3 billion in IPOs this year, data compiled by Bloomberg show. Temasek has been investing in startups as Singapore’s government seeks to make the city-state a hub for companies in fast-growing industries including cybersecurity and online retail.

Singapore-based Reebonz sells bags, shoes and jewelry by brands including Givenchy, Chanel and Christian Louboutin using a flash sales model, which offers limited-time deals at steep discounts. Its investors include Temasek unit Vertex Venture Holdings Ltd., GGV Capital, Intel Capital Corp. and the Singapore government’s Infocomm Investments Pte, according to the firms’ websites.

Reebonz is seeking investors ahead of an IPO, said one person familiar with the matter.

Alibaba IPO

dr.wailing

That's why there is absolutely no hope in Singapore.
You're totally right.

But that doesn't mean Sinkies have no hope. They can emigrate to other countries where there's plenty of hope. One such country is the USA. You'd be surprised many Sinkies numbering in the thousands are calling it home.

No lah. It the facebook administrator write rubbish lah. Disciplinary actions have been taken on the offending staff.