• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious McDonald's to sell all its stores in S'pore and franchise them. Only USD $400 million

aerobwala

Re: McDonald's to sell all its stores in S'pore and franchise them. Only USD $400 mil

6) McBig Pond - 1xup size of free Coca-cola in heavy raining day.

Re: McDonald's to sell all its stores in S'pore and franchise them. Only USD $400 mil

6) McBig Pond - 1xup size of free Coca-cola in heavy raining day.

Yes, hahaha. A McPonding drink. They fill your cup of coke until its overflowing on the counter.

What about a McKhaw burger? - U order a McKhaw burger and then the counter staff tells you they are out of fries or coke, or ketchup..... but they are really not. hence causing undue public panic?

When Robert Kwan opened his first and Singapore's first outlet at Liat Towers, it was the highest grossing outlet in the World. Seeing its success, the owners of Liat Towers secretly bought the Burger King Franchise and hiked the rent sky high to displace McDonald's.

Robert operating model was different and the US head office and HK main franchise holder who were his partners with Robert holding 50% of the total share, knew that Singapore did not have the land and building owners seldom sold the front facing ground floor properties. So he went into long term leases and advertising heavily on print and TV. For years, Robert held the record for annual marking spend in Singapore for years even beating the banks. He had this lady called Fanny or something that did all this including the hello kitty stuff.

He certainly made a fortune as he owned an ocean going yacht with a full complement of crew. He would ask the Yacht to sail to a holiday destination such as the Andaman Islands, used his executive jet to fly to the destination closest airport and then heli him and his guest to his yacht. He loved his fishing.

Very shrewd businessman. Slowly pared down his shares over years to 10 % and then sold it for all nearly 15 years ago. Fast food requires full time attention.

This shows even the big boys retail co like McD find Sg Biz is not substainable given the ever increasing rents.

McD in many Angmo countries operate by owning the land where they open self run restaurants. Thus McD is one of the biggest real estate asset owners in those countries.

Hilarious.... a real gem! :p
I suggest a few menu items to boost the sales of McDOnald's Singapore.

1) McAHKONG burger - Tough old leathery piece of meat, with hakka kiam chye on a sesame bun, served with a hatchet to cut the tough meat in a dark alley. Millions of sinkies will throng to MickeyDs to eat this.

2) McPinkie - A strawberry sundae served with a side of mee siam mai hum, and you get souvenir pink shirt if you order the meal.

3) McHO nuggets - Served in a illusionary box where 10 pieces chicken nugget will dissappear to 5, then zero, if you don't eat it fast enough.

4) McChuanJin - A durian dessert menu item. If you want to order this item, you don't have to wait in line. Just jump the Q and go straight to the counter to get your food.

5) CPF Fries - You order a large fries, but the restuarant will hold back 10 pieces until you are 65 years old, then you can come and claim it back. Of course, the rules might change by then.

Patriot

7. McLauGoh burger- With extra large Swiss standard of cheese with World Cup 2010 logo dressing in all the colours of the participating countries excluding Singapore, of course.

Really, was it Lau Goh that said 2010 world cup? I thought it was someone else. For Lau Goh, may I humbly suggest the following.

McWooden burger - 2 pieces of plywood sandwiched between a whole wheat bun, wrapped in an Old NOL share certificate.

Not sandwiched btween tintin's bun?

When Robert Kwan opened his first and Singapore's first outlet at Liat Towers, it was the highest grossing outlet in the World. Seeing its success, the owners of Liat Towers secretly bought the Burger King Franchise and hiked the rent sky high to displace McDonald's.

Robert operating model was different and the US head office and HK main franchise holder who were his partners with Robert holding 50% of the total share, knew that Singapore did not have the land and building owners seldom sold the front facing ground floor properties. So he went into long term leases and advertising heavily on print and TV. For years, Robert held the record for annual marking spend in Singapore for years even beating the banks. He had this lady called Fanny or something that did all this including the hello kitty stuff.

