• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious McDonald's to sell all its stores in S'pore and franchise them. Only USD $400 million

Any bros want to kongsi and put in bid or not? Its like license to print money. want or not?

[h=2]McDonald’s plans to sell Malaysia, Singapore franchises[/h]HONG KONG: McDonald’s Corp is planning a sale of 20-year franchise rights in Malaysia and Singapore that could collectively fetch at least US$400mil, people with knowledge of the matter said.

Suitors for the fast-food operations in the two Southeast Asian markets have begun sounding out banks for financing, said the people, who asked not to be identified because the information is private. A potential bidder is in talks with lenders for as much as US$300mil in funding, they said.

McDonald’s is seeking local franchise partners to run its restaurants in Malaysia and Singapore as it pursues an international turnaround plan put in place after CEO Steve Easterbrook took over last year.

The Big Mac maker, which has a US$112bil market value, is revamping its ownership models throughout Asia, including plans to sell operations in China, Hong Kong and South Korea.

McDonald’s has adopted a “development licensee model” for the two markets, a Singapore-based spokeswoman for the company said in an e-mailed response to Bloomberg queries. It is negotiating with candidates “who are committed to helping accelerate growth and innovation in Malaysia and Singapore,” she said.

Unlike in its other major markets -- including the U.S. -- most McDonald’s outlets in Asia are company-owned. The chain aims eventually to have 95% of its restaurants in the region under local ownership, it said in March.

McDonald’s currently has more than 120 restaurants with around 9,000 employees in Singapore, according to its local website. In Malaysia, the chain runs more than 250 restaurants, its website shows. - Bloomberg

Pinkieslut

Re: McDonald's to sell all its stores in S'pore and franchise them. Only USD $400 mil

This shows even the big boys retail co like McD find Sg Biz is not substainable given the ever increasing rents.

McD in many Angmo countries operate by owning the land where they open self run restaurants. Thus McD is one of the biggest real estate asset owners in those countries.

Re: McDonald's to sell all its stores in S'pore and franchise them. Only USD $400 mil

It is not about rental... Mcdonald business is doing very poorly now.. Closing many stores in the USA because people are eating healthy now.. Mcdonald food are not fit for a human being consumption.

JHolmesJr

9,000 jobs.....haha...9,000 shitty low wage jobs for dumb unskilled singos....hardly anything to be proud of.

Hope they pack up and fuck off...and take their crap food with them.

wow nice i want to own a mcd franchise too,especially the kallang stadium outlet.....even though the food taste like shit.....sinkies just cant get enough of it.

This shows even the big boys retail co like McD find Sg Biz is not substainable given the ever increasing rents.

McD in many Angmo countries operate by owning the land where they open self run restaurants. Thus McD is one of the biggest real estate asset owners in those countries.

mcd always own their real estate....why arent they doing that in sg?

9,000 jobs.....haha...9,000 shitty low wage jobs for dumb unskilled singos....hardly anything to be proud of.

not even for singos,most of these fast food joints are using cheaper better faster,i think they only hire the old decrepit sinkies to make up the quota.

here

BH1Bn.jpg

ok.. they own me another $200 million, i ll take different denomination of canadian and aussie dollars.

McDonald shld look themselves in the mirror - their quality has gone down the shit hole. Their fillet o fish has gone as thin as a sanitary pad.

Funny thing is mcd owns 95% of the local stores but they want to sell away the franchise rights for 20 years.why sell away a business if its good?like sbs why tender your bus routes away?something stinks of fillet o fish here.

aerobwala

Quit a number of senior citizen working in their restaurant. Do we have more space to do cardboard exercise if McD balek kampung ?

This is an excellent opportunity for SPH to grow their income base.

McDonaldsKid

McDonald's is comfort food for many. I hope the new frachisees don't fuck it up.

Pinkieslut

This is an excellent opportunity for SPH to grow their income base.

I suggest ST buy it and then get SAF to contract their meals to McD so that all NSmen can have happy meals.

It is not about rental... Mcdonald business is doing very poorly now.. Closing many stores in the USA because people are eating healthy now.. Mcdonald food are not fit for a human being consumption.

That makes it perfect for sinkies who are too stupid to tell the difference. that is why the sales will be strong in sinkeland

Funny thing is mcd owns 95% of the local stores but they want to sell away the franchise rights for 20 years.why sell away a business if its good?like sbs why tender your bus routes away?something stinks of fillet o fish here.

They need $400 million USD to invest elsewhere, anyway, its for only 20 years.

I suggest a few menu items to boost the sales of McDOnald's Singapore.

1) McAHKONG burger - Tough old leathery piece of meat, with hakka kiam chye on a sesame bun, served with a hatchet to cut the tough meat in a dark alley. Millions of sinkies will throng to MickeyDs to eat this.

2) McPinkie - A strawberry sundae served with a side of mee siam mai hum, and you get souvenir pink shirt if you order the meal.

3) McHO nuggets - Served in a illusionary box where 10 pieces chicken nugget will dissappear to 5, then zero, if you don't eat it fast enough.

4) McChuanJin - A durian dessert menu item. If you want to order this item, you don't have to wait in line. Just jump the Q and go straight to the counter to get your food.

5) CPF Fries - You order a large fries, but the restuarant will hold back 10 pieces until you are 65 years old, then you can come and claim it back. Of course, the rules might change by then.