• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious PAP Swiss standard of living now downgraded to Swiss model of training, so pathetic!

[h=1]Singapore can learn from Swiss in training, education: Tharman[/h]
SINGAPORE: While the Republic "cannot become Swiss", it can move towards the Swiss model of training and education where skills are learnt first and qualifications are attained later, said Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam on Tuesday (Jul 12).

"You can't change it completely - because you can't change culture completely and you certainly can't change it quickly - but you can move in that direction."
Mr Tharman, who is also Singapore's Coordinating Minister for Economic and Social Policies, was speaking at the Switzerland-Singapore Business Forum, entitled Developing a Future Ready Workforce.

He said Singapore faces two key challenges - a tight labour force and constant changes in the skill sets required.

To deal with these, the whole system of training and the model of education must evolve and there must also be a structured continuum of learning both before employment and during an individual's career.

But before this can happen, the culture of education must also evolve, the Deputy Prime Minister said, adding that this is one area where the Republic can learn from the Swiss.

Getting employers to take ownership in training their workers and ensuring that everyone feels they can improve continuously is key, Mr Tharman said.

"That dual culture - employers taking ownership and individuals feeling that they can all become masters of their trade - is, I think, what defines the Swiss culture. It is what we must aspire towards," he said.
"We need this virtuous cycle where individuals feel their employers care for their development ... And individuals decide to stay with their employers so their skills can move up in the same trade. We need that virtuous cycle - employers taking responsibility and employees upgrading themselves. We do not quite have it yet, but it can be developed," he added.

The Deputy Prime Minister said it is also important to incorporate elements of vocational training in the education system.
"We have to move in that direction, by making it possible for people - regardless if they are Institute of Technical Education students, polytechnic students or university students - making it possible for them to encounter the real world early. Infuse practical learning into academic learning early, reduce the barrier between pre- and post-employment training ... and encourage people through the reality of the workforce that it does pay to follow the skills path," said Mr Tharman.
COMPANIES KEY TO VOCATIONAL TRAINING: SWISS PRESIDENT

Swiss President Johann Schneider-Ammann, who was at the forum as part of his first state visit to Singapore, explained that about two-thirds of Swiss go through vocational training as part of their formal education after compulsory school. Vocational training is the "backbone" of the education system and the economy as the skills acquired through vocational training are those that are demanded by the labour market, he added.

Through the Swiss model of vocational training, theoretical learning in school is complemented by practical application in apprenticeships, Mr Schneider-Ammann added.
"The public authorities do have a complementary role, but the heart of the dual vocational education and training (VET) system resides in the companies. This direct link to the economy, this feeling of ownership of the VET system by the private sector is, in my opinion, the main key," he said.
"Building up this support, changing the way people think about education and training, is hard and takes time, but with the right arguments and good success stories, I think it is possible ... The companies must believe that it is in their interest to engage in training young people; they must see the benefit," he added.
VOCATIONAL TRAINING IN SINGAPORE
Before the VET model can be implemented in Singapore, however, the Singapore National Employers Federation’s (SNEF) president, Dr Robert Yap, said companies must be equipped to impart the necessary skills.
He said the companies may be willing to do so but lack the knowledge required. This is where trade associations and even SNEF come in to help companies develop their curriculum and prepare them to provide training for their employees.
"If you bring in somebody to do (training) and you are not prepared for it, the person comes like a transient guest. You learn nothing. So you need to create the environment to be conducive," he said.
Meanwhile, chairman of Swiss company ABB Peter Voser said vocational training has contributed significantly to the company's operations, and hopes Singaporean firms can adopt a similar model of education and "invest youngsters for the future".
"(This) will actually help them be successful in a world which is much more driven by different places, models, innovations in the future," he said.
This year is the first time the Switzerland-Singapore Business Forum, which brings together stakeholders and experts from both countries to discuss the importance of learning at every stage of an individual's career, was held in Singapore. It was attended by about 200 Swiss and Singapore representatives, including policymakers, industry representatives, unions and academics.

Re: PAP Swiss standard of living now downgraded to Swiss model of training, so pathet

Ministers have been talking cock for the last 40 years so what else is new.

In the 70s it was Japanese work ethic, 80s was QCC... the solution to everything, 90s was dot.com revolution to transform the country, 2000s was casinos, F1 and other cocksucking services.