He certainly made a fortune as he owned an ocean going yacht with a full complement of crew. He would ask the Yacht to sail to a holiday destination such as the Andaman Islands, used his executive jet to fly to the destination closest airport and then heli him and his guest to his yacht. He loved his fishing.

Very shrewd businessman. Slowly pared down his shares over years to 10 % and then sold it for all nearly 15 years ago. Fast food requires full time attention.

Oh please, the only thing that Robert had was some money. A select group of Singaporeans were approached and quietly offered the national master franchise for singapore. But McDonald's was very arrogant at that time. They demanded that you prove you have USD$10 million before they would even talk to you. In those days (late 70s) it was alot of money. Some of Old fart's relatives (by marriage) were offered this franchise. But almost all the well off sinkies turned it down. Many were not interested in the food business, also in the way that MickeyD's would control their business. By the way, Robert advertising heavily on print and tv is not some brilliant marketing by him. Its required under the franchise agreement to commit a certain percentage of the gross sales to marketing. Also, all these marketing gadgets like Hello Kitty toys were originally brought to simgapore from the HKG franchisee, who had already been doing it there. So, nothing special from him. All robert had to do was hands off and follow the Mickey D operations manual. the money would flow in. the big attraction with mickyDs at that time was not the marketing, nor the food. But the fact that it was aircon, and their positioning the brand as a mid market restaurant chain. More upmarket then kopi tiam and hawker centres.

That is why Robert has to team up with Hongkies. Even he did not have USD$10 million. No one in singapore was willing to touch it, and no banks were going to finance him. The USA corporate office and Hongkie MickeyD's bankrolled him for 50% of the action. He was dealing from a weak hand. But in the end, it all worked out for him. If it had been a strong sinkie partner, they would never have accepted anything less then 100% of the action.

With the leases coming up on many of the stores, the franchise owners simply have done a pro forma and they cannot see how to make money at the rate they were. the rental increases would barely afford them anything. For McDonalds, the gross profit margin is 10% or less. A 20% or higher rent increase would wipe out their net. The prudent thing is to sell it for $400 million and take it back 20 years from now. If their predictions come thru, the person who bought the franchise would be begging them to get out of it by then.

Not sandwiched btween tintin's bun?

Yes, A McTin - A burger made to look very nice and pretty. but inside, filled with no ingredients and complete devoid of substance.

Or a cheeseburger served in a kate Spade tray?

when u order it,the waitress or waiter has to stamp her feet and shout "i dunno what to say!!!"

You must be a moron to think that MacDonald's asked for $10m in 1978 for a master franchise. Nobody in his right mind will pay $10m in 1978 for a fast food franchise fee for Singapore. You can buy a bloody hotel for that amount plus some bank borrowings. You also buy a slew of good properties and lease it to expats. MacDonald's property business model could not work in Singapore and they were not keen. If they were keen and they would not have given the franchise to a 27 year old kid who ran a failed bookstore and then a fluffy toy shop and noting else much to show for it.

I note that you have a tendency to come up with the most ridiculous claims.

Oh please, the only thing that Robert had was some money. A select group of Singaporeans were approached and quietly offered the national master franchise for singapore. But McDonald's was very arrogant at that time. They demanded that you prove you have USD$10 million before they would even talk to you. In those days (late 70s) it was alot of money. Some of Old fart's relatives (by marriage) were offered this franchise. But almost all the well off sinkies turned it down. Many were not interested in the food business, also in the way that MickeyD's would control their business.

That is why Robert has to team up with Hongkies. Even he did not have USD$10 million. No one in singapore was willing to touch it, and no banks were going to finance him. The USA corporate office and Hongkie MickeyD's bankrolled him for 50% of the action. He was dealing from a weak hand. But in the end, it all worked out for him. If it had been a strong sinkie partner, they would never have accepted anything less then 100% of the action.

With the leases coming up on many of the stores, the franchise owners simply have done a pro forma and they cannot see how to make money at the rate they were. the rental increases would barely afford them anything. For McDonalds, the gross profit margin is 10% or less. A 20% or higher rent increase would wipe out their net. The prudent thing is to sell it for $400 million and take it back 20 years from now. If their predictions come thru, the person who bought the franchise would be begging them to get out of it by then.

