• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious McDonald's to sell all its stores in S'pore and franchise them. Only USD $400 million

garlic

Re: McDonald's to sell all its stores in S'pore and franchise them. Only USD $400 mil

Well, if there's one thing that Temasek can't fuck up, it is this. They should form another $2 AIM company and buy this master franchisor license up. If they do not, this would mean they are really thick, McD looking to sell malaysian's stake as well...

Re: McDonald's to sell all its stores in S'pore and franchise them. Only USD $400 mil

Would be great if temasek could own the real estate along with the macs,but they belong to the reits that owns the malls.I guess this doesnt really suit macs business model,thats why they are looking to sell the business,if u dont own the land u arent really the master.like ray kroc said they are in the business of real estate not selling burgers.ultimately the money maker is the real estate,the burgers is just to feed the workers and franchise owners,let them make a little profit for dooing all the work and keep the system going.

Wow, you knew jopie ong when he was a 'struggling' store owner, you were in khoo teck puat's house when he scolded some minions. And now we know you even knew robert kwan when he was just a 'struggling' book seller. You know every god damn richie rich in singapore, not only that, you were there when things happened. You are either full of shit or a super well connected person, most likely a multi-millionaire yourself! :rolleyes:

He is obviously super well connected, even richer then then porn king Sam Leong.

that's about right. the mcd tycoon in the north bay, a chink, had to pay a franchise fee of over usd500k for each joint. that was in the 70s. his claim to fame is location and scale. no point operating just one joint when he could start with 3 or more on day one. that was his pitch to win the franchise for a competitive and lucrative market area which included sf, oakland and napa/vallejo. moreover, to be awarded the franchise, he had to show net worth and holding power. usd10m in collateral and assets were not far-fetched. there were other franchise applicants who were typically immigrants with some money to secure residency. this tycoon now has large tracts of land in vallejo, a ranch, a mansion on the ranch grounds, servant and visitor quarters, a lake, an indoor gym cum basketball court, several tennis courts, etc. i was there for a rotary club picnic. he now has over 50 mcd joints in the north bay. the south bay is dominated by another mcd franchisee tycoon. when there were too many franchise applicants, mcd preferred to award to only a select few with financial means who could cover regional market areas than giving franchise licenses to any stand-alone single-joint mom and pop. at that time, mcd was a much sought-after franchise, in its ascendancy, and in a commanding position to call the shots.

Aiyah, don't say its about right. Just say "PAPsmearer, you are right". I know its hard to say but say it because its good to get it off your chest. Think about it. Robert Kwan opened over 120 McDonalds in SIngapore. That's probably the total number MickeyDs in the entire Bay Area. Worth USD$10 million or not in 1979? U better believe it. Its fucking cheap. But I don't think he and his partners paid $10 USD million. The USD$10 million was to show net worth, and they wanted it in the form of a bankdraft or something. the actual franchise fee is probably less.

U got try the gilroy garlic fries or not?

it's getting packed in the bay area because of its all-day breakfast menu and more affordable "gourmet" coffee. actually, their coffee now is above average for the price of usd1 when purchased with a meal.

When I am in the US, I drink MickyD kopi. Cheap and good. much Better then the crap kopi they serve in their sinkieland outlets. The Starsux kopi is burnt tasting to me, and even more burnt when sold in singapore. In sinkieland, kopitiam kopi is still king.

Aiyah, don't say its about right. Just say "PAPsmearer, you are right". I know its hard to say but say it because its good to get it off your chest. Think about it. Robert Kwan opened over 120 McDonalds in SIngapore. That's probably the total number MickeyDs in the entire Bay Area. Worth USD$10 million or not in 1979? U better believe it. Its fucking cheap. But I don't think he and his partners paid $10 USD million. The USD$10 million was to show net worth, and they wanted it in the form of a bankdraft or something. the actual franchise fee is probably less.

In 1970s warren buffet was worth 25 mil and donald trump 40 mil,today donald is worth 4 bil and warren 54b,robert kwan big fuck?

Looks like Narong was right.

By the way Old man and his wife are long time blossom buddies of Bob's dad. Used to spend their time at Chinese Swimming Club. GKS was also very close to Bob's dad (same kampung in Malacca) . Bob's dad academic wise was a the least qualified amongst all Deputy Vice Chancellors so he did pure administration. Never lecturered or tutored in his life. Used to train teachers for school at Teacher Training College. He was dragged in from his post of Perm Sec MOE as confidante from the post of Perm Sec after Toh Chin Chye upset the lecturers and student as Minister as well as DVC.

Father coughed up $50k for the son's 50% share in the venture in 1978. Father consulted Prof Lee Soon Ann before he parted with the money.

Bro, Bob was forced by his HK partner to sell out his interest in MCD. Apparently they had evidence about his taking kickbacks from acquisition and development of all new outlets in S'pore.

Heard this info from someone who once shared with Bob ownership of a 110 footer luxurious boat. They also went on separate ways.

On hindsight it's a blessing in disguise for Bob that he was forced to sell out.