Now we have Swiss stuff... and the country is still crap after all these years.

borom

Re: PAP Swiss standard of living now downgraded to Swiss model of training, so pathet

Swiss training and education BUT Pinoy, PRC and Indian wages ?-better (quality), faster (production) and cheaper (wages)!!!

But minister salaries still highest in the world!!!

batman1

All these training ,retraining and skilling and reskilling no use one.The reality is that there is very little or no more jobs available for sinkees in this island invaded by foreigners.

Follow Swiss training? Why not Germany? Why not Japan ? All suka suka one day say this one day say that.

In the 70s it was Japanese work ethic, 80s was QCC... the solution to everything, 90s was dot.com revolution to transform the country, 2000s was casinos, F1 and other cocksucking services.

Somewhat forgot to tell the idiot Tharm that the raw materials (Swiss citizens) that they have the training model originally designed for are somewhat of a much higher quality then the raw materials (Apunehs, PRC, Pinoys, the occasional sinkie, etc) that are the target of this so call training model. i.e. you cannot make gold coins with lead. U need to have gold to make gold coins. The swiss have gold, that is why their training methods result in good quality gold coin. We have lead. Even swiss training model used on lead cannot produce Gold.

Bravo, bravo! One of the rare occasions that I agree whole-heartedly with you.

While the Republic "cannot become Swiss", it can move towards the Swiss model of training and education where skills are learnt first and qualifications are attained later, said Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam on Tuesday (Jul 12).

"You can't change it completely - because you can't change culture completely and you certainly can't change it quickly - but you can move in that direction."

That's the Asian way lah ...not Swiss.

In fact Asian way is better ...don't bother about getting the qualification. Just hire based on skill, no need paper. That way, the Ah Nehs flocking here with paper will stand no chance.

In order to become swiss,we must first get rid of PAP.

lets not aim too high for the stars lah ok?im perfectly happy with just achieving the swiss standard of living,not embody the swiss in their culture,society,behaviour,values and democracy,im happy for sinkies to remain as chao loser daft sinkies,sinkies should be who they are,not try to be who they are not....its impossible to turn a piece of shit into a diamond but that doesnt mean we cannot achieve the wealth and material comfort level of the swiss society.maybe one day after hundreds of years of evolution sinkies may become as enlightened as the swiss.

I have stood up in a QCC meeting in the 1980's & f$#$^$^ the daylights of those calling for the same , "going through the motion" meeting every week, which was unproductive than being useful, for they are taking me, off from my work, that is usually very hectic. They stopped the crappy meeting, unless, someone in the office, has a good suggestion to improve anything.

Before that, like you have said..emulate Japanese work ethics....but nobody committed harakiri when they made dastardly mistakes!..all these emulation of people's work style etc...trying to adapt it, to our work culture...it is just hogwash....

Charlie99

somewhat forgot to tell the idiot tharm that the raw materials (swiss citizens) that they have the training model originally designed for are somewhat of a much higher quality then the raw materials (apunehs, prc, pinoys, the occasional sinkie, etc) that are the target of this so call training model. I.e. You cannot make gold coins with lead. U need to have gold to make gold coins. The swiss have gold, that is why their training methods result in good quality gold coin. We have lead. Even swiss training model used on lead cannot produce gold.

very good analogy

Somewhat forgot to tell the idiot Tharm that the raw materials (Swiss citizens) that they have the training model originally designed for are somewhat of a much higher quality then the raw materials (Apunehs, PRC, Pinoys, the occasional sinkie, etc) that are the target of this so call training model. i.e. you cannot make gold coins with lead. U need to have gold to make gold coins. The swiss have gold, that is why their training methods result in good quality gold coin. We have lead. Even swiss training model used on lead cannot produce Gold.

You forgot that the ah nehs like gold electroplated lead... all their shiny gold jewelry are gold electroplated....every year before any of their festivities they will visit the jewellers in Little India or Joo Chiat Complex..bring their 'gold' jewelry there & electroplate to make it SHINE AGAIN...so Tharman knows what he is doing...electroplating lead with gold...still can get Swiss gold standard...Chey!...that is why his head is so shiny!

