• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat $500Kplus to do Medicine in Australia

Had lunch with this gentleman today and he told me that it will cost him approximately $500k plus to send his daughter to do medicine in Australia. I was surprised that the fees and cost of living had shot up in matter of years. He told me that fees alone was AUD70k x 6 years =AUD 420K . The fees do not cover accommodation and any living expense.

He also told me that she had all As but there were about 2,000 applicants for 260 places for NUS. He also said that they are required to submit 2 letters of recommendation plus interview for NUS. She however did not get accepted and they enrolled her in Australia.

Here is something that surprised me. He told me that the interview panel at the University in Australia did not have a candidates full name but a number and first name. Apparently this is to avoid students with well known parents having an advantage. They also did away with letters of recommendation to avoid influencing the panel. I was not aware of the letters of recommendation. Anyone know when it was introduced.

When I asked him about doctors from 3rd World countries, he naturally became upset. And yes, he will never ever vote for the PAP.

That's where my mother's friend has great foresight. The whole family migrated to Australia then and the daughter re-studied university taking medicine. Must be a lot cheaper or free.

Had lunch with this gentleman today and he told me that it will cost him approximately $500k plus to send his daughter to do medicine in Australia. I was surprised that the fees and cost of living had shot up in matter of years. He told me that fees alone was AUD70k x 6 years =AUD 420K . The fees do not cover accommodation and any living expense.

He also told me that she had all As but there were about 2,000 applicants for 260 places for NUS. He also said that they are required to submit 2 letters of recommendation plus interview for NUS. She however did not get accepted and they enrolled her in Australia.

Here is something that surprised me. He told me that the interview panel at the University in Australia did not have a candidates full name but a number and first name. Apparently this is to avoid students with well known parents having an advantage. They also did away with letters of recommendation to avoid influencing the panel. I was not aware of the letters of recommendation. Anyone know when it was introduced.

When I asked him about doctors from 3rd World countries, he naturally became upset. And yes, he will never ever vote for the PAP.

Just apply for govt scholarship lah, and come back and serve the bond. Most of the scholarship will be covered by the PSC, SAF, etc. whichever one he wants to apply for.

Ash007

That's where my mother's friend has great foresight. The whole family migrated to Australia then and the daughter re-studied university taking medicine. Must be a lot cheaper or free.
Its not free, but you don't have to pay it off with an arm and a leg. Basically, government loan at cpi which they deduct from ypur salary when you start earning over 50k. Its the internship later at 5th year that international students will have problems finding placements.

Very funny. Spend 500k to study .come back work hard to earn 1mil. Pay back loan 500k left 500k to retire. Conclusion now to retire with the 500k .lol

well the father should have foreseen this coming years ago and started saving and investing for her uni education.they should have had ten years at least to prepare.

otherwise she can work as a freelance escort to pay for her education,at $500 a pop,she only has to service 150 customers a year over six years.at least she is a women,females have that advantage.

if someone is smart enough to become a doctor,im sure they are smart enough to deal with a 500k debt.

Its not free, but you don't have to pay it off with an arm and a leg. Basically, government loan at cpi which they deduct from ypur salary when you start earning over 50k. Its the internship later at 5th year that international students will have problems finding placements.

Oic so they can slowly return. Are the fees also cheaper compared to international students since my mother's friend whole family migrated there? The daughter basically already finished university in Spore in another faculty and re studied all over again to become doctor there.

Brightkid

I heard the International student's placement process may be twited and easier for internship placement there. How? I don't have full details yet.

well the father should have foreseen this coming years ago and started saving and investing for her uni education.they should have had ten years at least to prepare.

otherwise she can work as a freelance escort to pay for her education,at $500 a pop,she only has to service 150 customers a year over six years.at least she is a women,females have that advantage.

if someone is smart enough to become a doctor,im sure they are smart enough to deal with a 500k debt.

There are Sporean parents who can cough up half a million for medical studies. Like my ex colleague who basically sold off her car and plus savings plus inheritance from grandparents to send her daughter to UK for medicine. That was many years ago in the late 90s. Now back in Spore as doctor.

Escort? Please lah people with brains will not do that. If want to be doctor , just migrate to country that offer free or cheap medical studies and re study to become doctor again. Just like my mother's friend daughter. Now doctor for many years. Anyway don't set restrictions on yourself, no need female, males also can be gigolo to earn money for study, for vanity for whatever you want. Go read my thread on MALAYSIAN GIGOLO.

lifeafter41

Maybe the UK will be a better choice with the pound dropped recently.......
Was wondering what would be the cost of studying medicine in the USA, especially in Stanford.