You must be a moron to think that MacDonald's asked for $10m in 1978 for a master franchise. Nobody in his right mind will pay $10m in 1978 for a fast food franchise fee for Singapore. You can buy a bloody hotel for that amount plus some bank borrowings. You also buy a slew of good properties and lease it to expats. MacDonald's property business model could not work in Singapore and they were not keen. If they were keen and they would not have given the franchise to a 27 year old kid who ran a failed bookstore and then a fluffy toy shop and noting else much to show for it.

I note that you have a tendency to come up with the most ridiculous claims.

yes 10 million to open a mickey d's is insane,why would mickey d demand 10m anyway?they are usually interested in the small business owner,the guy on the street thats interested in owning a franchise.

Patriot

Really, was it Lau Goh that said 2010 world cup? I thought it was someone else. For Lau Goh, may I humbly suggest the following.

McWooden burger - 2 pieces of plywood sandwiched between a whole wheat bun, wrapped in an Old NOL share certificate.

[h=3]Goh Chok Tong's World Cup 2010 Empty Promise[/h]

Subject: Re: Singapore to play in World Cup in 2010

During the 1998 National Day Rally speech, Prime Minister Goh Chok
Tong after watching the French victory in 1998 World Cup said he was
inspired by a group of players led by Zinedine Zidane who is of
Algerian extraction. He further commented:

"Look at the French World Cup football team. In the final against
Brazil, I picked Zidane as the most outstanding French player. He is
of Algerian descent. Of the 22-players, more than half did not look
"French". They looked Argentinian, Armenian, Basque, Caribbean,
Ghanaian, New Caledonian. Some were born in France, but of immigrant
parents. Others are first generation French citizens. When they went
up to receive their medals, President Chirac embraced all of them as
Frenchmen. He sent a strong political signal for multi-racialism and
against xenophobia: that in France, so long as you contribute to the
French cause, it does not matter what colour your skin is or where you
were born.

Last year I told you Singapore would never have a chance in the World
Cup, because the rules require all players to be citizens. But after
watching the French victory, I have changed my mind. Maybe if we
change our immigration criteria to bring in top football talent and
make them citizens, then one day we too can get into the finals. In
fact we intend to do just this, to bring in sports talent."

By 2006, even with the Foreign Talent Scheme in place, the World Cup
goal had been abandoned.

By 2010, Singapore is nowhere near that goal after spending a lot of
money. However, the Table Tennis foreign talent scheme had worked to
secured a World Championship for Singapore.

For Singapore, perhaps better to start with small ball better than big
ball. Ladies' hand better than men's foot. Maybe the next goal is
2020, Singapore will bring the World Cup home ... by the ladies
again, .... men just dream on!

On Jun 9, 8:26 pm, "Grandprix" wrote:

> Does anybody remember our ex-PM declaring that Singapore would play in the
> 2010 World Cup?

> Two more days and why are players still in Singapore and drinking teh tarik
> at kopi-tiam????

> Singapore can do; see our women's paddlers!! Singapore can. Still got time
> to go to South Africa. We can beat Brazil or the best of Europe! Let's go!

http://sg-truth.blogspot.sg/2010/06/goh-chok-tongs-world-cup-2010-empty.html

I thot someone said he fucked up on the personal front and kena blackmailed by his hk partner and had to sell his money printing shares to safeguard his freedom?

No idea about that. He sold his shares over a number of years from 50% to 10%. The final 10% sold in 2003. I believe it was sold to US HQ. the sale of shares was done over many years and made known in public. He was not interested and planned to retire. I am aware that he used to spend a lot of time after this in the Zoo doing work with Orang Utan enclosure while chairing the board of directors of the Zoo.

I thot someone said he fucked up on the personal front and kena blackmailed by his hk partner and had to sell his money printing shares to safeguard his freedom?

I tot it was mah bow tan who mentioned about sinkland in the WC.