Hans168

LOL the German vocational system which papigs were shouting for past 41 yrs now morphed into Swiss training - same shit in different shitbowl
Dun these papigs have better ideas?? Indranee Rajah went to Germany a year ago and made song & dance abt it & yet these highly paid clowns are still at it.................... how abt some focused actions?????????????? Else potong gaji!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

According to the pappies, it's:

Swiss standard of living ........................ for us.

Swiss model of training ........................ for you. :biggrin:

lets not aim too high for the stars lah ok?im perfectly happy with just achieving the swiss standard of living,not embody the swiss in their culture,society,behaviour,values and democracy,im happy for sinkies to remain as chao loser daft sinkies,sinkies should be who they are,not try to be who they are not....its impossible to turn a piece of shit into a diamond but that doesnt mean we cannot achieve the wealth and material comfort level of the swiss society.maybe one day after hundreds of years of evolution sinkies may become as enlightened as the swiss.

U don't understand anything about the swiss standard of living. the swiss could not have attained their standard of living without their culture, behaviour, values, society, and democracy etc. This is what the PAP does not understand. U cannot attain swiss standard of living without adopting many of the elements of swiss society. In switzerland, all reservist take home their personal rifle with 2 30 round mags of live ammo, so that when they are mobilized they can already report with weapon in hand. What does this tell u about swiss society? There is an element of discipline, purpose, awareness of each person's national role, etc. Their govt trust them and believes in them, and they in turn trust the govt. That is why they can get to where they are today. U think the PAP trust every reservist to take home their SAR 21 with 2 mags of live round? Hell no. This difference between singapore and switzerland is not bridgeable. therefore, we do not and will never have swiss standards.

You forgot that the ah nehs like gold electroplated lead... all their shiny gold jewelry are gold electroplated....every year before any of their festivities they will visit the jewellers in Little India or Joo Chiat Complex..bring their 'gold' jewelry there & electroplate to make it SHINE AGAIN...so Tharman knows what he is doing...electroplating lead with gold...still can get Swiss gold standard...Chey!...that is why his head is so shiny!

don't insult gold plated jewelry. U can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear. Tharm should know this.

U don't understand anything about the swiss standard of living. the swiss could not have attained their standard of living without their culture, behaviour, values, society, and democracy etc. This is what the PAP does not understand. U cannot attain swiss standard of living without adopting many of the elements of swiss society. In switzerland, all reservist take home their personal rifle with 2 30 round mags of live ammo, so that when they are mobilized they can already report with weapon in hand. What does this tell u about swiss society? There is an element of discipline, purpose, awareness of each person's national role, etc. Their govt trust them and believes in them, and they in turn trust the govt. That is why they can get to where they are today. U think the PAP trust every reservist to take home their SAR 21 with 2 mags of live round? Hell no. This difference between singapore and switzerland is not bridgeable. therefore, we do not and will never have swiss standards.

like i said sinkies can never emulate the swiss,we cannot make sinkies think,behave,act,theorise,logic like the swiss,its quite possible to programme or teach them up to a certain level but with PAP's education system in place,its never going to happen,in fact i think hong kongers have a higher chance of attaining the swiss standard of society if not for china's influence on them,hong kies have a crucial element that sinkies lack------independent thinking.but this doesnt mean we cannot attain the swiss standard of living or at least work towards that ideal,lots of countries have attained high levels of equality and low gini,they have nearly achieved the swiss standard "paradigm",at least 13 countries come to mind,japan,iceland,finland,scandinavian countries,germany,france,australia etc etc.what makes the swiss stand out is their high levels of autonomy in their democratic process,the people are literally the government,they vote on issues on the canton level,then consolidate and escalate it to the national level.the swiss trust each other enough to do that.for example the last two referendums the swiss voted against a six week annual leave versus the current five week work leave,and they voted against the basic income,swiss understands moderation and self responsibility.however to achieve the swiss standard of living is a little more simple,its a matter of economics,we have already achieve a highly successful economy,its only matter of tweaking the tax rates a little,to facilitate the transferance of wealth a little,to get the government to lean slightly left a little,or change for a better government if possible,to get the nation to think in more socialist terms.we dont expect to become like australia in one day,but taking tiny little steps is the way to go.hopefully one day we will achieve our swiss paradise and get rid of these foreign trash muthafarkers!!!!

RiderMan

Okay then what later, Swiss Standard of ????????? ..

Where is our World Cup?