I know Bob when he was a struggling book salesman and his old man was a professor in S'pore U and a diplomat.

it's getting packed in the bay area because of its all-day breakfast menu and more affordable "gourmet" coffee. actually, their coffee now is above average for the price of usd1 when purchased with a meal.

american fastfood actually looks pretty good and their menu extensive although iv never been to US before,i guess US is the one country in the world that takes serious pride in their fast food.hope to eat chick fil a and in and out and five guys one day......i bet they use premium Tyson chicken nuggets and bell and evans instead of the shit we get in singapore.

ok lah, you are damn right. garlic fries from gilroy are ok, but during the garlic festival, which is about right now, they are rip-off's. there's a philly cheese steak sandwich shop in milpitas which sells garlic fries (not gilroy), and they are damn good. also good are curly fries with garlic flavor from arby's. my hk friends have a series of arby's franchises from east bay to south bay. they are already tycoons in real estate but they get into the arby's business because they partner with a taiwanese to help him acquire a business visa with prospect of getting pr. fast food franchises are typically owned by chinks. now nehs are all over the map with quizno, togo and subway franchises. and they are feeding junk to blacks, hispanics and white trash. :wink:

fuck them shitskins.ill be sure to boycott all quiznos,togos and subways.u seems particularly happy about the shitskins success in USA and other places,that is suspicious activity,im putting u on the shitskin watchlist.

between anything with garlic smells good,i tried these frozen hashbrown made of british maris piper potatoes which cost a bomb,when i opened the bag the smell of garlic took me by surprise,never thought of garlic in hashbrowns before.it was amazingly pleasant.

When I am in the US, I drink MickyD kopi. Cheap and good. much Better then the crap kopi they serve in their sinkieland outlets. The Starsux kopi is burnt tasting to me, and even more burnt when sold in singapore. In sinkieland, kopitiam kopi is still king.

you're so wealthy and you drink mccafe kopi? ok lah. i drink it and ask for no sugar when i have craving for egg mcmuffin. the best kopi here is from philz. no name yet in sg, but if it opens in sg will be special. it's not a big chain in the bay area and is only confined between berkeley, sf, peninsula, and sj. the fb campus has a philz shop serving free kopi to employees as a perk. fb pays philz by the cup. try the mint mojito, it's the best, and oh so good at philz when you're here next time. they opened a store late last year on market street near the embarcadero. in sg, my favorite is still kopi-c from soy eu tua kopitiam. cheap and good.

american fastfood actually looks pretty good and their menu extensive although iv never been to US before,i guess US is the one country in the world that takes serious pride in their fast food.hope to eat chick fil a and in and out and five guys one day......i bet they use premium Tyson chicken nuggets and bell and evans instead of the shit we get in singapore.

fast food from panda express is not bad. but generally fast food in america especially pizza joints plus soda will turn you into a whale. :biggrin:

fuck them shitskins.ill be sure to boycott all quiznos,togos and subways.u seems particularly happy about the shitskins success in USA and other places,that is suspicious activity,im putting u on the shitskin watchlist.

between anything with garlic smells good,i tried these frozen hashbrown made of british maris piper potatoes which cost a bomb,when i opened the bag the smell of garlic took me by surprise,never thought of garlic in hashbrowns before.it was amazingly pleasant.

there's an ah neh who acquired a mcd franchise in modesto and never look back. at the godforsaken central valley where no chink wants to go ah neh jumps in. he now owns a dozen joints, buys condos near his joints, and fucks the mexican manageress at each joint back in his many condos - reason why they becum manageress. you can say he is living the fast and high "climatic" life. i call the town "molesto" because of him.

a very smart ah neh in deed.

WTF! u mean there is a shitskin watchlist? I never knew that. Is it a secret list or anyone can join?

When I am in california, I see a lot of mexicans working in the fast food industry. SOme of them are not bad at all. Big tits, big ass. I heard they are horny too. But after watching "Training Day", I don't dare to chat with them. Skali they got a gangbanger BF. This apuneh franchisor must be damn brave to fuck Mexican chikitas.

fast food from panda express is not bad. but generally fast food in america especially pizza joints plus soda will turn you into a whale. :biggrin:

So many chinese restaurants around the bay area and you eat at Panda express? U are a moron.

you're so wealthy and you drink mccafe kopi? ok lah. i drink it and ask for no sugar when i have craving for egg mcmuffin. the best kopi here is from philz. no name yet in sg, but if it opens in sg will be special. it's not a big chain in the bay area and is only confined between berkeley, sf, peninsula, and sj. the fb campus has a philz shop serving free kopi to employees as a perk. fb pays philz by the cup. try the mint mojito, it's the best, and oh so good at philz when you're here next time. they opened a store late last year on market street near the embarcadero. in sg, my favorite is still kopi-c from soy eu tua kopitiam. cheap and good.

I have never heard of Phiz or even seen one at all. I will look out for it the next time i am there. Are they in LA ? But MikcyD kopi is cheap and for the price is a good deal

WTF! u mean there is a shitskin watchlist? I never knew that. Is it a secret list or anyone can join?

yes there are many watchlists,like the alien watchlist,the osama lookalike watchlist,the north korean spy/ambassador from pyongyang watchlist,why would u want to join the shitskin watchlist?is like wanting to join the list for serial rapists or molestors.

I am talking about McDonald's garlic fries. Its on their website. I think some sinkies are doing that too, looking at Franchises to by as a means to getting a business visa.