There are Sporean parents who can cough up half a million for medical studies. Like my ex colleague who basically sold off her car and plus savings plus inheritance from grandparents to send her daughter to UK for medicine. That was many years ago in the late 90s. Now back in Spore as doctor.

Escort? Please lah people with brains will not do that. If want to be doctor , just migrate to country that offer free or cheap medical studies and re study to become doctor again. Just like my mother's friend daughter. Now doctor for many years. Anyway don't set restrictions on yourself, no need female, males also can be gigolo to earn money for study, for vanity for whatever you want. Go read my thread on MALAYSIAN GIGOLO.

not about brains or what,some people just see it as something to do to get ahead in life,women especially has a strong ability in their mind to justify many things for monetary or personal gain,some spend their lives pursuing a life goal or dreams and see it as a necessary step to get there,other women see it as a tool to advance their career.sex is a powerful weapon,if u have it why not use it to ur advantage?look at how many politicians with successful careers are getting their dick sucked.

also money and power are the greatest aphrodisiacs,scientists have done countless of studies about the two that makes women's ovaries tingle and their vulva quiver and their clistoris glisten and their mammary glands shiver.its in their genomes,they are programmed by nature to respond to power and money is power.take General Petraeus for example,hottest scandal in US military history back in 2012.a guy looking like michael scott from the office except 100 times more squirrely,with the same haircut back when he joined the boy scouts when he was 13.but when he put on his 4 star general uniform with the tag that says Petraeus and that big ass badge like a satelitte dish with all the colours and barcodes,and he whispers into ur ears "yes check out my security clearance baby,level 5" "im the Supreme ala Commander of the most powerful army in the world" its enough to make any woman blush like a schoolgirl and look down at their notepads and scribble furiously about the interview about whatever pointless bullshit about what makes him so successful and fearsome.cue the theme song from fifty shades of grey and the estrogens and testesterones go into overdrive and pretty soon u are having wild tongue sex in the elevator.

[video=youtube;Rg8mpSvAjEE]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rg8mpSvAjEE[/video]

i mean how often do a ultra dork/nerd like u get to bang a chick twenty years younger than you and 100 times hotter whose wrote a book about the war in iraq called "ALL IN" ALL IN??????obviously shes giving u the hint to go ALL IN.

vGaTJch.jpg

greedy and cunning

well ,the father did not foresee this coming and voted wrongly.
now no point regretting for being naive in the past. :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

not about brains or what,some people just see it as something to do to get ahead in life,women especially has a strong ability in their mind to justify many things for monetary or personal gain,some spend their lives pursuing a life goal or dreams and see it as a necessary step to get there,other women see it as a tool to advance their career.sex is a powerful weapon,if u have it why not use it to ur advantage?look at how many politicians with successful careers are getting their dick sucked.

also money and power are the greatest aphrodisiacs,scientists have done countless of studies about the two that makes women's ovaries tingle and their vulva quiver and their clistoris glisten and their mammary glands shiver.its in their genomes,they are programmed by nature to respond to power and money is power.take General Petraeus for example,hottest scandal in US military history back in 2012.a guy looking like michael scott from the office except 100 times more squirrely,with the same haircut back when he joined the boy scouts when he was 13.but when he put on his 4 star general uniform with the tag that says Petraeus and that big ass badge like a satelitte dish with all the colours and barcodes,and he whispers into ur ears "yes check out my security clearance baby,level 5" "im the Supreme ala Commander of the most powerful army in the world" its enough to make any woman blush like a schoolgirl and look down at their notepads and scribble furiously about the interview about whatever pointless bullshit about what makes him so successful and fearsome.cue the theme song from fifty shades of grey and the estrogens and testesterones go into overdrive and pretty soon u are having wild tongue sex in the elevator.

[video=youtube;Rg8mpSvAjEE]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rg8mpSvAjEE[/video]

Again don't set restrictions on yourself. If you talking about using sex for career or life progression like it is a normalcy, please remember you also can do the reverse i.e young man with older woman boss. If not who are the clients of the MALAYSIAN GIGOLO?

garlic

Very funny. Spend 500k to study .come back work hard to earn 1mil. Pay back loan 500k left 500k to retire. Conclusion now to retire with the 500k .lol

I think if work as doctor, <10 years can get a million liao... forgive me if i count wrong, though..

Getting a sugar daddy is the panacea.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I heard from my ex colleague that her sister earned a few hundred thousands a year running a clinic...

Depends. GP probably about 200-300k? Specialist a lot more. But this is after all the training which can take up to 10 years for specialists. GP have to build up the practice and competition in stiff. Also rental is high. So actual take home may be much lower.

But what is a million dollars in Singapore? What can it buy you? A house? A condo?

Not to mention high costs of living eats into disposable income. So in the end the savings maybe $50k a year?

I think to retire need about $3million at age 65 to be able to see out for husband and wife till death. Need to work 30-50 years. Possible but it will be tiring.

Bankers on the other hand make hundreds of thousands in BONUSES! Yes on top of their already high salaries. So suddenly got $200k in Bonus go straight to savings/investment account. Every year......

I had a banker patient before. He said doctor work very hard eh? I said yeah. He said pay is not much huh? I said yeah but at least it is slow and steady and stable. He said yeah that is good if you want to work till you die. The idea is want to earn as much quickly then retire young and enjoy life. Banking is the best. Banker know when times will be bad cos they control the lending anyway. The don't lend = economy will fall. They liquidate all their assets high then cut lending then assets drop - they buy back. Buy low sell high. They have their finger on the pulse of economy and always come out ahead.

So smart bankers who don't blow their big bonuses on doodads and invest wisely (dun forget banker also easier to get mortgage and other loans to invest from the bank they work for) will retire by age 50 latest.

Has anyone ever met a poor banker?

Depends. GP probably about 200-300k? Specialist a lot more. But this is after all the training which can take up to 10 years for specialists. GP have to build up the practice and competition in stiff. Also rental is high. So actual take home may be much lower.

But what is a million dollars in Singapore? What can it buy you? A house? A condo?

Not to mention high costs of living eats into disposable income. So in the end the savings maybe $50k a year?

I think to retire need about $3million at age 65 to be able to see out for husband and wife till death. Need to work 30-50 years. Possible but it will be tiring.

Bankers on the other hand make hundreds of thousands in BONUSES! Yes on top of their already high salaries. So suddenly got $200k in Bonus go straight to savings/investment account. Every year......

I had a banker patient before. He said doctor work very hard eh? I said yeah. He said pay is not much huh? I said yeah but at least it is slow and steady and stable. He said yeah that is good if you want to work till you die. The idea is want to earn as much quickly then retire young and enjoy life. Banking is the best. Banker know when times will be bad cos they control the lending anyway. The don't lend = economy will fall. They liquidate all their assets high then cut lending then assets drop - they buy back. Buy low sell high. They have their finger on the pulse of economy and always come out ahead.

So smart bankers who don't blow their big bonuses on doodads and invest wisely (dun forget banker also easier to get mortgage and other loans to invest from the bank they work for) will retire by age 50 latest.

Has anyone ever met a poor banker?

Yes those working in investment sector can earn high bonus and more than a million from what my friend told me. She also earns few hundred thousands working in the office. And very thrifty type. So her husband can start a company while she works with the high regular income.

My ex colleague's sister earned few hundred thousands from running the clinic is a GP. From what I was told, the clinic is in town and has company contract. Not sure whether the few hundred thousand is net or gross but I think should be already net of all expenses. Can't be just $50k earning from running a clinic i think, if not she might as well just work for others instead of running her own clinic.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Yes those working in investment sector can earn high bonus and more than a million from what my friend told me. She also earns few hundred thousands working in the office. And very thrifty type. So her husband can start a company while she works with the high regular income.

My ex colleague's sister earned few hundred thousands from running the clinic is a GP. From what I was told, the clinic is in town and has company contract. Not sure whether the few hundred thousand is net or gross but I think should be already net of all expenses. Can't be just $50k earning from running a clinic i think, if not she might as well just work for others instead of running her own clinic.

I'm talking about SAVINGS. Not net earnings. SAVINGS. Remember how much to pay for mortgage? Car loan? Kids tuition classes? Power bill? Internet bill? Food? Entertainment? Parking? CPF? COE? Medishield Life premiums? Insurance? Condo conservancy fees? Garden management fees? Town Council Fees? Cosmetics? Clothes? Petrol? Road tax? Maid?